E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > How to change VO



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-22-2011, 12:22 PM   #1
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
11
Rep
397
Posts

Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

How to change VO

It seems this comes up every now and then, and I had a hard time finding out how to do this as well. I figured I could post this so it is easy for everyone to find when they need to add a VO using NCS. Here is a link (it takes a while for the document to show up) that I found, I think on another forum, that shows you how to do it. There is another document out there as well I'll see if I can find. BTW, if someone knows how to attach this document to this thread to make it easier to view, please do so!! And all credit should go to whoever's document this is, although I don't know who that person is. Hope this helps!

ftp://94.212.182.18/Other-Software/N..._Order_CAS.pdf
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2011, 10:54 AM   #2
orangedawg
First Lieutenant
11
Rep
397
Posts

Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Here's another link to show to change VO.

ftp://94.212.182.18/Other-Software/U...HANGE%20VO.pdf
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2011, 04:00 AM   #3
JinLee09
First Lieutenant
JinLee09's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: DFW

iTrader: (0)

can you help me? im doing exact what you did!! did adaptive work?
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2011, 03:13 PM   #4
Hrato
Private
0
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: BMW 318d 2009
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by orangedawg View Post
Here's another link to show to change VO.

ftp://94.212.182.18/Other-Software/U... CHANGE VO.pdf

Thanks. This was what I was looking for. A step by step instructions.
It's no so easy for beginners, to understand. I did a lot of reading first, but the "language" used seems to be for professionals. This is great now, with pictures, and steps to follow.
I want to start small, so will code my stereo from business to professional now.
Once again thank you very much.
HR
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2012, 12:12 AM   #5
Curt
Private
1
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Can anyone re-up this? NCSexpert variables aren't letting me decode the Adaptive Headlight Check, someone tell me how to remove it from VO?
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2012, 03:31 AM   #6
Farewell
Enlisted Member
Austria
0
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: 325dA
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

i googled the name of the pdf and found this link: http://chomikuj.pl/trandolf/INNE/USI...,641060277.pdf

just click "Pobierz" to download the manual.

Last edited by Farewell; 07-10-2012 at 07:16 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2013, 07:36 AM   #7
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curt View Post
Can anyone re-up this? NCSexpert variables aren't letting me decode the Adaptive Headlight Check, someone tell me how to remove it from VO?
Which VO are you trying to remove? $524? Why?
What exactly you mean?
Do you have some error?
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2013, 08:38 PM   #8
Curt
Private
1
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******84 View Post
Which VO are you trying to remove? $524? Why?
What exactly you mean?
Do you have some error?
Fixed it already, had to remove VO because I kept getting adaptive headlight malfunction error, didn't want to switch the AH module.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2013, 04:54 AM   #9
mot
Banned
United_States
11
Rep
940
Posts

Drives: e92 AW M3 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (8)

I'm trying to code edc delete but the Vo for it doesn't even show up on the list. Has anyone ran into a similar problem?
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2013, 07:35 AM   #10
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by mot View Post
I'm trying to code edc delete but the Vo for it doesn't even show up on the list. Has anyone ran into a similar problem?
Strange, do you have any VO when you are trying to read out them from CAS or FRM?
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2013, 11:03 AM   #11
mot
Banned
United_States
11
Rep
940
Posts

Drives: e92 AW M3 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (8)

Reading from FRM and yes there are other Vo, not the one I need though.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2013, 11:38 AM   #12
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by mot View Post
Reading from FRM and yes there are other Vo, not the one I need though.
I sent you PM, I wil try to resolve your problem.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 05:32 AM   #13
reidyboy
Registered
United Kingdom
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 320D Touring
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Nottingham UK

iTrader: (0)

Hi there, Ive just installed heated seats, switches and fuses into my e91 and am now being told I need to code the car or possibly change the VO!! can somebody help with a step by step link how to do this. I have just ordered lead and software for my laptop but don't want to start dabbling until I have an idea what to do. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 07:37 AM   #14
pweber84
Banned
pweber84's Avatar
Germany
4
Rep
347
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by reidyboy View Post
Hi there, Ive just installed heated seats, switches and fuses into my e91 and am now being told I need to code the car or possibly change the VO!! can somebody help with a step by step link how to do this. I have just ordered lead and software for my laptop but don't want to start dabbling until I have an idea what to do. Thanks
Hi,

you just have to add $494 using NCS Exper to your CAS and NFRM and recode these modules. That's all if everything is connected properly.

Here is instruction:
http://www.google.pl/url?sa=t&rct=j&...,d.bGE&cad=rja

Last edited by pweber84; 04-16-2013 at 10:17 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2015, 10:41 PM   #15
jtriana
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arlington, TN

iTrader: (0)

So, I'm new to the coding game. I installed a ULF and a USB/AUX connector. The USB/AUX both work, but I need to code for Bluetooth to work.

Do I just add VO $644 and $620 to both CAS and FRM for it to work?

*I have to say that I have the 2URAD and not 2RAD module. When I get to the point of selecting the 2URAD, I get some message in German. When I select the "OK" (German) button the process ends there.

What do I need to do to code for my Bluetooth to work?
Appreciate 0
      03-19-2015, 11:52 AM   #16
Johnny-Walker
Second Lieutenant
Johnny-Walker's Avatar
Laos
3
Rep
291
Posts

Drives: 2007 335I Sedan 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, Ory-Gun

iTrader: (5)

Here is what I used yesterday to add to my VO, got this from the net googling.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NCS Expert: How To Modify VO (Vehicle Order)

By Coding E90 Staff in NCS Expert Software

Link just in case you need pics.
http://codinge90.com/ncs-expert-how-...vehicle-order/
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1.In NCS Expert, load the Expertmode profile.

2.Press F1 or the VIN/ZCS/FA button.

3.Press F3 or the ZCS/FA f. ECU button.

4.In the Choose CHASSIS pop-up window, choose the E89 chassis and press the OK button.

5.In the Choose ECU pop-up window, choose the CAS ECU and press the OK button.

6.The model (CHASSIS), VIN number (FG), and VO (FA) should be displayed in NCS Expert.

7.Press F2 or the Enter FA button to modify the VO.

8.In the Choose CHASSIS pop-up window, choose the E89 chassis and press the OK button.

9.In the Enter VIN pop-up window, verify that the Vin listed is the correct VIN number for the vehicle. The last digit attached to the VIN number is a checksum. You should not have to change anything on this step. Just verify and press the OK button.

10.In the Enter FA pop-up screen, for the Attribute text field, input the SA or Service Code. After typing in the code, press the Add button, and verify that the code was listed in the list of FA codes. After verifying, press the OK button.

-SA codes will begin with a “$”
-Service Codes will begin with a “+”

11.Press F6 or the Back button.

12.Press F4 or Process ECU button.

13.For the Choose ECU pop-up window, select CAS and press the OK button.

14.Press F2 or the Change job button.

15.From the Choose job pop-up window, select FA_WRITE and press the OK button.

16.Under “get coded:”, verify that CAS is the ECU selected to get coded. Also verify the JOBNAME is equal to FA_WRITE, and then press F3 or the Execute job button.

17.After the job has ended, we need to also write the new VO to the LMA ECU so that it will be both wrote to the CAS and LMA ECU. Press F1 or Change ECU button.

18.From the Choose ECU pop-up window, choose the LMA ECU and press the OK button.

19.Under “get coded:”, verify that LMA is the ECU selected to get coded. Also verify the JOBNAME is equal to FA_WRITE, and then press F3 or the Execute job button.

20.After the coding has ended, you can exit out of NCS Expert.
__________________
2007 335I E90 N54 l AFE DCI l VRSF 3" DP l VRSF CP l TIAL BOV l VRSF 7" FMIC l AE EXHAUST l COBB AP V3
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2015, 10:00 AM   #17
jtriana
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arlington, TN

iTrader: (0)

LMA/NFRM and other stuff

Thanks Johnny-Walker.

I apologize up front for the length of this reply...

Stupid question (I don't want to assume anything), but in steps 17,18 & 19 it mentions LMA ECU. I don't show a LMA ECU. I do have a NFRM though. I see on other posts that some people select it. Is this just a variance in the versions of NCS or the vehicle models and that they are the same, for coding purposes?

If the coding doesn't work as planned, I see that others have SG_RESET their CAS and NFRM modules (ECUs). Is this okay to do? What exactly does it do, other than the obvious (reset the ECUs)?

...And, is there a wait period for the ECUs to reflect the changes? If so, Should I not drive the car until the option shows (TEL) on my radio?

Lastly, Is there a need for me to make Bluetooth and USB aktiv/abled as well? If so, which code lines? There are more than one and I'm not certain which are required other than BLUETOOTH_RAD2 and USB_RAD2, if this is even right.

BLUETOOTH_NODES
profil_2
BLUETOOTH
nicht_aktiv
BLUETOOTH_FIX
aktiv
BLUETOOTH_NODES_CCC
profil_2
BLUETOOTH_NODES_MASK
profil_2
ISPEECH_BLUETOOTH_NODES
aktiv
CDMM_BLUETOOTH_AUDIO
nicht_aktiv

USB
API_TWO_USB
nicht_aktiv
API_USB_EIN_AUS
aktiv
USB_HUB
aktiv
CDMM_USB
nicht_aktiv
CDMM_USB_AUDIO_DOUBLE
nicht_aktiv
CDMM_USB_AUDIO_SINGLE
aktiv
USB_AVAILABLE
aktiv
CDMM_USB_AUDIO_AZ_SEARCH
nicht_aktiv
USB_HUB_C13
aktiv
CDMM_USB_COMPOSER_IPOD
disabled
CDMM_USB_COMPOSER_MTP
disabled
CDMM_USB_COVER_ART
nicht_aktiv
CDMM_USB_AUDIO_DOUBLE_0B
nicht_aktiv
API_TWO_USB_M
nicht_aktiv
SWUP_SOURCE_USBMSCDD
aktiv
USB_HUB_M
nicht_aktiv
CDMM_USB_HMI
old
CDMM_USB_POD_BOOK
nicht_aktiv
CDMM_USB_VIDEO
none
SECOND_USB
nicht_aktiv

Very much appreciate your assistance.
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2015, 04:55 PM   #18
Johnny-Walker
Second Lieutenant
Johnny-Walker's Avatar
Laos
3
Rep
291
Posts

Drives: 2007 335I Sedan 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, Ory-Gun

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtriana View Post
Thanks Johnny-Walker.

I apologize up front for the length of this reply...

Stupid question (I don't want to assume anything), but in steps 17,18 & 19 it mentions LMA ECU. I don't show a LMA ECU. I do have a NFRM though. I see on other posts that some people select it. Is this just a variance in the versions of NCS or the vehicle models and that they are the same, for coding purposes?

Very much appreciate your assistance.

Sorry for late reply, I only went up to step #16. Steps #17,18, and 19 didn't apply to me.

Click on the link I provided, it will take you to the site I used. It was very informative and had other coding information. I am still a novice at this coding so I couldn't answer your other questions.
__________________
2007 335I E90 N54 l AFE DCI l VRSF 3" DP l VRSF CP l TIAL BOV l VRSF 7" FMIC l AE EXHAUST l COBB AP V3
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2015, 05:20 PM   #19
Pilot1981
New Member
Pilot1981's Avatar
Italy
0
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320d xdrive lci
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

Hi,
I have to retrofit new mirror in my E91 LCI.
I have to add new VO option only in CAS ECU? Itself copy in other ecu?
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2015, 10:27 PM   #20
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
878
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Omaha, NE

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilot1981
Hi,
I have to retrofit new mirror in my E91 LCI.
I have to add new VO option only in CAS ECU? Itself copy in other ecu?
You have to do a FA_WRITE in FRM and CAS.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2015, 06:45 AM   #21
Pilot1981
New Member
Pilot1981's Avatar
Italy
0
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320d xdrive lci
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

thanks for reply.
You can also confirm, until I add new VO option, it's correct I can't see these entry in my ECU:

Module CAS
ASP_LIN_VERBAUT
aktiv

Module FRM
SPIEGEL_BORDSTEIN_AUTOM
aktiv
SPIEGEL_EINKLAPPEN
aktiv
SPIEGEL_ELEKTROCHROM
aktiv
SPIEGEL_HEIZUNG
aktiv
SPIEGEL_KOMFORT_EINKLAPP
aktiv
SPIEGEL_MEMORY
aktiv

ASP_SPIEGEL_EINKLAPP

only after I added new VO option I can find these new entry in my ECU and I can modify it?
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2015, 07:59 PM   #22
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
878
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Omaha, NE

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilot1981
thanks for reply.
You can also confirm, until I add new VO option, it's correct I can't see these entry in my ECU:

Module CAS
ASP_LIN_VERBAUT
aktiv

Module FRM
SPIEGEL_BORDSTEIN_AUTOM
aktiv
SPIEGEL_EINKLAPPEN
aktiv
SPIEGEL_ELEKTROCHROM
aktiv
SPIEGEL_HEIZUNG
aktiv
SPIEGEL_KOMFORT_EINKLAPP
aktiv
SPIEGEL_MEMORY
aktiv

ASP_SPIEGEL_EINKLAPP

only after I added new VO option I can find these new entry in my ECU and I can modify it?
The values would already be there, just may not be set according to the VO. If the options aren't there, then you need to see if there's a software update for your FRM.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST