E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Software upgrade?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-20-2012, 06:17 PM   #45
NotNormal
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
9

 
Drives: Audi A6 Avant 3.0TDi Quattro
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lincolnshire


Posts: 572
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 33beto View Post
Thats prolly what they are doing at the dealership rather than a complete ECU firmware update.
Lol, not quite-I had my local independent specialist diagnostic place check the dates before and after, using autologic - all modules on the car have the dates listed that the firmware was last updated and what the update number is.
So no, my main dealer didn't just reset the adaption values, which is possible to do with out a software update - by there is a reason they had updated the software !
If a main dealer did do what you suggest and tell you one thing and not do it then say they had and charged your for it, that would be fraud, try would leave the selfs wide open for legal action - I doubt very much a main dealer would do that.
__________________
Always a pallbearer never a corpse....
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2012, 07:22 PM   #46
33beto
Second Lieutenant
United_States
4

 
33beto's Avatar
 
Drives: R.I.P. 08 E90 328i/GM 6L45E
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New Jersey


Posts: 278
iTrader: (0)

You doubt a dealer would do that? Son, what planet have you been living?
__________________

R.I.P 10/14/12
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2012, 02:01 AM   #47
Si-335d
Major
25

 
Drives: 335d M Sport Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England


Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistryn View Post
Hmmm all this of a software update is making me think. I am one of those belivers in that if it aint broke dont fix it but I am having minor issues with my gearbox in that its not as smooth as it once was.

Am I right in thinking if I was to go down the dealer route that I would ring up and ask for a price on software update or is there anything specific re software I have to ask for?

My 335d is a may 2010 and I asked at the dealer last week about any SW updates. They read my "key" and said it had a) the latest version and b) the same SW it left the factory with
__________________
335d MSport Coupe LCI, Titanium Silver:- 19" Apex EC-7's (8.5j ET35/9.5j ET33), DAB, Memory Seats, Prof Sat Nav, Sunroof, BMW Perf Carbon Fibre:- Boot Spoiler, Mirrors & Front Lip Splitter, SSDD Carbon Fibre Rear Diffuser, Roof Spoiler, Black Kidney Grills, Red Calpiers, CKS Custom Exhaust, Wagner FMIC, ITG Air Filter, Sprint Booster, DMS 380+BHP / 600+Ft lbs Remap, Quaife LSD, Weicher front & rear strut brace, Forge charge pipe
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2012, 06:53 AM   #48
A_P
Lieutenant Colonel
United Kingdom
20

 
Drives: E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South East


Posts: 1,698
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNormal View Post
Lol, not quite-I had my local independent specialist diagnostic place check the dates before and after, using autologic - all modules on the car have the dates listed that the firmware was last updated and what the update number is.
So no, my main dealer didn't just reset the adaption values, which is possible to do with out a software update - by there is a reason they had updated the software !
If a main dealer did do what you suggest and tell you one thing and not do it then say they had and charged your for it, that would be fraud, try would leave the selfs wide open for legal action - I doubt very much a main dealer would do that.
So not trying to be sarky here, but just to clarify, you had your indy an autologic specialist check the dates before and then after bmw updated the software?

Question: If the Indy's have autologic, which is the exact same files.. then why not get it updated by them in the first place? definately sounds.... notnormal to me.

Almost seems disrespectful in doubting the services your indy provides.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2012, 10:34 AM   #49
NotNormal
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
9

 
Drives: Audi A6 Avant 3.0TDi Quattro
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lincolnshire


Posts: 572
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 33beto View Post
You doubt a dealer would do that? Son, what planet have you been living?
I'm not saying that it doesn't go on, but if its possible to check what they say they have done then it'd foolish of them to say one thing and do another and leave them themselves wide open for all kinds of ramifications !

And no, i'm not your 'son'


Quote:
Originally Posted by Awfully_Polite View Post
So not trying to be sarky here, but just to clarify, you had your indy an autologic specialist check the dates before and then after bmw updated the software?

Question: If the Indy's have autologic, which is the exact same files.. then why not get it updated by them in the first place? definately sounds.... notnormal to me.

Almost seems disrespectful in doubting the services your indy provides.
My car was in at my independent for a different reason, the start of an investigation to see if it was possible for him to perform some custom coding (ongoing)

Then, a couple of week later, my car was at the dealer for a service - i mentioned my gear snatching issue, the looking into it, mention adaption values act... and as part of the conversation i had the the master tech i asked him to update the complete car....all modules

Nothing to do with respect or the lack of for my independent with autologic. Then a month (ish) after my software update, the independent called me and wanted to look at something within my ECU, i let him do so accordingly, he confirmed for me that all my modules had been updated, and the revision of software i now had on the car was the latest.
I think you need to maybe think a little about what other peoples circumstances could be before saying I'm disrespectful !

Now i have clarified my software update history with you, i hope your satisfied ?!
__________________
Always a pallbearer never a corpse....
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2012, 03:30 PM   #50
A_P
Lieutenant Colonel
United Kingdom
20

 
Drives: E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South East


Posts: 1,698
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNormal View Post
I'm not saying that it doesn't go on, but if its possible to check what they say they have done then it'd foolish of them to say one thing and do another and leave them themselves wide open for all kinds of ramifications !

And no, i'm not your 'son'




My car was in at my independent for a different reason, the start of an investigation to see if it was possible for him to perform some custom coding (ongoing)

Then, a couple of week later, my car was at the dealer for a service - i mentioned my gear snatching issue, the looking into it, mention adaption values act... and as part of the conversation i had the the master tech i asked him to update the complete car....all modules

Nothing to do with respect or the lack of for my independent with autologic. Then a month (ish) after my software update, the independent called me and wanted to look at something within my ECU, i let him do so accordingly, he confirmed for me that all my modules had been updated, and the revision of software i now had on the car was the latest.
I think you need to maybe think a little about what other peoples circumstances could be before saying I'm disrespectful !

Now i have clarified my software update history with you, i hope your satisfied ?!
Very satisfied.

What are you having custom coded? sounds exciting
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2012, 06:26 PM   #51
NotNormal
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
9

 
Drives: Audi A6 Avant 3.0TDi Quattro
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lincolnshire


Posts: 572
iTrader: (3)

Its looking like it isn't possible via autologic, so I will look into getting a cable and software myself and approach it from that angle at some point.

But the things I want coding are :

Disable the press brake to start car
Disable seatbelt warning
Remove 155 speed limiter
Add digital speed to cluster
Instantaneous mpg
Allow windows to auto roll up with door open

The only one possible with autologic has been the seat belt chime/bong (useful for me for work)

The rest are possible I believe, just not via autologic - so I'm going to have to look into this further
The 155 limiter is apparently a remap, but in theory, it shouldn't be as the u.s. cars come with a limiter of 135 (ish) and they can have this removed or moved up with just coding and not an entire remap.
The digital speedo addition would be nice, my friend has an alpina d3 with it on, it's possible on that .... So why not on mine

I may opt for a remap - evolve, but if I'm honest, all that would be for is to remove the limiter, it's a lot of money for a small thing to have done as I'd not gain any significant increase in power or econ over how my car is now !
__________________
Always a pallbearer never a corpse....
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2012, 06:16 AM   #52
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
116

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,408
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNormal View Post
Remove 155 speed limiter
Just wondering if that is possible.
As far as I know, speed limiter is coded to ECU and not possible to decode it.

I have read plenty of stuff on it.
The only good things was to add M sports coded to standard SE. So you have slight increase in speed. Still nobody confirmed it in coding section.
There is a reason for it, as you will require private road to test your pre-coding speed and post coding speed. Hence nobody confirmed it.

If you have any source which can guide how to decode speed limiter, that would be great. Again testing it would be a challenge as we all love our driving licenses.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2012, 07:25 AM   #53
A_P
Lieutenant Colonel
United Kingdom
20

 
Drives: E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South East


Posts: 1,698
iTrader: (0)

Normal!!! thats a lot of specialist coding right there!!! and some of it some awesome. In reagrds to coding I have no clue.. However I do know that there are companies which offer remaps and also De limits at the same time. So logical deduction indicates that an new ECU is not neccesary.

You could speak to some other chaps, like Hotcoupe he knows a fair amount, and if he doesnt then im sure he will know who does...

Also Mak ^ yep that chap right there is a coder, im sure if you guys work togther you could achieve something.

All the best guys.. Its been realy fun, no honestly it has, but I'm afraid for reasons I cannot disclose, I will not be frequenting this thread anymore.

I know... I know... please don't cry.. it's not forever... And I will be in other threads....

No... dont saying anything.... please... it will only make it harder.

Appreciate 0
      06-23-2012, 09:26 AM   #54
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
116

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,408
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Awfully_Polite View Post
I know... I know... please don't cry.. it's not forever... And I will be in other threads....

No... dont saying anything.... please... it will only make it harder.


Funny post, but you seiously need to go out over the weekends.
keep spending 2/3 of your time on this forum.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 08:37 AM   #55
eddiem74
Private First Class
Ireland
3

 
eddiem74's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 325i M-Sport Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland


Posts: 146
iTrader: (0)

A bit of a noob question , but I have the car in with a dealer next week for a free summer inspection and I wanted to also establish if the car is running all the latest software.

Now frankly I have no idea what specifically to ask for and apart from a list of current versions and a quote to update them.

So for those of you in the know, what should I ask for, I would be nice to know what to ask for as if I do get something it might be incomplete and I won't know.

My car is an: 2008 E92 325i N53 Auto

Thanks.
__________________
2008 E92 325i Black Sapphire M-Sport Coupe
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 03:39 PM   #56
Stringbag
Private First Class
United Kingdom
1

 
Drives: 335d touring
Join Date: May 2012
Location: uk - Bath


Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

As soon as they put your key in the key reader it tells them if a software update is available. Page 2 if they don't know what you are talking about!
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 04:29 PM   #57
Billyray911
Colonel
United Kingdom
30

 
Billyray911's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d Msport,touring
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mind your own business...no,really.


Posts: 2,703
iTrader: (6)

Just a quickie to confirm that a remap can remove the limiter.
I asked the question when having my Emaps map tweaked last week.
Simon confirmed that his map removed it,whilst mentioning about a customer hitting 174mph...
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 08:11 PM   #58
Frobius
Captain
United Kingdom
11

 
Frobius's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntingdon, UK


Posts: 976
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNormal View Post

But the things I want coding are :

Disable the press brake to start car
Disable seatbelt warning
Remove 155 speed limiter
Add digital speed to cluster
Instantaneous mpg
Allow windows to auto roll up with door open
All of this is very easily doable with ncs expert other than the limiter removal which as you pointed out needs a remap, or alteration to the DDE software. Other than the no brake to start, I've done all the rest myself.
__________________

57 Sapphire Black E91 330d M-Sport
Privacy Glass // Leather // Heated Seats // Bluetooth // Blacklines // BMWP Gloss Black Grille // Alpine HiFi // LCI Headlights
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2012, 05:34 AM   #59
eddiem74
Private First Class
Ireland
3

 
eddiem74's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 325i M-Sport Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland


Posts: 146
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringbag View Post
As soon as they put your key in the key reader it tells them if a software update is available. Page 2 if they don't know what you are talking about!
Thanks, so they will just confirm this or will/can they provide a printout?

Also, is there various modules / different software components or will they just say "Yes, software ABC is current"?

Thanks again.
__________________
2008 E92 325i Black Sapphire M-Sport Coupe
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2012, 04:04 PM   #60
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
116

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,408
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiem74 View Post
Thanks, so they will just confirm this or will/can they provide a printout?

Also, is there various modules / different software components or will they just say "Yes, software ABC is current"?

Thanks again.
There are different modules and for each module different firmwares.
e.g if you had any issue in your ECU, they may have update its software after replacing ECU. So you may have newer ECU firmware and all others old versions.

Most of the time dealers do not upgrade it (in routine), unless you are having issues.

However if you are willing to upgrade it, you can always ask it. They should give you fixed price to upgrade all the modules in your car.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2012, 04:30 AM   #61
Stringbag
Private First Class
United Kingdom
1

 
Drives: 335d touring
Join Date: May 2012
Location: uk - Bath


Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiem74

Thanks, so they will just confirm this or will/can they provide a printout?

Also, is there various modules / different software components or will they just say "Yes, software ABC is current"?

Thanks again.
Yes they should give you a print out. It just states programming: new integration level available yes or no.
Max two hours labour but may take less/more time. Can only charge 2 hours though. Did mine as part of a service and cut down the cost.
Page 2 of my key data sheet said
E89x-06-09-520. (original sept 2006) Now says e89x-12-04-520 (April 2012).
Not sure what was updated precisely (think it was hfpf, idrive and gearbox) but the tech showed me about 4 sides of a4 with lots of modules listed and their software level. You wouldn't believe how many computers there are!
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2012, 05:18 AM   #62
eddiem74
Private First Class
Ireland
3

 
eddiem74's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 325i M-Sport Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland


Posts: 146
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
There are different modules and for each module different firmwares.
e.g if you had any issue in your ECU, they may have update its software after replacing ECU. So you may have newer ECU firmware and all others old versions.

Most of the time dealers do not upgrade it (in routine), unless you are having issues.

However if you are willing to upgrade it, you can always ask it. They should give you fixed price to upgrade all the modules in your car.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringbag View Post
Yes they should give you a print out. It just states programming: new integration level available yes or no.
Max two hours labour but may take less/more time. Can only charge 2 hours though. Did mine as part of a service and cut down the cost.
Page 2 of my key data sheet said
E89x-06-09-520. (original sept 2006) Now says e89x-12-04-520 (April 2012).
Not sure what was updated precisely (think it was hfpf, idrive and gearbox) but the tech showed me about 4 sides of a4 with lots of modules listed and their software level. You wouldn't believe how many computers there are!
Thanks that helps, will see what I get tomorrow.

Whats that about only charging for 2hrs, I have heard of a software update taking the day or at least people having to leave their car in that long?
__________________
2008 E92 325i Black Sapphire M-Sport Coupe
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2012, 05:21 AM   #63
Stringbag
Private First Class
United Kingdom
1

 
Drives: 335d touring
Join Date: May 2012
Location: uk - Bath


Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

Yes it can take a day - depends upon the update & internet connection to the BMW servers in Germany, but they can only charge 2 hours max.
I was charged less than an hour as thats all it took beyond the time to service it. must have been a quiet day in Germany!
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2012, 07:14 AM   #64
Robin330i
First Lieutenant
5

 
Drives: E90 330i M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheshire


Posts: 368
iTrader: (2)

I've just been quoted 40 + VAT per software update from my local BMW specialist located in Sandbach, they said that there could be 10 updates meaning 400 +VAT! Also mentioned that the updates don't make much difference to the car............
__________________
E90 330i M Sport - Mk4 Golf R32 - Mk3 Polo G40
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST