E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Software Update / Map



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-10-2012, 02:32 AM   #1
NickP
Detailing
NickP's Avatar
United Kingdom
6
Rep
420
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330d
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Essex,UK

iTrader: (0)

Software Update / Map

I recently had my CCC unit replaced under warranty, and as a result my software was updated to work with the newer unit.
My Evolve map seems to have been wiped when I got the car back from the dealers.
This isn't necessarily a problem as I have the Evolve switch, but if I reload the map on the switch will it overwrite the software update or is this something completely different?
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2012, 06:43 AM   #2
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
130
Rep
7,666
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Does evolve switch writes mapping to your modules?
Or
Does it write a backup of previous mapping to your car?
If its later case, you may loose some of updated files.
Best bet is to contact those who make this switch/ mapping and ask them?
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 07-11-2012 at 05:25 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2012, 07:21 AM   #3
NickP
Detailing
NickP's Avatar
United Kingdom
6
Rep
420
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330d
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Essex,UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Does evolve switch writes mapping to your modules?
Or
Does it write a back of previous mapping to your car?
If its later case, you may loose some of updated files.
Best bet is to contact those who make this switch/ mapping and ask them?
I'm not sure which!
I have emailed Imran @ Evolve a couple of days ago but not had a reply yet....
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2012, 04:54 PM   #4
Ant Man
Major
England
17
Rep
1,043
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Jerez black / Fox red
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: East Anglia

iTrader: (1)

I've just had the latest firmware flashed to my car and then the latest version of the Evolve tune. It does not overwrite the firmware.
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2012, 05:26 PM   #5
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
130
Rep
7,666
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant Man View Post
I've just had the latest firmware flashed to my car and then the latest version of the Evolve tune. It does not overwrite the firmware.
Here we go. So to sum up, it is not back up and it writes the files everytime to your module.

Each time, dealer will update your respective modules, you will loose it. But you can always flash it again.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2012, 05:43 AM   #6
nicktyler
Major
United Kingdom
13
Rep
1,185
Posts

 
Drives: 335i (sadly gone)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Essex

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
I had an update that wiped my Evolve map. I red the new standard map and sent it to Imran and he sent me back a new tuned map. Not sure what would happen if I wrote the old tuned map on though.

Hope that helps

Last edited by nicktyler; 07-12-2012 at 06:01 AM.
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2012, 07:50 AM   #7
NickP
Detailing
NickP's Avatar
United Kingdom
6
Rep
420
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330d
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Essex,UK

iTrader: (0)

Imran has come back and said to try the existing one, as it shouldn't overwrite the firmware, but if it doesn't accept it, to send him the new standard file and he'll modify it FOC
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2012, 08:50 AM   #8
Ant Man
Major
England
17
Rep
1,043
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Jerez black / Fox red
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: East Anglia

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Here we go. So to sum up, it is not back up and it writes the files everytime to your module.

Each time, dealer will update your respective modules, you will loose it. But you can always flash it again.
Yes exactly. Some dealers (when at a service) automatically upload the latest modules required FOC.

Also for the benefit of all. Updating latest firmware takes minutes, i.e 10mins approx. Sometimes a flash does not work and has to be done again but dealers talking of charging 1-2 hrs labour is taking the mickey.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST