E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > FRM2 to FRM3 worth it?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-10-2012, 06:12 PM   #1
MJ777LR
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 BMW328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kansas

Posts: 132
iTrader: (1)

FRM2 to FRM3 worth it?

I have an 05/07 build 328i, and I suspect that my car came with FRM2 (though I haven't had the time to go look yet). Would it be a worthwhile effort to do an FRM3 retrofit, as in are there any significant advantages in moving up? Also, I've read a number of posts outlining the process of coding in a new module when going from FRM1 to FRM2. Is the procedure the same for going for FRM2 to FRM3?
MJ777LR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 05:39 AM   #2
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,072
iTrader: (48)

I reckon there was only 1 benefit of FRM3 over FRM2 and it was not worth of upgrading it.
If I remember correctly, it was follow me to home lights on, after locking the key on FRM3.

About later part of your questions, yes coding procedure is same.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 02:20 PM   #3
TheUltimateDrivingManiac
Freude am Fahren.
 
Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Almaty, Kazakhstan

Posts: 160
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
I reckon there was only 1 benefit of FRM3 over FRM2 and it was not worth of upgrading it.
If I remember correctly, it was follow me to home lights on, after locking the key on FRM3.

About later part of your questions, yes coding procedure is same.
Follow me home is available on FRM2 as well.
__________________
Freude am Fahren.
TheUltimateDrivingManiac is offline   Kazakhstan
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 02:52 PM   #4
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Not worth it. I upgraded from FRM1 to FRM3 and barely use any features of the 3
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 03:20 PM   #5
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Huge benefit in any upgrade from FRM1 (as Andrey stated).
Definitely agree... if you have FRM2, spend your money on something better.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 03:21 PM   #6
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUltimateDrivingManiac View Post
Follow me home is available on FRM2 as well.
Pathway lighting is available but I believe follow me home feature is slightly different.

Andrey can you comment to the difference? Or is it just a rebranded pathway lighting.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 05:42 PM   #7
Singhy1
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E90 320d SE
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

On the frm3 you can hold the trunk button on remote and it puts main beam lights on....
Singhy1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 06:14 PM   #8
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Yea, FRM2 Pathway lighting you turn the car off, and before getting out, you flash the high-beams and then they stay on for the time you set in iDrive.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 08:05 PM   #9
MJ777LR
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 BMW328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kansas

Posts: 132
iTrader: (1)

I think I have FRM2 then, since I've been able to use the Pathway Lighting feature before. Never knew that was the 'official name' for it till now though! Incidentally, I've also seen somewhere that for FRM1/FRM2, there was one version for cars that came with xenon lights and one version for cars that came with halogen, but for FRM3, both xenon and halogen are supported within the same physical module. Is this correct? It strikes me as interesting why they wouldn't have just done this with FRM1 to begin with.

Also, a number of the threads I've read on here about coding seem to deal with FRM1/FRM2. Are the 'names' of the options/codes significantly different with FRM3?

Last edited by MJ777LR; 07-11-2012 at 08:13 PM.
MJ777LR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST