E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > Service at Dealer with Procede installed



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-13-2012, 09:26 AM   #1
SpartanGA
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: TBD
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)

Service at Dealer with Procede installed

Question for those that have gotten service with the Procede installed. I understand even in Map 0 you cannot get a computer read to check for codes...it will come back blank. To me that is a red flag where the dealer will know about the mods. Is this accurate and what is experience here?

Same with emissions check...they just look for codes, can they pull them?

thx
SpartanGA is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2012, 10:11 AM   #2
KennyPowers
Brigadier General
 
Drives: .....
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gulf Coast

Posts: 4,090
iTrader: (13)

Take the procede out of the car

No if ands or buts about it
__________________
PCD 10/10 on 2015 M3 : MW / SB Full Leather / HK audio / Adaptive Suspension / Silver 19s / 6MT / CF Roof
KennyPowers is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2012, 12:22 PM   #3
Sam335ix
Major
 
Sam335ix's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

Posts: 1,276
iTrader: (0)

Take it out a day before and clear the codes.. drive a bit and then go in for service. Never take the risk to have your warranty voided.
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Sam335ix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2012, 03:40 PM   #4
SpartanGA
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: TBD
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)

for an oil change? ugh.
SpartanGA is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2012, 03:47 PM   #5
Freelo
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 E90 335i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut

Posts: 141
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Been twice to dealer including once with oil change. Had no problem with procede installed. Too much of a pain to take out and put back. If you do this of course clear codes and leave it in map zero.
__________________
Koni sport, BMW performance springs, M3 arms and sways front and rear, M3 subframe bushings, Velocity toe arms, M3 front strut bar, Cobb, ETS FMIC, Wagner catted DP, Vishnu charge pipe, RPI scoops, M3 steering wheel, City Vision angels, CDV delete, Advan RS 18 inch, Pilot SS
Freelo is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2012, 05:46 PM   #6
benzy89
Banned
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
When in doubt, take that shit out.... Heard too many stories about people being lazy & leaving their tune in & then getting an earful from the Service Forum about the tune.

For whatever reason, it seems like the tune strike a nerve with service depts & they turn a blind eye to other mods (intakes, exhaust, DPs, FMICs).
benzy89 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2012, 07:18 AM   #7
David 12
Captain
 
David 12's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 M5 BSM
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Omaha

Posts: 900
iTrader: (0)

Spartan, when I had my 2007 335i, I was running a JB3 and simply changed the oil myself and saved the receipts. All was good when I turned my car in to BMW.

Dave
David 12 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2012, 09:24 AM   #8
Juiced46
Major
 
Drives: 03 Turbo Cobra, 2011 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wallingford CT

Posts: 1,031
iTrader: (3)

For an oil change it doesnt need to be removed.

However if you are going in for programming or diagnostic work the CAN wires MUST be removed. Map 0 is not sufficient enough. The system will not read the vehicle, it will try to connect and not detect the VIN. You can manually enter the VIN but it still will not connect and give an error to the tech. CAN wires need to be removed, everything else can stay connected.
Juiced46 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2012, 09:30 AM   #9
Kalud
Lieutenant
 
Kalud's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada

Posts: 582
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46
For an oil change it doesnt need to be removed.

However if you are going in for programming or diagnostic work the CAN wires MUST be removed. Map 0 is not sufficient enough. The system will not read the vehicle, it will try to connect and not detect the VIN. You can manually enter the VIN but it still will not connect and give an error to the tech. CAN wires need to be removed, everything else can stay connected.
CAN wires can be left plugged with the procede, I had first hand experience with programming with the Procede on map 0. It's a problem that have been resolved a while back with a firmware upgrade. Current maps (11/08, 11/10 and the latest 05/xx beta are all fine)
Kalud is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2012, 10:05 AM   #10
Juiced46
Major
 
Drives: 03 Turbo Cobra, 2011 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wallingford CT

Posts: 1,031
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalud View Post
CAN wires can be left plugged with the procede, I had first hand experience with programming with the Procede on map 0. It's a problem that have been resolved a while back with a firmware upgrade. Current maps (11/08, 11/10 and the latest 05/xx beta are all fine)
Not true. They need to be removed. I have first hand experience as well. Even with the newest firmware the system cannot detect the VIN. Trust me
Juiced46 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2012, 11:37 AM   #11
SpartanGA
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: TBD
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)

so can I put it on Map 0 and remove the CAN wires...I expect at the normal oil service for them to do a standard scope. Getting no response would be a red flag
SpartanGA is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2012, 06:43 PM   #12
Juiced46
Major
 
Drives: 03 Turbo Cobra, 2011 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wallingford CT

Posts: 1,031
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpartanGA View Post
so can I put it on Map 0 and remove the CAN wires...I expect at the normal oil service for them to do a standard scope. Getting no response would be a red flag

For a normal oil service and scope you do not need to touch a thing
Juiced46 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-15-2012, 03:43 PM   #13
SpartanGA
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: TBD
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
For a normal oil service and scope you do not need to touch a thing
wont they get an error when they try to scope?
SpartanGA is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-15-2012, 03:51 PM   #14
Juiced46
Major
 
Drives: 03 Turbo Cobra, 2011 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wallingford CT

Posts: 1,031
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpartanGA View Post
wont they get an error when they try to scope?
Nope, car doesnt get connected to the system for a scope.
Juiced46 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-16-2012, 07:36 AM   #15
SpartanGA
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: TBD
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 388
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
Nope, car doesnt get connected to the system for a scope.
ok, good. I figured they pulled potential codes...guess I am confused what is meant by a scope.
SpartanGA is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST