E90Post
 


Scorpp Design
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Car Radio Problem



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-17-2012, 01:40 PM   #1
90SLOWE
Private
 
Drives: E90 330i MT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dublin, CA

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Car Radio Problem

Sad story but Friday the 13th are really starting to get to me.. Last Friday the 13th the clutch on my Mazda broke and last Friday the radio on my E90 330i blew. I filtered the problem down to fuse 31 and here are the details.

Everything on my car is working except the radio and the display. I know the speakers work because I do get the warning sounds. I filtered it down to the fuse and the ones that are related to the radio are 5, 23 and 31. Fuse 5 and 23 have relations to other components as well, which work and I tested them they work fine. Fuse 31 is supposed to be a 20amp fuse but on my Fuse box, there was a 30amp fuse so my guess is, current of the range 20-30amp passed through it and fried something. I am hoping the part that got fried is a secondary fuse and not some major electrical component of the radio. Do our radios have a secondary fuse or did something major blow up? Please help.

I have an appointment on Saturday but want some peace of mind.
90SLOWE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2012, 06:55 PM   #2
90SLOWE
Private
 
Drives: E90 330i MT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dublin, CA

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
any help??
90SLOWE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2012, 07:07 PM   #3
Verbatim
Colonel
 
Verbatim's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: at the repair shop

Posts: 2,555
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Are you under warranty (you mentioned an appointment)?
If you are, then it doesn't matter if the system is fried or the fuse just blew (unless there's some other underlying cause).
Nobody can give you better peace I mind than an actual diagnosis by a specialist (the dealer in your case).
__________________

2008 BMW 335i Sedan | Sparkling Graphite | Sport | Premium | Navigation | Comfort Access | Logic7
Golf Tee | M3 Spoiler | LED Angel Eyes | 5000k Fogs | Resonator Delete | Black Kidney Grills | Black Finisher Rods | 35%/18% Tint |12mm/20mm (F/R) Spacers | Black Lines


Verbatim is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2012, 09:07 PM   #4
edirtaynine
Major General
 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SoCal

Posts: 6,094
iTrader: (0)

31 is 13 backwards

O_O
__________________
e90post killed plastidip
Just say no to painted stock wheels

jm3as hooks it up
edirtaynine is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 12:35 AM   #5
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 3,538
iTrader: (5)

Dumb question, but did you try replacing the fuse?
__________________
2006 BMW 325i Titanium Silver
Mods- 19" AG M310's hypersilver, LCI xenons, drilled and slotted rotors, OEM rear spoiler, OEM exhaust tips, brushed black interior trim, Viper 5904 alarm + remote start
Audio upgrades- Alpine S920HD, JL XD600/6, Jehnert XE200, Morel Hybrid Ovation II, Audioque 2200D, 2 Alpine SWR 12d4's (forward facing sealed from trunk)
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 02:18 AM   #6
90SLOWE
Private
 
Drives: E90 330i MT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dublin, CA

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verbatim
Are you under warranty (you mentioned an appointment)?
If you are, then it doesn't matter if the system is fried or the fuse just blew (unless there's some other underlying cause).
Nobody can give you better peace I mind than an actual diagnosis by a specialist (the dealer in your case).
No I do not have warranty.. It's an appointment at a local shop That works on my car
__________________
E9x Picture GAME!!! points: 4
90SLOWE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 02:20 AM   #7
90SLOWE
Private
 
Drives: E90 330i MT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dublin, CA

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i
Dumb question, but did you try replacing the fuse?
No, I did not replace the fuse because the I checked the fuse electrically (not just visually) and it is fine. However, like I mentioned before, the slot was supposed to have a 20amp fuse but had a 30amp fuse in it.
__________________
E9x Picture GAME!!! points: 4
90SLOWE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 02:25 AM   #8
90SLOWE
Private
 
Drives: E90 330i MT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dublin, CA

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by edirtaynine
31 is 13 backwards

O_O
Haha, didn't think of that.. Didn't even care about Friday the 13ths until my coworker mentioned it on April 13th and my clutch broke the same day
__________________
E9x Picture GAME!!! points: 4
90SLOWE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 06:14 AM   #9
scubasteve2365
Private First Class
 
Drives: 07 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky

Posts: 119
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i
Dumb question, but did you try replacing the fuse?
No, I did not replace the fuse because the I checked the fuse electrically (not just visually) and it is fine. However, like I mentioned before, the slot was supposed to have a 20amp fuse but had a 30amp fuse in it.
I doubt that's thats the problem. A fuse protects you from a short and is sized based on the operating load so that it doesn't blow when there isn't a short (or something near that).

If the fuse was blown and oversized then damage could have occurred, but if the fuse isn't blown than the radio load is simply what it is, the load. A higher fuse rating isn't going to make the radio draw more current, it's just going to allow more current to pass before blowing.

Also, just replace the fuse. I've seen blown fuses that pass enough voltage that make them appear fine but they wouldn't pass enough current. Its rare but I've seen it automotive blade fuses twice on separate occasions in separate vehicles.
scubasteve2365 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 09:01 AM   #10
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 3,538
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i
Dumb question, but did you try replacing the fuse?
No, I did not replace the fuse because the I checked the fuse electrically (not just visually) and it is fine. However, like I mentioned before, the slot was supposed to have a 20amp fuse but had a 30amp fuse in it.
I doubt that's thats the problem. A fuse protects you from a short and is sized based on the operating load so that it doesn't blow when there isn't a short (or something near that).

If the fuse was blown and oversized then damage could have occurred, but if the fuse isn't blown than the radio load is simply what it is, the load. A higher fuse rating isn't going to make the radio draw more current, it's just going to allow more current to pass before blowing.

Also, just replace the fuse. I've seen blown fuses that pass enough voltage that make them appear fine but they wouldn't pass enough current. Its rare but I've seen it automotive blade fuses twice on separate occasions in separate vehicles.
^ +1
__________________
2006 BMW 325i Titanium Silver
Mods- 19" AG M310's hypersilver, LCI xenons, drilled and slotted rotors, OEM rear spoiler, OEM exhaust tips, brushed black interior trim, Viper 5904 alarm + remote start
Audio upgrades- Alpine S920HD, JL XD600/6, Jehnert XE200, Morel Hybrid Ovation II, Audioque 2200D, 2 Alpine SWR 12d4's (forward facing sealed from trunk)
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 12:09 PM   #11
90SLOWE
Private
 
Drives: E90 330i MT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dublin, CA

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
I doubt that's thats the problem. A fuse protects you from a short and is sized based on the operating load so that it doesn't blow when there isn't a short (or something near that).

If the fuse was blown and oversized then damage could have occurred, but if the fuse isn't blown than the radio load is simply what it is, the load. A higher fuse rating isn't going to make the radio draw more current, it's just going to allow more current to pass before blowing.

Also, just replace the fuse. I've seen blown fuses that pass enough voltage that make them appear fine but they wouldn't pass enough current. Its rare but I've seen it automotive blade fuses twice on separate occasions in separate vehicles.
Thank you for the suggestion, I will try that today and let you know what happens. My thought was, the radio is rated for 20A, but the fuse that was placed there was 30A (it must have been opened before, I bought my car used). So could it not have been that there was a power surge from 20-30A, which is above what the radio is rated for, that could have blown my radio? I hope it is the fuse, that would save me time and money.
90SLOWE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 05:50 PM   #12
scubasteve2365
Private First Class
 
Drives: 07 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky

Posts: 119
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhi View Post
Thank you for the suggestion, I will try that today and let you know what happens. My thought was, the radio is rated for 20A, but the fuse that was placed there was 30A (it must have been opened before, I bought my car used). So could it not have been that there was a power surge from 20-30A, which is above what the radio is rated for, that could have blown my radio? I hope it is the fuse, that would save me time and money.
Something would have had to create a specific current draw that is greater than 20 but less than 30. I'm not sure of the standards for automative electrical but in industrial electrical delivery your OCPD (over current protection device) is typically rated at 125% of your load, which is considered FLA (full load amps).

If we were to assume that in automotive electrical design, something similar was followed then:

FLA of the radio x 125% = 16 Full Load Amps.

This means that under the most extreme situation your radio is drawing 16A. Its unlikely the radio will ever actually draw that much current. If something occurs to make it draw an excess of 16A (or 20A) then likely it's an unrelated fault.

Often times an OPCD will also be sized not to protect what's attached to it but rather the wire itself. This is why you often see radios with an fuse on the radio body. That fuse is for the radio wherein the fuse in the fuse panel is only to protect the wire that goes between the radio and fusepanel. (Say for instance this wire got pinched somehow and shorted out on the cars frame).

Again, I don't work in automotive electronics, I'm just an electrical engineer that works in industrial applications and these are very general statements from general knowledge about power distribution design.
scubasteve2365 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 09:49 PM   #13
90SLOWE
Private
 
Drives: E90 330i MT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dublin, CA

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Tried it, replaced the fuse but it didn't work. Must be a bigger problem

Thank you for the details of how the circuits work.. that was the kind of information I wanted from the forum. Any ideas what I should look for on my own?
90SLOWE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2012, 04:32 PM   #14
90SLOWE
Private
 
Drives: E90 330i MT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dublin, CA

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Update: The shop told me that it was a bad radio and it has to be replaced. Let me know if anyone is selling the OEM Professional radio
90SLOWE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2012, 12:35 PM   #15
90SLOWE
Private
 
Drives: E90 330i MT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dublin, CA

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Radio fixed

For anyone who might have the a similar problem, I was able to fix it. I tried resetting the whole system by disconnecting the battery for about a minute and my radio is now working
90SLOWE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST