E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > DMS sending unit to USA for my 335D!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-25-2012, 12:40 PM   #1
Jhayd11
First Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
320
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335D
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

DMS sending unit to USA for my 335D!

I have been corresponding with Tony from DMS for about a month now, and am big fans of their work on the D.

I had concerns about the remap being able to be done on U.S. cars via the OBDII Port, stemming from posts on here. Tony has told me he is confident they will be able to complete the work, and as an act of good faith and he is going to send over the unit on his own dime. I just have to pay him when completed.

Not going to lie, I am still nervous, but it doesn't appear anyone else has a DMS remap, stateside, on this forum so wish me luck.

P.S. I have a feeling someone is going to type "Dyno" below this post. If anyone knows a good place to go in the DC area, let me know.

DMS' website

http://www.dmsautomotive.com/modelsi...elid=9&manid=1
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
Puerto Rico
37
Rep
2,875
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (0)

Congrats Amigo take the plung I did with RENNtech and BTW get those dyno runs LOL cause WE are going to ask you for it and also show us how to get the TORQUE numbers Lenny @ RENNtech is slacking on me about this, they havent got another "D" to do dyno runs aint that some crap!!
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2012, 03:56 PM   #3
Sweattdogg
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
232
Posts

 
Drives: '09 335d RIP '08 e90 M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, OH

iTrader: (2)

I'm still a newbie with tuning. So does the tune come over on a laptop or something that updates your software through OBD?
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2012, 06:13 PM   #4
cssnms
Brigadier General
cssnms's Avatar
United_States
77
Rep
3,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhayd11 View Post
I have been corresponding with Tony from DMS for about a month now, and am big fans of their work on the D.

I had concerns about the remap being able to be done on U.S. cars via the OBDII Port, stemming from posts on here. Tony has told me he is confident they will be able to complete the work, and as an act of good faith and he is going to send over the unit on his own dime. I just have to pay him when completed.

Not going to lie, I am still nervous, but it doesn't appear anyone else has a DMS remap, stateside, on this forum so wish me luck.

P.S. I have a feeling someone is going to type "Dyno" below this post. If anyone knows a good place to go in the DC area, let me know.

DMS' website

http://www.dmsautomotive.com/modelsi...elid=9&manid=1
I am very interested in hearing how this shakes out.

So are you saying they are sending you a handheld programmer that will allow you to flash tune your d through the OBD II port? If so this will not only be the first d in the states but the first e9x lci car to be flash tuned via the OBDII port.

As for dyno shops in the area, the only place I would go is Mach V in Sterling. They have already dyno'd several 335d's and they are able to get torque readings to include a d with the JBD - it would be interestin to see an overlay with the JBD. HEck I might even join you and throw my car on the machine.

http://www.machv.com/
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2012, 07:09 PM   #5
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
Puerto Rico
37
Rep
2,875
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (0)

chris how the hell they got the torque numbers was it thru the ECU or the PIEZO injectors, help me on this
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2012, 07:13 PM   #6
GreekboyD
Colonel
Canada
44
Rep
2,677
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335d
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335d  [3.75]
Damn. I'd be all over this if it's exactly how cssnms described it.

Hopefully the OP elaborates a bit.
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2012, 07:15 PM   #7
335dM
Major
24
Rep
1,040
Posts

 
Drives: 335d m package
Join Date: May 2011
Location: montreal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puerto Rican 335d
chris how the hell they got the torque numbers was it thru the ECU or the PIEZO injectors, help me on this
I did dyno mine and found torque via injectors I believe.
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2012, 07:25 PM   #8
cssnms
Brigadier General
cssnms's Avatar
United_States
77
Rep
3,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puerto Rican 335d View Post
chris how the hell they got the torque numbers was it thru the ECU or the PIEZO injectors, help me on this
I don't know, but I am sure if you called Dan at Mach V he could tell you. I know they have the latest software. Old dyno jet software will not allow a shop to pull torque numbers from LCI cars.
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 05:59 AM   #9
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
Puerto Rico
37
Rep
2,875
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (0)

damn it Chris you spoiled my wet dream LOL, @335dM did you guys remove the engine cover to get to the injector send pics where if you can got them , Gracias
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 07:45 AM   #10
Jhayd11
First Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
320
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335D
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Tony from DMS is shipping the "unit" today. What all that entails, I am not sure, but I do know I will need a laptop.

cssnms - Can you PM me what they charge for Dyno runs? I'll make sure I stop by before run the remap.
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 07:49 AM   #11
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
Puerto Rico
37
Rep
2,875
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (0)

Justin do before and after , each car is built on the same plant but usually the vehicles constructed during the week seem come always with better performance that was the case on my 02 MCS it had more power than others in the street and when I put the RENNtech flash back then the owner of RENNtech was mesmerized and stated that my car was extraordinarily rare becuase of its output!!
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 08:02 AM   #12
cssnms
Brigadier General
cssnms's Avatar
United_States
77
Rep
3,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhayd11 View Post
Tony from DMS is shipping the "unit" today. What all that entails, I am not sure, but I do know I will need a laptop.

cssnms - Can you PM me what they charge for Dyno runs? I'll make sure I stop by before run the remap.
not 100% sure, but I think it's a $100 for a 2hr session. You need to call and make an appointment.

If you have two hours and if your tuner is telling you that you can flash via the OBDII port you should be able to flash your car right after your baseline dyno, take it out for a spin to let it adapt some, then come back and let it cool down for 30 under the fans then do your second dyno -- that way you don't need to pay twice.

Here's a video of another d (no tune) on their machine.

Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 08:03 AM   #13
cssnms
Brigadier General
cssnms's Avatar
United_States
77
Rep
3,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhayd11 View Post
Tony from DMS is shipping the "unit" today. What all that entails, I am not sure, but I do know I will need a laptop.
So are they telling you you will be able to flash your car through your OBDII port via your laptop or some other device?
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 08:13 AM   #14
cssnms
Brigadier General
cssnms's Avatar
United_States
77
Rep
3,180
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Murland

iTrader: (4)

After looking at their website, it appears the DMS flash doesn't appear to make anymore HP's than the other tunes available. Although having the ability easily flash the ecu through the OBDII sure would be convenient.

I would also be curious to know what parameters the tune manipulates e.g. timing, fuel delivery, boost etc and how does it increase fuel delivery e.g. increase fuel pressure or injection timing? Can you find out from DMS? That being said,
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 09:02 AM   #15
NRG
Lieutenant Colonel
NRG's Avatar
Russian Federation
22
Rep
1,659
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 X5 35d
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal QC

iTrader: (5)

Bench flashed my 2012 X5D yesterday with Mega-Speed Germany software at JR Auto Electronics in Oakville ON. The newest ECMs are real PITA! Not only it has to be physically removed, the insulation silicon seal needs to be broken and both front and the BACK ECM housing covers needs to be disassembled to reach the hidden ROM on the back side of the motherboard witch is very time consuming and dangerous. Small review will come when I'll put some miles on it.
__________________

Retired: 2005 N52 E90 330i Sport 6AT
Retired: 2007 N54 E92 335i Sport 6AT

Current: 2012 M57 E70 X5 xDrive35D
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 09:30 AM   #16
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
Puerto Rico
37
Rep
2,875
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (0)

@NRG Lenny at RENNtech used a heat Handblower to loosen the insulation silicon and yes it was pretty hard even that way to get the ECU shield to come off!! and then we glued it back together
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 09:51 AM   #17
NRG
Lieutenant Colonel
NRG's Avatar
Russian Federation
22
Rep
1,659
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 X5 35d
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal QC

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puerto Rican 335d
@NRG Lenny at RENNtech used a heat Handblower to loosen the insulation silicon and yes it was pretty hard even that way to get the ECU shield to come off!! and then we glued it back together
Same here. The guys at JR put a slight strip of silicon back.
__________________

Retired: 2005 N52 E90 330i Sport 6AT
Retired: 2007 N54 E92 335i Sport 6AT

Current: 2012 M57 E70 X5 xDrive35D
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 09:57 AM   #18
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
Puerto Rico
37
Rep
2,875
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (0)

man that was hard to do even look at it. Im glad they do that Id be pissed to remove it LOL
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 10:01 AM   #19
NRG
Lieutenant Colonel
NRG's Avatar
Russian Federation
22
Rep
1,659
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 X5 35d
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal QC

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puerto Rican 335d
man that was hard to do even look at it. Im glad they do that Id be pissed to remove it LOL
No way I'm attempting a thing like that. Have you seen how the memory is read through their equipment? They actually had to solder a few wires to the ECM contacts on the board to read it's memory... Freaky.
__________________

Retired: 2005 N52 E90 330i Sport 6AT
Retired: 2007 N54 E92 335i Sport 6AT

Current: 2012 M57 E70 X5 xDrive35D
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 10:04 AM   #20
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
Puerto Rico
37
Rep
2,875
Posts

 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (0)

I saw mines done and dont recall soldering just putting a pointer at a certain area and programming it but I will try to video it next time with RENNtech's permission and later post it ok
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 10:07 AM   #21
NRG
Lieutenant Colonel
NRG's Avatar
Russian Federation
22
Rep
1,659
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 X5 35d
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal QC

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puerto Rican 335d
I saw mines done and dont recall soldering just putting a pointer at a certain area and programming it but I will try to video it next time with RENNtech's permission and later post it ok
Do that man!
__________________

Retired: 2005 N52 E90 330i Sport 6AT
Retired: 2007 N54 E92 335i Sport 6AT

Current: 2012 M57 E70 X5 xDrive35D
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 10:35 AM   #22
Jhayd11
First Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
320
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335D
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

In terms of DMS and their output, they seem to have a pretty standard tune and I have gotten a lot of good reviews from UK users. Whether or not they have "the strongest" or "the fastest" they have the tune running on a 535d with over 100k miles with no issues. It'll be a week or two before I get delivery. I'll be sure to post more once it comes.

NRG - do you know if there is a way I can search for dealers for your remap in my area?

- As for RENNtech, they have a dealer in MD, but I haven't gotten word from them on the 335D remap.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST