E90Post
 


E92 Lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Fault code after updating ECU



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-26-2012, 04:29 AM   #1
Yngvejos
Enlisted Member
 
Yngvejos's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 325i, E30 325i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

Fault code after updating ECU

I updated the ECU in my 05 euro 325i with Winkfp and v45 daten files.
The car starts fine after the update, but INPA gives me a fault code after the update:


I assume that this means that I have to code the ecu with NCSexpert after the update. Can someone please tell me how to do it? What is the ECU called in NCS?

I have also updated kombi and FRM. Do I have to recode them too?
Yngvejos is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2012, 06:26 AM   #2
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Use ncs expert and recode your dme to its default values.
Anytime you use winkfp to update a module, you must also reset the values via ncs expert for that module.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2012, 07:22 AM   #3
Yngvejos
Enlisted Member
 
Yngvejos's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 325i, E30 325i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

I tried to open NCS expert, but I can't find the dme. How do I recode it to the default values? I only know how to read out FSW_PSW files, modify them and reupload them to the car.

Edit:
Fixed it with this guide. http://www.**************/showthread...rtmode-profile

After I recoded frm, ecu and kombi, I ran in to one problem. Two of the service indicators was affected. It now says that the car need Inspection and Exhaust control (in 2011). Before the coding, it was supposed to have these two services in 2016.
Is there any way to code that the car had Inspection and exhaust control in 2011?

Last edited by Yngvejos; 07-26-2012 at 12:06 PM.
Yngvejos is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2012, 01:02 PM   #4
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Just edit it as if you were resetting another service due indicator.
Instead of resetting, you input the date.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2012, 05:28 AM   #5
meyergru
No military grade
 
meyergru's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Munich, Germany

Posts: 544
iTrader: (0)

You were lucky to revive it:

There are two types of control units that cannot be programmed with WinKFP: CAS and ECU (I can say for sure for the M3). Both are protected by electronic signatures that cannot be provided by WinKFP, only with ISTA.

Alas, WinKFP first clears the programming without a hitch, but gives an error when it tries to program the new file into the unit. Essentially, it is dead afterwards and can only be revived with better equipment.
__________________
meyergru is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2012, 10:46 AM   #6
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

^That is true to some extent.

Updating Cas and DME on non m 3 series is fine as I have done it countless times.


Updating it on an M3 is not good. The problem is that winkfp does not write the security (EWS) signatures on the dme after programming (say security access denied). The car won't start because of the security key. But in my case the dme wasn't dead.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2012, 11:30 AM   #7
jpirelli
Power is nothing without control
 
jpirelli's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 + E92
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast/Southwest

Posts: 752
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by meyergru View Post
You were lucky to revive it:

There are two types of control units that cannot be programmed with WinKFP: CAS and ECU (I can say for sure for the M3). Both are protected by electronic signatures that cannot be provided by WinKFP, only with ISTA.

Alas, WinKFP first clears the programming without a hitch, but gives an error when it tries to program the new file into the unit. Essentially, it is dead afterwards and can only be revived with better equipment.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
^That is true to some extent.

Updating Cas and DME on non m 3 series is fine as I have done it countless times.


Updating it on an M3 is not good. The problem is that winkfp does not write the security (EWS) signatures on the dme after programming (say security access denied). The car won't start because of the security key. But in my case the dme wasn't dead.
NiVeDh flashed my M3 DME over DCAN once and ICOM the second time and both worked fine with no issues
jpirelli is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2012, 03:37 PM   #8
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,498
iTrader: (46)

Hi,
I have E90 and V45 files. I have done numerous codings and looked at videos how to update your modules.
My questions is, what modules are safe to update on E90?
Also is it trivial to have external power supply to battery?

Many thanks.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2012, 03:42 PM   #9
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Hi,
I have E90 and V45 files. I have done numerous codings and looked at videos how to update your modules.
My questions is, what modules are safe to update on E90?
Also is it trivial to have external power supply to battery?

Many thanks.
If you absolutely don't have to update your modules, don't.
It's not an iPhone, you won't get any features or improvements that you'll see.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2012, 03:54 PM   #10
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,498
iTrader: (46)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrey@AutoCouture View Post
If you absolutely don't have to update your modules, don't.
It's not an iPhone, you won't get any features or improvements that you'll see.
Thanks Andrey. I am having this issue and I wonder if updating any modules will help?

Thanks.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST