E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Question about laptops used for coding



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-23-2012, 04:17 PM   #1
AndyR83
Major
 
AndyR83's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i FBO
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA

Posts: 1,007
iTrader: (5)

Question about laptops used for coding

Hey guys, sorry if this info is posted somewhere. I looked around and didn't see it.

I seem to recall hearing that you need a laptop with a 32-bit OS to be able to code. Is this true? I'm about to buy a new laptop and I want to make sure I can code my car with whatever one I buy. Most of them come with 64-bit OS' these days.

Thanks!
AndyR83 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2012, 04:53 PM   #2
MikeinAlexandria
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 128i M Sport Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA

Posts: 567
iTrader: (0)

The BMW Tools, INPA, EDIABAS and NCSExpert do, in fact, only run in 32bit Windows, preferably Windows XP. However, I use Windows 7 32bit and run in XP compatibility mode which works. I think you might be able to do the same with 7 64bit, the only worry would be the driver for the OBDII cable. It is easy to get a cheap, older laptop and just set that up. I use a Sony lifestyle pc, which is tiny, easy to carry around, and works well for coding.
MikeinAlexandria is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2012, 05:43 PM   #3
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 3,962
iTrader: (5)

I use an older xp laptop just for coding. If only it was smaller.
__________________
2006 BMW 325i Titanium Silver
Mods- 19" AG M310's hypersilver, LCI xenons, drilled and slotted rotors, OEM rear spoiler, OEM exhaust tips, brushed black interior trim, Viper 5904 alarm + remote start
Audio upgrades- Alpine S920HD, JL XD600/6, Jehnert XE200, Morel Hybrid Ovation II, Audioque 2200D, 2 Alpine SWR 12d4's (forward facing sealed from trunk)
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-16-2012, 07:19 AM   #4
dieselgg
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 111
iTrader: (1)

Do a search for INPA and NCS installed in Win 7 64 bit and you will find people who have successfully installed the software on the Win 7 64 bit platform.
dieselgg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-16-2012, 07:47 AM   #5
Surly73
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 E90 328i 6MT sport/prem
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oakville, Ontario

Posts: 722
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselgg View Post
Do a search for INPA and NCS installed in Win 7 64 bit and you will find people who have successfully installed the software on the Win 7 64 bit platform.
In my case it installed just fine, but doesn't run. There's a message that says that the application will not run on a 64-bit OS when you try to launch NCS. INPA runs, but suffers various kinds of weirdo scripting error popups and the like. Sometimes it's every screen refresh, which gets old really fast. I could see possible fixes for INPA, but NCS is a pretty specific error.

I just installed an XP in VMWare Player on the same notebook and it's just dandy. I'm thinking about whether I want to stay with the virtual OS on a modern laptop (meaning once I get all of the software just right I can move the VMWare containers to any system I like) or whether I should dedicate an old boat anchor just for coding.
Surly73 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-16-2012, 12:21 PM   #6
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,033
iTrader: (0)

If you have win 7 pro and 64 bit use xp mode

If you have win 7 pro 64 bit use xp mode
Its kind of cumbersome to set up but it works
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-16-2012, 10:24 PM   #7
dieselgg
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 111
iTrader: (1)

The website that I found posted DIY. The old version of INPA was installed and then the new version was installed. The user posted that it works for him. If any of you guys are interested, you can IM me and I can send you the link.
dieselgg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2012, 02:08 PM   #8
Virterm
Private First Class
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ottawa, canada

Posts: 138
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyR83 View Post
Hey guys, sorry if this info is posted somewhere. I looked around and didn't see it.

I seem to recall hearing that you need a laptop with a 32-bit OS to be able to code. Is this true? I'm about to buy a new laptop and I want to make sure I can code my car with whatever one I buy. Most of them come with 64-bit OS' these days.

Thanks!
Using MacBook Pro with win 7 32 bit vm without any problem
Virterm is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2012, 03:44 PM   #9
smellfish
No one on the corner has stagger like us
 
Drives: '11 AW E90
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: COS

Posts: 303
iTrader: (2)

Using 9 year old Dell with a copy of XP
__________________
smellfish is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2012, 05:24 PM   #10
fooledyas
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 z4 and 328i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 1175

Posts: 117
iTrader: (0)

sorry for hijacking this thread but does anybody know if it will run with 32bit windows 7se.
fooledyas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2012, 01:32 PM   #11
dieselgg
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 111
iTrader: (1)

Reading other forums, yes, it will work in WIn 7 32 bit.
dieselgg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2012, 02:31 AM   #12
Teohenwhy
Du Ma Pho Real?
 
Teohenwhy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sacramento

Posts: 256
iTrader: (4)

I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. Really easy to run. No need for Xp mode. Just right click the Ncsexpert exe file , properties, compatibility mode, choose windows xp from the drop down menu. Simple.
__________________
Teohenwhy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2012, 01:28 PM   #13
Surly73
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 E90 328i 6MT sport/prem
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oakville, Ontario

Posts: 722
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teohenwhy View Post
I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. Really easy to run. No need for Xp mode. Just right click the Ncsexpert exe file , properties, compatibility mode, choose windows xp from the drop down menu. Simple.
"Compatibility mode" won't solve 32/64-bit issues. I've just tried what you've described on my Win7 x64 notebook and trying to run NCSEXPERT.exe gives the attached pop up:
Attached Images
 
Surly73 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2012, 01:41 PM   #14
AndyR83
Major
 
AndyR83's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i FBO
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA

Posts: 1,007
iTrader: (5)

So, I've been looking over Newegg's laptop listing the past few days and I can't seem to find anything that looks right. I'd like to buy from Newegg because I have a $100 gift card I want to use.

Most of the laptops they have listed either say they are 64 bit, or don't say at all (i.e. "Windows Starter" is listed as the OS on a lot of the little cheapie models.)

Any specific recommendations for laptops that are known to work?
AndyR83 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2012, 02:11 PM   #15
Im8Up
Private
 
Im8Up's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati

Posts: 78
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyR83 View Post
So, I've been looking over Newegg's laptop listing the past few days and I can't seem to find anything that looks right. I'd like to buy from Newegg because I have a $100 gift card I want to use.

Most of the laptops they have listed either say they are 64 bit, or don't say at all (i.e. "Windows Starter" is listed as the OS on a lot of the little cheapie models.)

Any specific recommendations for laptops that are known to work?
I have a brand new win 7 64 bit toshiba laptop. Downloaded vm ware. Installed a copy of xp. Ran the software and have coded multiple things with no problems once I had everything setup correctly. Purchase something you can use daily if your purchasing new. Just my 2c.
Im8Up is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2012, 02:51 PM   #16
AndyR83
Major
 
AndyR83's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i FBO
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA

Posts: 1,007
iTrader: (5)

Interesting. I'll look into going that route instead.
AndyR83 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2012, 04:58 PM   #17
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,257
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Get an Acer spire 07022. I have it and also bought from NewEgg
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2012, 07:50 AM   #18
Surly73
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 E90 328i 6MT sport/prem
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oakville, Ontario

Posts: 722
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyR83 View Post
Most of the laptops they have listed either say they are 64 bit, or don't say at all (i.e. "Windows Starter" is listed as the OS on a lot of the little cheapie models.)
Anything made in the last 6-7 years is going to be 64-bit (EM64T) capable hardware. That doesn't mean you have to install a 64-bit OS on it. The 64-bit OS is the problem with NCS etc...
Surly73 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST