E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > System Requirements for coding?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-01-2012, 04:33 PM   #1
Chard
Second Lieutenant
United_States
3
Rep
238
Posts

Drives: E90 335i, E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Honolulu

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Chard Send a message via Yahoo to Chard
System Requirements for coding?

I'm getting a used laptop for coding since my laptop is Win 7 64-bit.

What are the other system requirements?
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 04:46 PM   #2
JDMKS
Second Lieutenant
United_States
2
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: AW E90
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Misery

iTrader: (1)

I thought I read somewhere the WinXp mode works for windows 7
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 04:47 PM   #3
Chard
Second Lieutenant
United_States
3
Rep
238
Posts

Drives: E90 335i, E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Honolulu

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Chard Send a message via Yahoo to Chard
I only have the home version of win 7.
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 07:50 PM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
56
Rep
4,740
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

You have to upgrade to Pro for XP Mode

You have to upgrade to Pro for XP Mode
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 08:34 PM   #5
Chard
Second Lieutenant
United_States
3
Rep
238
Posts

Drives: E90 335i, E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Honolulu

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Chard Send a message via Yahoo to Chard
well, i'm buying a used laptop instead. Cheaper than upgrading. I just wanted to make sure the system requirements are enough to run the coding software.

Looking at picking up an IBM/Lenovo ThinkPad T43 with has xp pro.
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 09:07 PM   #6
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
260
Rep
18,296
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
its a requirement to run a OS using 32bits. How ever you get it to work. Windows 64 is not compatible.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 01:22 AM   #7
bootay
Private First Class
2
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Used laptop is cheaper and easier than $70 for home to pro?
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2012, 05:19 PM   #8
RectalItching
Private
4
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (3)

if you are using ncs dummy you need a certain version of windows framework. the ncs dummy software will prompt you with a link. thats what i had to do.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2012, 08:58 PM   #9
AndyR83
Major
AndyR83's Avatar
17
Rep
1,025
Posts

Drives: E92 335i FBO
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA

iTrader: (5)

I just bought this one, pretty much only for coding
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834256048
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST