E90Post
 


Horizon LED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Those Of You Who Recoded To AGM Batteries...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-01-2012, 03:48 PM   #1
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
143
Rep
5,179
Posts

 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

iTrader: (15)

Those Of You Who Recoded To AGM Batteries...

Were you able to verify using INPA that the charging strategy has changed? I changed my CAS file to ...

KLASSE_BATTERIE
40ah_agm

After coding the DME, I registered the battery using Tool32. However, when I check the charging strategy in INPA it still shows 81 aH. Has anyone been able to confirm they changed the charging strategy to AGM 40 ah using coding plus tool32?
__________________
654 RWHP ... ! Vishnu/FFTEC Single Turbo 335
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 04:08 PM   #2
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
83
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Did you update your VO?
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 04:13 PM   #3
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
143
Rep
5,179
Posts

 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
Did you update your VO?
Grant, I did not. I only coded the CAS module then reset the battery adaption using tool32. I have never read anywhere that I need to update my VO? How would I approach that and what do I need to do?
__________________
654 RWHP ... ! Vishnu/FFTEC Single Turbo 335
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 04:57 PM   #4
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
83
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

E B046 BATT_46AH //46 Ah-Batterie
E B055 BATT_55AH //55 Ah-Batterie
E B070 BATT_70AH //70 Ah-Batterie
E B080 BATT_80AH //80 Ah-Batterie
E B090 BATT_90AH //90 Ah-Batterie
E A070 BATT_AGM_70AH //70 Ah-AGM Batterie
E A080 BATT_AGM_80AH //80 Ah-AGM Batterie
E A090 BATT_AGM_90AH //90 Ah-AGM Batterie

In your VO (FA) List you should find $B080 if your old battery is 81 ah.
You will need to delete that, add the closest match from the list above back in, then FA_Write the new VO to CAS and FRM/NFRM, THEN code CAS. Then you can use the register battery option in Tool32.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 04:58 PM   #5
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
143
Rep
5,179
Posts

 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
E B046 BATT_46AH //46 Ah-Batterie
E B055 BATT_55AH //55 Ah-Batterie
E B070 BATT_70AH //70 Ah-Batterie
E B080 BATT_80AH //80 Ah-Batterie
E B090 BATT_90AH //90 Ah-Batterie
E A070 BATT_AGM_70AH //70 Ah-AGM Batterie
E A080 BATT_AGM_80AH //80 Ah-AGM Batterie
E A090 BATT_AGM_90AH //90 Ah-AGM Batterie

In your VO (FA) List you should find $B080 if your old battery is 81 ah.
You will need to delete that, add the closest match from the list above back in, then FA_Write the new VO to CAS and FRM/NFRM, THEN code CAS. Then you can use the register battery option in Tool32.
The DIY shows there is a 40 ah option for the AGM batteries, but it doesn't show that in the this list???
__________________
654 RWHP ... ! Vishnu/FFTEC Single Turbo 335
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 05:00 PM   #6
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
83
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hm. Try adding $A040 and see if it gives you an error (meaning that the VO code is invalid).
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 05:01 PM   #7
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
143
Rep
5,179
Posts

 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
Hm. Try adding $A040 and see if it gives you an error (meaning that the VO code is invalid).
Do I FA_Write only the NFRM and CAS? When I am done, do I just exit?
__________________
654 RWHP ... ! Vishnu/FFTEC Single Turbo 335
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 05:08 PM   #8
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
83
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Follow the steps for updating VO. There is a DIY on here.
In a nutshell...

Use Expert Mode
Go to Enter FA, delete the old code add the new one
Then Process ECU, CAS, Job: FA_Write.
Repeat for NFRM
Then go back to CAS and SG_Codrien still in expert mode.

Good luck!
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2012, 05:59 AM   #9
Surly73
Captain
Canada
10
Rep
724
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E90 328i 6MT sport/prem
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oakville, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

I just recently went through all of the steps for this in the battery replacement thread. I went with 90Ah AGM but the steps are the same. My charging strategy went from 90.0 to 91.0.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...5&postcount=29
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2012, 12:46 PM   #10
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
83
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

Yup. Good write up. Thats what I stated above.
Instead of manually changing the line in CAS, after you update the VO in both modules and process the cas, it is changed automatically.
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2012, 01:00 PM   #11
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
143
Rep
5,179
Posts

 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
Yup. Good write up. Thats what I stated above.
Instead of manually changing the line in CAS, after you update the VO in both modules and process the cas, it is changed automatically.
Grant, can I change the line in the CAS manually so I don't lose the coding I have done using the Expertmode?
__________________
654 RWHP ... ! Vishnu/FFTEC Single Turbo 335
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2012, 01:16 PM   #12
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
83
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

You can. I'm just not sure that is the only line that changes when you reset it to the new VO.

Surly said his worked fine doing that so you can try
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2012, 01:29 PM   #13
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
143
Rep
5,179
Posts

 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
You can. I'm just not sure that is the only line that changes when you reset it to the new VO.

Surly said his worked fine doing that so you can try
Ok cool. I will try to confirm if there is a 40ah_agm setting in the VO as well.
__________________
654 RWHP ... ! Vishnu/FFTEC Single Turbo 335
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2012, 05:38 PM   #14
Surly73
Captain
Canada
10
Rep
724
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E90 328i 6MT sport/prem
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oakville, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
Yup. Good write up. Thats what I stated above.
Instead of manually changing the line in CAS, after you update the VO in both modules and process the cas, it is changed automatically.
It didn't on my car, I still had to code the option in CAS as well as the VO/FA. I realize my sample size is 1, but maybe some cars update and others don't. I would still check it manually using NCS expert mode if it were my car.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2012, 10:53 PM   #15
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
143
Rep
5,179
Posts

 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

iTrader: (15)

Grant, it does allow you to manually code the CAS line KLASSE_BATTERIE. I can confirm there is no 40ah AGM option, so I coded the 70 AGM. I confirmed in INPA and it is charging correctly.
__________________
654 RWHP ... ! Vishnu/FFTEC Single Turbo 335

Last edited by Former_Boosted_IS; 08-04-2012 at 11:30 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2014, 07:54 PM   #16
bmwstone
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

Hey guys, sorry to raise this from the dead but I have a few questions about this as I am trying to do this also... So everything mentioned above can be done or should be done in expert mode? That is update the VO and code the CAS?

Also Im new to coding... Should the VO and CAS be altered while ignition is on or off?
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2014, 07:54 PM   #17
bdwyer
Enlisted Member
bdwyer's Avatar
0
Rep
49
Posts

 
Drives: '11 335d
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: LI

iTrader: (0)

So... In my CAS and NFRM I see -B090, not $B090. Should I be deleting -B090 and replacing with -A090 or $A090?
__________________
'11 335d Sport
CCNP, MCITP-EA
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST