E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Sirius radio CIC?!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-16-2012, 10:49 AM   #1
e93driva
Captain
United_States
16
Rep
698
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93 335is
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (2)

Sirius radio CIC?!

I have an 09 335i xdrive. I don't have Sirius radio and I called up my dealer for an "upgrade" to get the satellite module. They quoted me at ~$1650.

What the hell? I thought a Sirius module was about $300...and then coding ~an hour labor.

Is there any cheaper way to do this?
__________________


Instagram: gyounes9
Das it mane
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 06:56 PM   #2
335iTitan
E90 335i n00b
335iTitan's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Malvern, PA

iTrader: (2)

Do you have Nav?
__________________
Driver Found "More Money" Wanted
10 335i Titan Silver - X-Drive/Nav/Sport/Adpt Cruise
05 Touareg Gray 4.2L - Air Susp/Xenon/Nav/Paddles/Keyless Start/Rear Ent
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2012, 08:47 AM   #3
TheUltimateDrivingManiac
Freude am Fahren.
Kazakhstan
1
Rep
159
Posts

 
Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Almaty, Kazakhstan

iTrader: (0)

AFAIR Sirius is already integrated into CIC. If you have Navi, you don't need any hardware. If you don't have Navi, you need to connect satellite antenna.

After this you need to get FSC code for Sirius, import it and make a coding.
__________________
Freude am Fahren.
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2012, 11:54 AM   #4
e93driva
Captain
United_States
16
Rep
698
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93 335is
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335iTitan View Post
Do you have Nav?
Yeah my iDrive has Nav.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUltimateDrivingManiac
AFAIR Sirius is already integrated into CIC. If you have Navi, you don't need any hardware. If you don't have Navi, you need to connect satellite antenna.

After this you need to get FSC code for Sirius, import it and make a coding.
Wait so my 09 335xi with the CIC iDrive (with the nav) already has the Sirius module inside the trunk? all i need to do is get some coding done to enable the option in the iDrive radio menu?

I read about this somewhere but people said it was only for 2010+
__________________


Instagram: gyounes9
Das it mane
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2012, 07:51 AM   #5
335iTitan
E90 335i n00b
335iTitan's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Malvern, PA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e92driva View Post
Yeah my iDrive has Nav.
Wait so my 09 335xi with the CIC iDrive (with the nav) already has the Sirius module inside the trunk? all i need to do is get some coding done to enable the option in the iDrive radio menu?

I read about this somewhere but people said it was only for 2010+
I was looking in my '10 E90 335i and no Sirius Module pre-installed. I didn't even see the wiring needed. Attached is the DIY SiriusRadio from BMW on Sirius Install.
Sirius Module for NAV systems has a MSRP of 375.00 Part# 65122167250 / getBMWparts.com list price is $300.00

Just Found DIY SiriusRadio v2
Also found a DIY about non Sirius prep'd E90 http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...&highlight=693
Attached Images
File Type: pdf DIY-SiriusRadio.pdf (592.3 KB, 792 views)
File Type: pdf DIY-SiriusRadio v2.pdf (272.5 KB, 633 views)
__________________
Driver Found "More Money" Wanted
10 335i Titan Silver - X-Drive/Nav/Sport/Adpt Cruise
05 Touareg Gray 4.2L - Air Susp/Xenon/Nav/Paddles/Keyless Start/Rear Ent

Last edited by 335iTitan; 07-20-2012 at 08:25 AM.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2012, 03:49 PM   #6
TheUltimateDrivingManiac
Freude am Fahren.
Kazakhstan
1
Rep
159
Posts

 
Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Almaty, Kazakhstan

iTrader: (0)

Sirius is integrated in CIC. There's no separate module anymore. You just need FSC and coding.
__________________
Freude am Fahren.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2012, 04:07 PM   #7
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
87
Rep
1,609
Posts


 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

A 2009 335i does not have Sirius integrated in the head unit. You need to install an external Sirius tuner which is pretty expensive unless you find a used one.

From 2010 model BMW cars with the SA693 Sat Radio prepration option have Sirius tuner integrated into the head unit and we can do a remote activation of Sirius with free 1-year subscription
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.

Appreciate 0
      07-20-2012, 04:18 PM   #8
e93driva
Captain
United_States
16
Rep
698
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93 335is
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys@BimmerTech
A 2009 335i does not have Sirius integrated in the head unit. You need to install an external Sirius tuner which is pretty expensive unless you find a used one.

From 2010 model BMW cars with the SA693 Sat Radio prepration option have Sirius tuner integrated into the head unit and we can do a remote activation of Sirius with free 1-year subscription
So I'm looking for an external Sirius tuner?..and then some coding?

I should just forget about the Sirius module..that's pre 2009 right?
__________________


Instagram: gyounes9
Das it mane
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2012, 01:41 AM   #9
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
87
Rep
1,609
Posts


 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e92driva View Post
So I'm looking for an external Sirius tuner?..and then some coding?

I should just forget about the Sirius module..that's pre 2009 right?
Assuming your car has Sirius preparation you need an OEM Sirius tuner (can be used) and coding. You will also need to pay for Sirius subscription.
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.

Appreciate 0
      07-21-2012, 03:20 AM   #10
e93driva
Captain
United_States
16
Rep
698
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93 335is
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys@BimmerTech
Quote:
Originally Posted by e92driva View Post
So I'm looking for an external Sirius tuner?..and then some coding?

I should just forget about the Sirius module..that's pre 2009 right?
Assuming your car has Sirius preparation you need an OEM Sirius tuner (can be used) and coding. You will also need to pay for Sirius subscription.
Alright cool! Guess im on the search for one of those. Does it have to be specific to my model or can it be any e9x Sirius tuner?

Is this the tuner I'm looking for? Part # 65126948064 or 65129192274

...also, cant i just pull that tuner from a junkyard and then buy the mounting bracket/fan off of tischer?

Sorry for the dumb questions
__________________


Instagram: gyounes9
Das it mane

Last edited by e93driva; 07-21-2012 at 05:19 AM.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2012, 07:45 AM   #11
helpdepot
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

BMW 2009 335xi Coupe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys@BimmerTech View Post
Assuming your car has Sirius preparation you need an OEM Sirius tuner (can be used) and coding. You will also need to pay for Sirius subscription.
I believe I am in the same exact situation here.
I have a BMW 2009 335xi Coupe (E92) with Navigation (iDrive CIC).
I don't see SAT anywhere on the screen.
How do I know if my car is SIRIUS prepped/ready?
What are the exact part numbers that we can buy to install SIRIUS?
Can we do the software upgrade ourselves?
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2012, 10:39 AM   #12
335iTitan
E90 335i n00b
335iTitan's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Malvern, PA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
I believe I am in the same exact situation here.
I have a BMW 2009 335xi Coupe (E92) with Navigation (iDrive CIC).
The Sat retrofit unit should work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
I don't see SAT anywhere on the screen
Module not installed in trunk
Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
How do I know if my car is SIRIUS prepped/ready?
Check under the carpet in the trunk and look for a wrapped up cable next to the bluetooth and tuner modules on the right side. Also you can look at your bill of sales for a (SA 693) Satellite Radio Preparations
Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
What are the exact part numbers that we can buy to install SIRIUS?
65 11 0 406 351 Sirius Retrofit Kit
Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
Can we do the software upgrade ourselves?
Nope unless you have coding equipment like Bavarian Technic or NCSEXPER or your going to have to pay the dealership to code.
__________________
Driver Found "More Money" Wanted
10 335i Titan Silver - X-Drive/Nav/Sport/Adpt Cruise
05 Touareg Gray 4.2L - Air Susp/Xenon/Nav/Paddles/Keyless Start/Rear Ent
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 06:40 AM   #13
e93driva
Captain
United_States
16
Rep
698
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93 335is
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335iTitan
Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
I believe I am in the same exact situation here.
I have a BMW 2009 335xi Coupe (E92) with Navigation (iDrive CIC).
The Sat retrofit unit should work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
I don't see SAT anywhere on the screen
Module not installed in trunk
Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
How do I know if my car is SIRIUS prepped/ready?
Check under the carpet in the trunk and look for a wrapped up cable next to the bluetooth and tuner modules on the right side. Also you can look at your bill of sales for a (SA 693) Satellite Radio Preparations
Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
What are the exact part numbers that we can buy to install SIRIUS?
65 11 0 406 351 Sirius Retrofit Kit
Quote:
Originally Posted by helpdepot View Post
Can we do the software upgrade ourselves?
Nope unless you have coding equipment like Bavarian Technic or NCSEXPER or your going to have to pay the dealership to code.
I have the SA63 option. Are you saying that ALL we need is the Sirius retrofit kit? Or do we need the Sirius module as well as the Sirius retrofit kit?

Thanks for the reply
__________________


Instagram: gyounes9
Das it mane
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 07:23 AM   #14
335iTitan
E90 335i n00b
335iTitan's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Malvern, PA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e92driva View Post
I have the SA63 option. Are you saying that ALL we need is the Sirius retrofit kit? Or do we need the Sirius module as well as the Sirius retrofit kit?

Thanks for the reply
Yes and the bracket to mount it. Read the 2 PDF's attached to this thread.
__________________
Driver Found "More Money" Wanted
10 335i Titan Silver - X-Drive/Nav/Sport/Adpt Cruise
05 Touareg Gray 4.2L - Air Susp/Xenon/Nav/Paddles/Keyless Start/Rear Ent
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2013, 02:20 PM   #15
matebo
Private First Class
matebo's Avatar
Canada
1
Rep
126
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 BMW E92 335i Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
2009 CIC

Hi, my car is 2009 e92 335i, with cic navigation.

I have a Sattlelite Radio in my radio menu. When I use it, it shows "acquiring" and the "sirius dog" log on the right hand site top corner of my navi screen. Then it just stay acquiring...

In my case, do I have sirius radio in my car? or do I just need to renew it?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2013, 06:40 PM   #16
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
32
Rep
1,078
Posts


 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matebo
Hi, my car is 2009 e92 335i, with cic navigation.

I have a Sattlelite Radio in my radio menu. When I use it, it shows "acquiring" and the "sirius dog" log on the right hand site top corner of my navi screen. Then it just stay acquiring...

In my case, do I have sirius radio in my car? or do I just need to renew it?

Thanks!
I looked at your VO when I did your FSC code and you have Sirius radio installed.

You should be able to tune to channel 184 (preview channel) and get audio. If not, you may have problem with your module like the antenna is disconnected, etc.
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2013, 03:00 AM   #17
matebo
Private First Class
matebo's Avatar
Canada
1
Rep
126
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 BMW E92 335i Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Hi Dracon:

You mean tune to channel 184 in the sattlelite radio? I don`t think I can do anything other than "acquiring"... I can see my ESN number in the option menu.

How long is the coverage of Sirius radio service? Do I need to renew it?
I am going to take my car to dealer sometime soon, the car still under warranty till late October this year.
Thanks Dracon, really appreciated!
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2013, 08:10 AM   #18
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
32
Rep
1,078
Posts


 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matebo View Post
Hi Dracon:

You mean tune to channel 184 in the sattlelite radio? I don`t think I can do anything other than "acquiring"... I can see my ESN number in the option menu.

How long is the coverage of Sirius radio service? Do I need to renew it?
I am going to take my car to dealer sometime soon, the car still under warranty till late October this year.
Thanks Dracon, really appreciated!
Yes, you should be able to tune to channel 184 on the Sat Radio, even if it doesn't have Sirius service. It's the preview channel and it works on all Sirius satellite radios (used to sell you Sirius if you don't have a subscription and used for diagnostics purposes because you should always get that channel).

It really sounds like there's something wrong with the Sirius module in the truck, or the antenna.

I would check in the trunk, under the panel. On the left hand side there's the satellite radio box, it should have two cables. A large black connector and a smaller pink connector. Make sure the pink connector is fully connected to the box. That's the antenna coming from the sharkfin.

Otherwise, it could be the sharkfin itself and it might need to be replaced.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2013, 02:14 AM   #19
matebo
Private First Class
matebo's Avatar
Canada
1
Rep
126
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 BMW E92 335i Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Sirius Radio

Hi Dracon:

So I took some pictures of the module. I tried to tighten both connectors and got the same result. And when I put my key in (before ignition), and select Sirius Radio, I notice the fan of the module seems not blowing.

Any ways, here are the photos:

Name:  IMG_1249.JPG
Views: 3428
Size:  109.4 KB
Name:  IMG_1250.JPG
Views: 3318
Size:  100.8 KB
Name:  IMG_1252 (1).JPG
Views: 3783
Size:  177.0 KB
Name:  IMG_1253.JPG
Views: 3781
Size:  202.9 KB

Might take her to dealer this Thursday or next Tuesday.

pulling my hair off....
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2013, 08:36 AM   #20
e93driva
Captain
United_States
16
Rep
698
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93 335is
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matebo View Post
Hi Dracon:

So I took some pictures of the module. I tried to tighten both connectors and got the same result. And when I put my key in (before ignition), and select Sirius Radio, I notice the fan of the module seems not blowing.

Any ways, here are the photos:

Attachment 862025
Attachment 862026
Attachment 862027
Attachment 862028

Might take her to dealer this Thursday or next Tuesday.

pulling my hair off....
Yeah there's something definitely wrong with the shark fin antenna..or some connection somewhere. Basically it's showing that you have no connection to Sirius. When I coded the option into my car, it just showed the Satellite radio option and I could click on it and the screen looked like yours.. It wasn't until I received the module and installed that (along with rewiring the MOST) did all the channels pop up. So the dealer is your best bet, because this is a loose connection or antenna related!

Good luck
__________________


Instagram: gyounes9
Das it mane
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 03:18 PM   #21
matebo
Private First Class
matebo's Avatar
Canada
1
Rep
126
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 BMW E92 335i Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by e92driva View Post
Yeah there's something definitely wrong with the shark fin antenna..or some connection somewhere. Basically it's showing that you have no connection to Sirius. When I coded the option into my car, it just showed the Satellite radio option and I could click on it and the screen looked like yours.. It wasn't until I received the module and installed that (along with rewiring the MOST) did all the channels pop up. So the dealer is your best bet, because this is a loose connection or antenna related!

Good luck
Haha Thanks! How do you like the Sirius radio so far?
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 09:24 PM   #22
e93driva
Captain
United_States
16
Rep
698
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93 335is
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by matebo View Post
Haha Thanks! How do you like the Sirius radio so far?
I love it. Im a huge BPM/Electric Area fan so I needed it. Makes drives even more enjoyable. I had it in my old 330i, so when I figured out my 335i didn't have it, I did my research and started the retrofit.

I heard they're shutting down all the old Sirius units and moving to a whole new thing (something like Sirius 2.0 or some ishhhh like that). Let's hope they don't do that!
__________________


Instagram: gyounes9
Das it mane
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST