E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > 335D lack of power



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-19-2012, 06:14 AM   #1
Baldy
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 320d Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Edinburgh

Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)

335D lack of power

I have recently bought a E92 335D (Jan 07 model)

I find it very slow off the mark and it doesn't really get going until nearly 3000 RPM

I took it to the local rolling road yesterday to get it checked, It is getting the correct top end figures but at the lower end of the revs there doesn't seem to be anything, other 335D's I have driven seem to have power all the way through the revs and then major power kicks in.

to me its as if the small turbo is not working, I have attached the graph to see if anyone can shed some light on it

Baldy is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2012, 06:18 AM   #2
nicktyler
Major
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Essex

Posts: 1,130
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
That is not a healthy Dyno Graph.

How was the fuelling? any error codes? Maybe the Fuel pump is playing up at lower revs. Your idea about the turbo's sounds very plausable but there wouldn't there be error codes?
nicktyler is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2012, 06:26 AM   #3
Baldy
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 320d Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Edinburgh

Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)

to be honest the guy wasn't much help, he reckons its fine ... I don't and looking at the graph it is as you say "not looking healthy", I am getting no error codes on the dash and he says there were none on the computer .

I just don't think its right, I am looking to see if anyone can shed some light where to look, I am going to take it to a local specialist to get them to look at it, but thought you guys may help pin point things to check first
Baldy is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2012, 06:30 AM   #4
phil200tdi
Colonel
 
phil200tdi's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i M Sport E90 LCI manual
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aylesbury

Posts: 2,353
iTrader: (0)

All kinds of wrong there!

Boost leak? heard about problems on 335d with Red hose seals or something.. I'm sure an adult will be along shortly tho..

Get it checked out pronto!
phil200tdi is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2012, 06:30 AM   #5
nicktyler
Major
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Essex

Posts: 1,130
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
He is wrong. This is what it should look like: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=356117
nicktyler is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2012, 06:32 AM   #6
nicktyler
Major
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Essex

Posts: 1,130
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Sorry this is a better link http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100276
nicktyler is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2012, 08:32 AM   #7
AlwynMike
Captain
 
Drives: E91 335d.
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shropshire, UK

Posts: 889
iTrader: (1)

Not knowing that much about these engines, I would say there is quite a problem. As on the graphs posted by nicktyler, your max torque should be around 1800rpm.

Check vacuum hoses to the small turbo actuator, and the actuator itself, as I understand they may be problematic, and a relatively easy fix.

Mike
AlwynMike is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2012, 08:58 AM   #8
Imran@Evolve
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

Posts: 1,961
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
It is a problem with the smaller turbo, most likely the actuator. Get it checked out. I have seen this more than a few times now.
Imran@Evolve is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2012, 11:17 AM   #9
wayne71
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 381
iTrader: (0)

I had the same problem which turned out to be an actuator.
wayne71 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 11:06 AM   #10
Gummy100
Registered
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hitchin

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

335D turbo pipes

Hi All,

New to the 335D and new to the forum so hope I don't repeat anything etc.

I've recently bought a 2007 335D and after a bit of playing and driving I noticed the lack of power in low rpm. It is rapid once the car gets over 3,000 RPM but is flat otherwise..

I read all forums and then decided to have a look at my turbo pipes, all looked in poor condition but I couldn't find any breaks or pipes hanging off.

I decided to take the car to BMW today and got a call saying the actuator or pressure device had failed and it was 350 to replace. (luckily the extended warranty is covering this) I believe a after market actuator is about 80...

They tried pressuring me to have the turbo pipes replaced and explained the terrible condition, i was considering this until they wanted 250 ontop of the warranty claim that already covers some of this..

I haven't opted for this a I believe the pipes are a fairly simple process and can be done cheaply buying pipe of the web??

Has anyone replaced the turbo pipes and can they reccommend how and if I should do this?

Thanks

Dan
Gummy100 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 12:38 PM   #11
daveleach
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: berks

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gummy100 View Post
Hi All,

New to the 335D and new to the forum so hope I don't repeat anything etc.

I've recently bought a 2007 335D and after a bit of playing and driving I noticed the lack of power in low rpm. It is rapid once the car gets over 3,000 RPM but is flat otherwise..

I read all forums and then decided to have a look at my turbo pipes, all looked in poor condition but I couldn't find any breaks or pipes hanging off.

I decided to take the car to BMW today and got a call saying the actuator or pressure device had failed and it was 350 to replace. (luckily the extended warranty is covering this) I believe a after market actuator is about 80...

They tried pressuring me to have the turbo pipes replaced and explained the terrible condition, i was considering this until they wanted 250 ontop of the warranty claim that already covers some of this..

I haven't opted for this a I believe the pipes are a fairly simple process and can be done cheaply buying pipe of the web??

Has anyone replaced the turbo pipes and can they reccommend how and if I should do this?

Thanks

Dan
I have recently replaced both of my pressure converters and the bracket they mount onto, and also all vacuum pipes.
Cost 185 and about 2 hours of my time. The car feels totally transformed throughout the rev range now.
daveleach is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 02:29 PM   #12
jimmylad
Lieutenant
 
jimmylad's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335d sapphire black
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DERBY

Posts: 561
iTrader: (1)

Had this problem on mine but to be honest it was very very obvious something was wrong.

Had the new converters fitted at a cost of 650 at the main dealers & they told me it was a big job as the turbo's needed to come off hence the high price. Lyin B'stards.

It seems that most problems are relatively minor with 335d power issues but tracing them is another matter. Most of my vaccuum pipes are now changed & anyone with a 4 year old or say 80k car should think about getting these bits done sooner rather than later & then you can get it done in your own time & not end up panicking at the main dealers like I did which could have been avoided as with the rip off bill you will get.
jimmylad is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 03:11 PM   #13
daveleach
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: berks

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmylad View Post
Had this problem on mine but to be honest it was very very obvious something was wrong.

Had the new converters fitted at a cost of 650 at the main dealers & they told me it was a big job as the turbo's needed to come off hence the high price. Lyin B'stards.

It seems that most problems are relatively minor with 335d power issues but tracing them is another matter. Most of my vaccuum pipes are now changed & anyone with a 4 year old or say 80k car should think about getting these bits done sooner rather than later & then you can get it done in your own time & not end up panicking at the main dealers like I did which could have been avoided as with the rip off bill you will get.
650

Don't need to touch the turbos!!
I could do job under 1hr 30mins next time!
daveleach is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 04:20 PM   #14
jimmylad
Lieutenant
 
jimmylad's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335d sapphire black
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DERBY

Posts: 561
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveleach View Post
650

Don't need to touch the turbos!!
I could do job under 1hr 30mins next time!
That's why I hate dealers. Lyin c*nts......

They had the car cos it wouldnt start so in the end a new ecu was put on at 850 & the lack of power was reported at the same time. Picked the car up & having assured me that the car had been test driven and was ok it was evident to me in 10 yards it still had no power low down !!!

Now comes the lie about takin off the turbos to replace the actuators to justify the 650 price tag for the new actuators.

Picked up 2 days later having new actuators & they had updated the software & wiped off my remap. A week later the cars DPF light is coming on continually so I thought get an ecotune pipe & fit that & that's when we noticed the sensors disconnected on the DPF hence the light coming on. So did you have to disconnect any sensors on the DPF to fit the new actuators Dave? I suspect not.

Having read the fault code on my laptop when the fault first appeared it was evident that the car was at the dealers at the time as it logs the milage & speed ov the vehicle etc. so did they forget to reconnect them or just disconect them knowing they would try & flog me a new dpf a week later.

I fucking hate twatstones of darby. theivin lyin c*nts
jimmylad is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 05:25 PM   #15
Gummy100
Registered
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hitchin

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveleach View Post
I have recently replaced both of my pressure converters and the bracket they mount onto, and also all vacuum pipes.
Cost 185 and about 2 hours of my time. The car feels totally transformed throughout the rev range now.

Hi,

Thanks for the quick replys. I suspected something similar.. This is why I don't want BMW touching anything when I'm paying..

Dave,
Can you tell me what pipe I should be buying? Ive taken the engine cover off before to look and i think it's easy enough.. I guess I need to know the bore size and makeup of pipe? I currently don't have the car so any advise would be appreciated. Even a link to where you got your pipe? (if possible)

Thanks in advance.
Gummy100 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 03:48 AM   #16
Mustard3
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335d M sport coupe Evolved
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Essex, England

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

This '335d loss of power' seems to be one of the most common threads on the forum. I guess the the whole turbo/vacuum system is so complicated that the chance of any of these cars with a few miles on the clock running at their full potential is pretty slim.

Maybe have someone else (reputable) check for error codes, without them it's gonna be trial & error replacing parts. Is the problem intermittent or permanent?

I had a lack of power below 3k revs (no error codes) which was rectified by replacing a couple of sensors, but nothing as serious as the op is experiencing. In your case Baldy, others with this problem have cured it by replacing the pressure converters, but I imagine this fault would give an error message. A vacuum pipe leak is another likely suspect.

My car is pulling with the full beans in the mid range now, but flat at the top end. Even with a remap it's 0-100 is down to 15/16 seconds - it was 11.9 when it was done in April. No fault codes.
Mustard3 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 06:02 AM   #17
daveleach
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: berks

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

When I first experienced the problem, I got the codes read to point me in the right direction as to the cause of problem.
I then purchased the pressure converters/bracket and vacuum hose.
The pressure converters and bracket was from BMW for 169 delivered. And the vacuum hose was 15 for 5 metres from gsf.
I changed all parts and cleared the codes.
Then out of curiosity I removed one of the vacuum pipes, and took the car for a run. Low down power was gone, and then from 2.5-3k it flew.
After this drive I scanned for error codes and there were none logged. So I'm guessing there is nothing in place to measure vacuum, but if there is a fault with the pressure converter its logged. So I would say that whilst replacing the pressure converters you may as well replace the hoses too. You have to change both pressure converters as they are a newer design and your unable to fit them on the old bracket, as they foul on the black vacuum canister.
daveleach is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 06:32 AM   #18
Mustard3
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335d M sport coupe Evolved
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Essex, England

Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)

Dave, did you replace ALL of your vacuum hoses? Some of them look a bit inaccessible and I'm a bit daunted by the task.
Mustard3 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 07:14 AM   #19
daveleach
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: berks

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

I replaced all the vacuum hoses that are shown on the following page.
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...85&hg=11&fg=45
All p
daveleach is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2012, 12:51 PM   #20
jamier27
Private
 
Drives: Jb4 135i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: cumbria

Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)

Sounds like this is something i have wrong with my car.

Been on a run through the lakes today and car was running fine til about 30 mins from home when i went to overtake and car was dead.. very flat.
After doing a few tests it seems that a pipe or actuator from the smaller turbo is not working.. as above 3k it runs full power.

Any other tests i can doo before i get it booked in?? i am cluesless with mechanicals and dont want to be mugged off by garage.
thanks
jamier27 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2012, 02:10 PM   #21
335DEE
Captain
 
335DEE's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

Posts: 675
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveleach View Post
I replaced all the vacuum hoses that are shown on the following page.
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...85&hg=11&fg=45
All p
even number 14?? That can't have been easy
335DEE is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      06-29-2013, 07:38 PM   #22
335DieselPower
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 335D stock engine
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: London

Posts: 317
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmylad View Post
Had this problem on mine but to be honest it was very very obvious something was wrong.

Had the new converters fitted at a cost of 650 at the main dealers & they told me it was a big job as the turbo's needed to come off hence the high price. Lyin B'stards.

It seems that most problems are relatively minor with 335d power issues but tracing them is another matter. Most of my vaccuum pipes are now changed & anyone with a 4 year old or say 80k car should think about getting these bits done sooner rather than later & then you can get it done in your own time & not end up panicking at the main dealers like I did which could have been avoided as with the rip off bill you will get.
I think I may have this problem!
335DieselPower is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST