E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > DVD CIC Video in motion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-08-2012, 10:15 AM   #1
michbmw
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
226
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328XI
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

DVD CIC Video in motion

I followed the DIY approach #1 in file "Exclusive DVD in Motion activation for CIC by ********* v2.pdf" and did not have success, i still get the message on the screen once i start driving.
I did some searching around and found there is a new document "Exclusive DVD in Motion activation for CIC by ********* v3.pdf" out there which has you edit the cic daten file, the very last step is " Code your CIC with the new changes , and Congratulation , your VIM is done "

i'm still kinda new to the coding process and have only edited specific modules and wrote the .MAN file back to the car. If someone can give me a rough process on how to write the CIC daten file back to the car using NCS expert i would really appreciate it, i don't want to screw anything up.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 11:07 AM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
You need to read up more as to get it working you also need to use NCS for Dummies.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 01:15 PM   #3
michbmw
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
226
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328XI
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
You need to read up more as to get it working you also need to use NCS for Dummies.
I already downloaded the latest version of NCS for dummies, i can get through all the steps in the pdf with the exception of the last one, where it says "• Code your CIC with the new changes , and Congratulation , your VIM is done "
i believe this is done with NCS Expert, i just don't know how......
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 03:36 PM   #4
michbmw
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
226
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328XI
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

ok i figured it out, i wrote the trace file back with ncs expert and it worked. all is now working. the reason why it didn't work the first time is because when i wrote back the nettodat.man file it was using CBD name: CIC.C0D instead of CIC.C08 (the file it listed originally below the jobname when i read the CIC)
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2012, 06:48 AM   #5
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
132
Rep
7,690
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by michbmw
ok i figured it out, i wrote the trace file back with ncs expert and it worked. all is now working. the reason why it didn't work the first time is because when i wrote back the nettodat.man file it was using CBD name: CIC.C0D instead of CIC.C08 (the file it listed originally below the jobname when i read the CIC)
When you say trace file, are you referring to .MAN file?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2012, 06:58 AM   #6
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
When you say trace file, are you referring to .MAN file?
I think what he is referring to is when you read a module the module that originally shows up changes after the actual module is being read by NCSexpert. He probably used that original file name instead of using the one that changes after the Nettodat data pops up.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      08-09-2012, 08:08 AM   #7
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
132
Rep
7,690
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
I think what he is referring to is when you read a module the module that originally shows up changes after the actual module is being read by NCSexpert. He probably used that original file name instead of using the one that changes after the Nettodat data pops up.

Got ya mate.

However I am still not able to understand one thing. How does this trick work?

With normal coding we read modules, change the line physically and write it back to car via .MAN file.

With this one, we read the module, change the file of that module, and after changing, my guess is:

We are writing tweaked file back to car.

Now if we have another car but with exactly same module and files, and if repeat the whole procedure, I guess we do not need to tweak that files again.
As it was saved last time.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2012, 08:18 AM   #8
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Correct. Change all the CIC files with the new "FF" value and then save back to spdaten files and after that all you do is change the scripts and code it back to car
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      08-09-2012, 12:30 PM   #9
michbmw
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
226
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328XI
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

i read my CIC module using ncs expert and noted the CIC.CXX file (could be different different depending on your car, mine used CIC.C08)i dissasembled the CIC.C08 file and edited it using NCS Dummy. i then reassembled it and overwrote the one in my daten/e89 folder. afterwards i used the trace editor function of ncs dummy and edited the Nettodat.trc file in my work folder. i then saved it as nettodat.man. using ncs expert i used the basic function "coapiCodeSgNettoData" to write the edit CIC.C08 and edited Nettodat.man file i made back to the car.

The V2 of the DIY says to leave the CBD name alone which mine was using CIC.C0D for some reason instead of CIC.C08 which it used when i first read my CIC, that is where it went wrong the first time around.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2012, 12:34 PM   #10
michbmw
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
226
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328XI
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Got ya mate.

However I am still not able to understand one thing. How does this trick work?

With normal coding we read modules, change the line physically and write it back to car via .MAN file.

With this one, we read the module, change the file of that module, and after changing, my guess is:

We are writing tweaked file back to car.

Now if we have another car but with exactly same module and files, and if repeat the whole procedure, I guess we do not need to tweak that files again.
As it was saved last time.
All the other coding i've done is the regular way using NCS Expert only, i.e read module, open trace file, edit and save it as a .MAN, write back the module....this was the first time i've had to do anything different.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2012, 03:22 PM   #11
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
132
Rep
7,690
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by michbmw View Post
i read my CIC module using ncs expert and noted the CIC.CXX file (could be different different depending on your car, mine used CIC.C08)i dissasembled the CIC.C08 file and edited it using NCS Dummy. i then reassembled it and overwrote the one in my daten/e89 folder. afterwards i used the trace editor function of ncs dummy and edited the Nettodat.trc file in my work folder. i then saved it as nettodat.man. using ncs expert i used the basic function "coapiCodeSgNettoData" to write the edit CIC.C08 and edited Nettodat.man file i made back to the car.

The V2 of the DIY says to leave the CBD name alone which mine was using CIC.C0D for some reason instead of CIC.C08 which it used when i first read my CIC, that is where it went wrong the first time around.
That explains it better.
Are we using NCS expert in expert mode (to write it to default) or any other profile in this case?

Also why did you change nettodat file and not PSW.....TRC?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2012, 08:39 AM   #12
michbmw
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
226
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328XI
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
That explains it better.
Are we using NCS expert in expert mode (to write it to default) or any other profile in this case?

Also why did you change nettodat file and not PSW.....TRC?
To be honest i'm not sure but i believe it is the only way to make this specific code to stick if the CIC is rebooted. I just followed the steps in both the V2 and V3 DIY pdf's and this is what it said to do. A more experienced coder should be able to explain why the nettodat file instead.

I used my default PSW FSW profile i created in expert mode to write it back but it was using different steps then what is typically used when writing the FSW_PSW.MAN file back.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2012, 03:14 AM   #13
Edmond357
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 330i E90
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

PM me
i did it on my car with data2txt
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2012, 05:06 PM   #14
Toyo
Major
Toyo's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
1,285
Posts

 
Drives: 335d Titanium Silver LCI E90
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fayetteville GA

iTrader: (0)

Can anyone do this for me? I am in the Atlanta GA area.
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2013, 01:51 PM   #15
lexmedia
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: E90 2005
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

I coded video in motion on my friend`s car using the tutorial, it worked great and now after a few hours the restriction popped up again. What could be the cause why it didn`t stick?
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2013, 04:16 AM   #16
xelion
Banned
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Maybe you used another computer or updated daten files to code CIC?
Or you just recode your module again?

I don't know which method you used to active DVD in motion.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST