E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Adaptive Headlight issue



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-22-2012, 07:40 PM   #1
mou11002
Private
United_States
0
Rep
62
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335xi (E90)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Salt Lake City - Utah

iTrader: (0)

Adaptive Headlight issue

Hey guys,

I have been involved in a wreck a while ago, and my passenger headlight cracked. On my way home, I got the "Adaptive Headlight!" warning on the dash. The passenger light would not auto-level or move whatsoever (the driver light still auto-level).

I took my car to a body shop and they replaced the whole passenger headlight for a new one. I still have the same problem (the passenger headlight doesn't auto-level or move). Does the passenger headlight itself need to be coded and programmed by the dealer?

I took my car to an indy shop and they said that the problem is actually the passenger light adaptive module. Would that explain my problem? If it does, do you guys think that it would be easier to buy an used module and avoid the $$ to code and program the module? (Assuming that I do not need to code the headlight itself)?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2012, 05:20 PM   #2
mou11002
Private
United_States
0
Rep
62
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335xi (E90)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Salt Lake City - Utah

iTrader: (0)

bump
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2012, 08:44 PM   #3
bumere90
Grozniy
United_States
51
Rep
2,601
Posts

 
Drives: Carless
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: FL

iTrader: (12)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=494479
__________________
-fatman
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2012, 09:18 PM   #4
mou11002
Private
United_States
0
Rep
62
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335xi (E90)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Salt Lake City - Utah

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Aziz. I did check that topic and my issue isn't the same. The question is whether I need to code the new headlight unit I bought - and would that explain why it doesn't auto-level and the warning on the dash? Or would it be the module?


Thanks for your help.
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2012, 08:33 AM   #5
trk06
Lieutenant
trk06's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
455
Posts

 
Drives: with no spare
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NC

iTrader: (1)

I had the same issue, but even though the headlight i replaced was damaged I did not get any msg on dash or Idrive. I replaced the shell but used the original ballasts and bulbs, did not have to program it.
this is what i had to deal with: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=724661
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2012, 08:36 AM   #6
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
GOTMH8N's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
1,022
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

iTrader: (2)

My car went from the body shop to the dealer bc they couldn't get the headlights to work. I'm kinda dealing with the same issue right now
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
adaptive, coding, headlamp, headlight, issue

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST