E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Replacing Instrument Cluster-Need Help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-04-2012, 09:01 PM   #1
bmwe91
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 07 e91 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Britain CT

iTrader: (0)

Replacing Instrument Cluster-Need Help

Ok so I searched a ton on google, and on the forums here but I couldn't find an accurate and definite answer.

Here's the deal, my cluster was showing -40 for the outside temperature. After a ton of research I found out that if the cluster is showing -40 it means that there is an open circuit. First off, I tried replacing the outside temp sensor which didn't work. I then went ahead and checked resistance and all that at the sensor plug, on the sensors two cables where the sensor and headlight wiring meet up, on the plug from the junction box that goes straight to the instrument cluster, and on the plug that connects to the instrument cluster. All wiring showed good connection. I think this is the instrument cluster, since there is a very big chance the cluster went bad because my vehicle once had problems where the vehicles electrical system got too much voltage from a jump and the CAS had to be replaced.

Now for the question, I bought a used instrument cluster off ebay. The cluster is off a 2008 328i with navigation. My car is a 2007 328xi without navigation. When I plug the new cluster in, will i still have my old mileage? Also, will there be any error codes? If there are any problems because of the navigation and the 2 wheel drive will it be possible to recode the cluster to non-navi and 4 wheel drive?

PLEASE HELP AND ALL HELP APPRECIATED
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2012, 09:41 PM   #2
Juiced46
Major
20
Rep
1,032
Posts

 
Drives: 03 Turbo Cobra, 2011 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wallingford CT

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwe91 View Post
Ok so I searched a ton on google, and on the forums here but I couldn't find an accurate and definite answer.

Here's the deal, my cluster was showing -40 for the outside temperature. After a ton of research I found out that if the cluster is showing -40 it means that there is an open circuit. First off, I tried replacing the outside temp sensor which didn't work. I then went ahead and checked resistance and all that at the sensor plug, on the sensors two cables where the sensor and headlight wiring meet up, on the plug from the junction box that goes straight to the instrument cluster, and on the plug that connects to the instrument cluster. All wiring showed good connection. I think this is the instrument cluster, since there is a very big chance the cluster went bad because my vehicle once had problems where the vehicles electrical system got too much voltage from a jump and the CAS had to be replaced.

Now for the question, I bought a used instrument cluster off ebay. The cluster is off a 2008 328i with navigation. My car is a 2007 328xi without navigation. When I plug the new cluster in, will i still have my old mileage? Also, will there be any error codes? If there are any problems because of the navigation and the 2 wheel drive will it be possible to recode the cluster to non-navi and 4 wheel drive?

PLEASE HELP AND ALL HELP APPRECIATED
The cluster will not work correctly. It would need to be coded to the car. The issue is because it is used, you will get a "manipulation dot" on the cluster meaning it is not the original cluster for that VIN. Let me check tomorrow but I do not think you can swap in a used one and make it work properly.
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2012, 09:49 PM   #3
bmwe91
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 07 e91 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Britain CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
The cluster will not work correctly. It would need to be coded to the car. The issue is because it is used, you will get a "manipulation dot" on the cluster meaning it is not the original cluster for that VIN. Let me check tomorrow but I do not think you can swap in a used one and make it work properly.
Do you know where I can get it coded besides the stealership?
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2012, 10:18 PM   #4
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Unless you flash the eeprom chip on the used cluster or replace it with a blank one, you wont be able to used that used cluster.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2012, 06:28 PM   #5
Juiced46
Major
20
Rep
1,032
Posts

 
Drives: 03 Turbo Cobra, 2011 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wallingford CT

iTrader: (3)

DESI... is right. The used cluster is definetely not going to work since the VIN is written to it and cannot be changed. You may be able to plug it in and have some features work but it cant happen.

I still think you have a wiring problem. Did you check the wire from the end of the wire @ the harness( where it connects to sensor) to the end where it connects to the cluster? You need to check both wires individually. Sounds like there is an open somewhere.
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2012, 03:38 PM   #6
adnanm3
Private
2
Rep
92
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NYC

iTrader: (2)

I need to replace the cluster in my 335i (cluster and miscellaneous interior parts were stolen). What is the best route for me to go? I found used clusters on ebay for ~150-200, but am unsure about coding. Local coders say they are unable to do it for me. What features will work without the proper coding? Will the car at least be drivable?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST