E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > single din nav/radio/blutooth....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-06-2012, 10:13 AM   #1
Crazylegs
Lieutenant
 
Crazylegs's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Black on Red 335I
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South Florida

Posts: 428
iTrader: (1)

single din nav/radio/blutooth....

so My friend has a 2006 e90 325i and she wants a single din nav/radio that pops out and up with the tuchscreen...

now my question is where can I find one that looks good and works well with her car? any suggestions greatly appreciated.
__________________
2008 Bsm E92 335i - FBO -E85--------Sold

2014 BSM 335i Msport - Stock
Crazylegs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-06-2012, 10:45 AM   #2
bgill76
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Paducah, KY

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=682366
bgill76 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-06-2012, 10:57 AM   #3
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,221
iTrader: (0)

Before you change a head unit in a BMW

Before you change a head unit in a BMW

You should be aware of all the side effects and problems.
Also most common stereo shops will mess up your car.
You need to know which of the three BMW car stereo's you starting
out with. If you have logic 7 you will loose the logic 7 amp because
of the way its hooked up. With Hi Fi it will be possible but still has
major side effects.

The problem list
error from the BMW SOS if you have it
BMW cd changer will no longer work if you have it
PDC will no longer work if you have it.
Why because these things are hooked up to or talk to the BMW
Head Unit.
If you take the car into BMW and they need to hook it up to there
Diagnostic computer it will not be able to repair the car until it see's
the original configuration of the car including the BMW radio.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1266451970

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

I'm not suggesting Dynavin its just it's well covered and the problems
are the same as with any aftermarket head unit.

Whatever you do don't dispose of the old head unit because you
may need it when you need repairs as the BMW diagnostic computer
will not be able to change values in the sub modules if you need
a repair without a BMW Head Unit installed in the car.

Also read
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323

Last edited by ctuna; 09-06-2012 at 06:00 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-06-2012, 11:50 AM   #4
bgill76
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Paducah, KY

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

What is PDC?
bgill76 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-06-2012, 12:56 PM   #5
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,221
iTrader: (0)

Parking Distance control

It beeps when you back up the frequency increases as you get closer.
Its and option not all cars come with.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-06-2012, 04:16 PM   #6
Crazylegs
Lieutenant
 
Crazylegs's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Black on Red 335I
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South Florida

Posts: 428
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Before you change a head unit in a BMW

You should be aware of all the side effects and problems.
Also most common stereo shops will mess up your car.
You need to know which of the three BMW car stereo's you starting
out with. If you have logic 7 you will loose the logic 7 amp because
of the way its hooked up. With Hi Fi it will be possible but still has
major side effects.

The problem list
error from the BMW SOS if you have it
BMW cd changer will no longer work if you have it
PDC will no longer work if you have it.
Why because these things are hooked up to or talk to the BMW
Head Unit.
If you take the car into BMW and they need to hook it up to there
Diagnostic computer it will not be able to repair the car until it see's
the original configuration of the car including the BMW radio.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1266451970

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

I'm not suggesting Dynavin its just it's well covered and the problems
are the same as with any aftermarket head unit.

Whatever you do don't dispose of the old head unit because you
may need it when you need repairs as the BMW diagnostic computer
will not be able to do change values in the sub modules if you need
a repair without a BMW Head Unit installed in the car.

Also read
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323
thank you sir very much apreciated
__________________
2008 Bsm E92 335i - FBO -E85--------Sold

2014 BSM 335i Msport - Stock
Crazylegs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-07-2012, 07:21 PM   #7
bgill76
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Paducah, KY

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

So if I have none of these then there is no problem?
bgill76 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-07-2012, 07:46 PM   #8
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,221
iTrader: (0)

You may not get error messages but

The BMW repair computer at the dealership will not be able to make
repairs to your car unless you remount the OEM Head Unit
or move it to the trunk or somewhere with it still hooked up to the can bus and with power running to it.
The guys with 335's had to do this a lot when they had HpFp problems . One guy showed up on this board with a 328 he had to have something replaced in his anitlock break system it needed calibrating from the BMW computer but since he bought the car used with and aftermarket head unit in it this could not be accomplished. I think the guys on the coding board have a way around this but BMW will tell you to return the car to stock condition so there repair computer won't choke.

Last edited by ctuna; 09-07-2012 at 07:54 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-07-2012, 08:05 PM   #9
bgill76
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Paducah, KY

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

So I won't have any problems if I keep the stock headunit plugged up?
bgill76 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-07-2012, 09:25 PM   #10
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,221
iTrader: (0)

Keeping it connected is the best option

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

But at least don't get rid of it you may need it at some point.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2012, 01:41 AM   #11
krnet2dboi
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 328i Base
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New YOrk

Posts: 913
iTrader: (2)

Whatever you do. DO NOT GET DYNAVIN OR EONON.
__________________
There are only two types of cars in the world; BMW and the Rest
krnet2dboi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST