E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > e90 Bluetooth retrofit coding help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-26-2012, 09:06 AM   #1
Pr0PheT
Registered
 
Drives: BMW E90 320D
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: JHB South Africa

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

e90 Bluetooth retrofit coding help

Hi everyone this is my first post, I was hoping someone here can help me.

I have a e90 320d and would like to retrofit bluetooth. I have gotten a MULF, BT antenna, mic etc. Everything is connected and I have made sure the MOST loop is correct.

My last step is the coding however I am having some issues, I wanted to use Progman but the software version on my car is to new so that wont work.

Can anyone help me or give me advice on how I can proceed, I heard NCSexpert could work but I don't have much experience with it, I don't really want to start coding random control units without and guidance and advice. From what i've gathered I just need to change the VO on the control units that matter so that the MULF will be "accepted" and read.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Pr0PheT is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-28-2012, 01:32 PM   #2
Pr0PheT
Registered
 
Drives: BMW E90 320D
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: JHB South Africa

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

I should have done some reading around first. I managed to come right by using NCS expert, thanks to the many great posts on here and on bimmerforums. Bluetooth working perfectly.
Pr0PheT is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2012, 02:06 AM   #3
gjimmy
New Member
 
Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

I am planning to do this retrofit soon. Curious what equipment you are using to code…hardware and software info would be much appreciated!
gjimmy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-04-2012, 05:00 AM   #4
Pr0PheT
Registered
 
Drives: BMW E90 320D
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: JHB South Africa

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Hi I am currently writing a retrofit guide on my local BMW forum website ...

http://www.bmwfanatics.co.za/showthread.php?tid=35618

you can have a look there, I will also do an update on the coding part during this week.
Pr0PheT is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2012, 03:41 PM   #5
gjimmy
New Member
 
Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Were you ever able to add the coding section to the DIY writeup?

Thanks!
gjimmy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 03:24 AM   #6
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,531
iTrader: (0)

Seconded on asking for some pointers re:coding. My understanding is that it's as simple as adding $664 to the VO list (US cars, $644 international, or so I've read). Is that true? Almost seems too easy.
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 08:01 AM   #7
cypis007
Private
 
Drives: E91 318d Touring
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Slovakia

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

Just add $644 in VO to CAS and NFRM (or whatever your car shows in NCSExpert) and recode 2RAD module to default settings (which now will include BT) with Expertprofile.
If this will fail with your USB-OBD cable you will need somebody with OPS diagnostic interface (orange one).
That's what worked with by non-iDrive Proffesional LCI car.
cypis007 is offline   Slovakia
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 07:40 PM   #8
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,531
iTrader: (0)

How does one actually load the modifications to fa.trc into the car? If I just toss $664 at the end, do I simply follow the same procedure as to load in fsw_psw.trc?
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2012, 06:13 AM   #9
cypis007
Private
 
Drives: E91 318d Touring
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Slovakia

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

Don't change any file. All you need is NCSExpert.
Look in google for 'USING NCS TO CHANGE VO'.
cypis007 is offline   Slovakia
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2012, 08:43 PM   #10
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,531
iTrader: (0)

So I got that far, but the headunit doesn't seem to be noticing the change. I haven't been able to read or write the 2URAD ECU either - errors out every time. I have up to date daten. Anyone who's successfully done this mod, how did you get your radio to play ball?
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 12:36 PM   #11
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

^You will need a different interface than the K+DAN cable to access the radio on the MOST bus.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 01:05 PM   #12
marius76
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington, DC

Posts: 453
iTrader: (20)

Bluetooth will not work unless MULF will be programmed with ICOM or OPS (it has to store your car VIN #). If you will be able to change VIN # in MULF unit over DCan cable that is great, but so far it didnt work for me. Rest is the simple coding.
marius76 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 01:06 PM   #13
marius76
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington, DC

Posts: 453
iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
So I got that far, but the headunit doesn't seem to be noticing the change. I haven't been able to read or write the 2URAD ECU either - errors out every time. I have up to date daten. Anyone who's successfully done this mod, how did you get your radio to play ball?
I was able to access and code 2URAD unit over Dcan cable.
marius76 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 01:07 PM   #14
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,531
iTrader: (0)

I can't seem to access either the 2MULF or 2URAD, so coding those is out. But other people seem to have had luck getting bluetooth working given the same constraints, so I'm not sure what the disconnect is.

Edit: Marius: how? Did you just read the ECU like normal in NCS? Also, what year 335d do you have?
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 01:26 PM   #15
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,531
iTrader: (0)

Prophet and cypis, did you modify any codes outside of VO and the radio itself? Or is that ALL you did, then the car slept for a while and came back?
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 01:36 PM   #16
marius76
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington, DC

Posts: 453
iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
I can't seem to access either the 2MULF or 2URAD, so coding those is out. But other people seem to have had luck getting bluetooth working given the same constraints, so I'm not sure what the disconnect is.

Edit: Marius: how? Did you just read the ECU like normal in NCS? Also, what year 335d do you have?
You will not be able to read in NCS 2MULF over DCan cable. You need ICOM or OPS.
As I wrote - the key is MULF with your VIN #. There is a big chance that you dont need to code it. Just add $644 to VO and code again 2URAD.

My 335d was produced in 2009 but I was able to read 2URAD over Dcan cable in other 3 series.
marius76 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 04:51 PM   #17
cypis007
Private
 
Drives: E91 318d Touring
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Slovakia

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

As far as I've read, you can read&program 2URAD with DCan cable in cars with iDrive, but I don't have personal experience with it.

My car is non-iDrive with Professional radio and OPS was only way that worked.

Steps I did:
0. Car was factory equipped with 6FL option which means module with USB+BT)
1. Added $644 in CAS and NFRM (instrucion: google 'USING NCS TO CHANGE VO')
2. Recode 2URAD to settings according VO with OPS head (instruction: google 'coding any ECU with the car VO factory default settings using NCS expertmode profile ')
3. That's ALL.

No messing with VIN.
cypis007 is offline   Slovakia
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 04:53 PM   #18
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,531
iTrader: (0)

Ahh, so maybe the point is that because my car doesn't have iDrive, THAT'S why the normal CAN cable won't work. That'd suck. So is that to say you shelled out for an OPS cable, or did you find someone else to do it for you?
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2012, 05:33 AM   #19
cypis007
Private
 
Drives: E91 318d Touring
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Slovakia

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

I went to small company which install BMW factory equipment in used cars, they charged me around $20 for 2 min OPS head (OPS is not another kind of cable, it's another box between your laptop and OBD interface in car) job.
cypis007 is offline   Slovakia
0
Reply With Quote
      10-13-2012, 09:23 AM   #20
marius76
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington, DC

Posts: 453
iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwhittemore View Post
Ahh, so maybe the point is that because my car doesn't have iDrive, THAT'S why the normal CAN cable won't work. That'd suck. So is that to say you shelled out for an OPS cable, or did you find someone else to do it for you?
Cars with Idrive (SA606 - Navigation Business, or SA 609 Navigation Professional) doesnt have 2URAD (SA 663 Radio Professional), that is obvious!!!

You need to play with SP Daten
marius76 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-13-2012, 08:42 PM   #21
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,268
iTrader: (0)

I just did this for a friend with iDrive (CIC version). On there you just add the VO entry to CAS and NFRM and then recode the CIC module. The trick is that he also had Combox, and initially after just coding CIC I got the Telephone option in the iDrive menu, but selecting it caused it to get stuck at "Loading" forever with the spinning circle (or whatever it said). So after playing a bit more, I realized in Combox cars you also need to recode the MEDIA module. After that, all was well!
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 01:36 AM   #22
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,531
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cypis007 View Post
I went to small company which install BMW factory equipment in used cars, they charged me around $20 for 2 min OPS head (OPS is not another kind of cable, it's another box between your laptop and OBD interface in car) job.
Do you have any more info on what the OPS IS/does/what OPS even stands for? Are you claiming it's the black box sold with this cable?

http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/...&product_id=16

EDIT: Oh, no, that's just a gender adapter. You are, indeed, talking about this:

http://www.auto-tool-shop.com/bmw-ops-p-29.html
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST