E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > how to tell if JB4 installed on pre-owned e92



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-26-2012, 11:54 AM   #1
fl0wmastr
Private First Class
 
fl0wmastr's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i Coupe w M Sport Kit
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
08 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to fl0wmastr Send a message via Yahoo to fl0wmastr Send a message via Skype™ to fl0wmastr
how to tell if JB4 installed on pre-owned e92

how can you tell if JB4 was installed on a pre-owned e92 335i?

my 335i seems to be faster than other stock 335s ive driven. i dont want to buy JB4 if it was already upgraded. pictures of where to look and what to look for would be appreciated. technically the previous owner could have reprogrammed the ecu and then resold the jb4 unit or do they have to have it still on for it to work?

thanks
brian
fl0wmastr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 11:59 AM   #2
E90Company
Major General
 
E90Company's Avatar
 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: FL

Posts: 6,145
iTrader: (2)

Press channel down and volume down at the same time on your steering wheel. If you have it, it will go into command mode with an orange screen.
E90Company is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 12:00 PM   #3
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

It has to still be there if it is a piggy back, unless he had the car flashed with another tue a la Dinan.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 12:22 PM   #4
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
JB4 isn't the only tuning option, just FYI.
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 12:26 PM   #5
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
It has to still be there if it is a piggy back, unless he had the car flashed with another tue a la Dinan.
True, but you'd think a seller would advertise that it has a Dinan tune. That being said, is there anyway to find out? Obviously piggybacks have command centers in the dashboard, and you wouldn't leave COBB installed unless you want a $700 paperweight...
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 12:42 PM   #6
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 16,710
iTrader: (31)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
www.burgertuning.com/support

Install instructions available here and you can take a look.

As others have said there are other tunes you can have on your vehicle without knowing.

You can have an array of flashes, Giac,Renntech,Dinan, ESS, ETC (You wont be able to see these but you could contact dinan to see if your VIN matches).

You could have a Vishnu PROcede, SSTT, or even JB+ too (which can be found under the hood). The latter 2 would be plugged into the TMAP sensor right before the throttle body, the PROcede would be installed just like Jb3 and Jb4.

Last but not least you might have a JB3, in which all those steering wheel function the above posters mentioned wouldnt work.

I would pop the hood and the ecu cover and take a look.
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 12:49 PM   #7
Beemw335
Colonel
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: My car is my home

Posts: 2,016
iTrader: (2)

It litteraly takes 2-3 minutes to openthe ecu and you can check.
If not, look for a jb+ on te tmap sensor( look up jb+ install)
And if not than the car ks either stock, or has a flah tune( which really sucks because its a pain to find out what flash is on there)
Beemw335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 01:27 PM   #8
n54door
Captain
 
n54door's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' 135i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: DFW

Posts: 618
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemw335 View Post
It litteraly takes 2-3 minutes to openthe ecu and you can check.
If not, look for a jb+ on te tmap sensor( look up jb+ install)
And if not than the car ks either stock, or has a flah tune( which really sucks because its a pain to find out what flash is on there)
no, it 'literally' does not.

OP, either dash controls or read up on how to access the ECU under the hood. It may take about 15-20 minutes to get access to the ECU for a first-timer.
n54door is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 03:05 PM   #9
Beemw335
Colonel
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: My car is my home

Posts: 2,016
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n54door View Post


no, it 'literally' does not.

OP, either dash controls or read up on how to access the ECU under the hood. It may take about 15-20 minutes to get access to the ECU for a first-timer.
It takes you 15 to 20 minutes to take off 8 screws?
Beemw335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 04:24 PM   #10
vladi627
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: TX

Posts: 127
iTrader: (2)

Always takes longer the first time you do something on your car.
vladi627 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 04:42 PM   #11
Dmacc
Colonel
 
Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nor Cal

Posts: 2,627
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemw335 View Post
It takes you 15 to 20 minutes to take off 8 screws?
I only have 5 now
__________________

thanks to MGallop
Dmacc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 05:31 PM   #12
rdeterman
First Lieutenant
 
rdeterman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Coupe 6mt
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Iowa

Posts: 358
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n54door View Post


no, it 'literally' does not.

OP, either dash controls or read up on how to access the ECU under the hood. It may take about 15-20 minutes to get access to the ECU for a first-timer.
I could easily get to the ecu in 3 minutes
__________________
JB4 G5 ISO W/BMS FLASH, FBO, Walbro LPFP, Spec S2+ SMFW
rdeterman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 09:29 PM   #13
Laguna Seca Blue
Captain
 
Laguna Seca Blue's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California

Posts: 817
iTrader: (0)

Haha, i love how everyone is bragging about how fast they can get to their ECU box. Yes, it's very simple after you've done it a couple of times, but it could take a first timer an hour or so.

Just take your time and be patient man, it's not a race! Here's the video I used to install my PROcede, it's very clear and if you follow the instructions carefully, you shouldn't have any issues.
__________________
E92 335i 6MT | Balloon White | Black Dakota Leather
PROcede Rev3 V5 | AE Quad Exhaust | BMW Performance Short Shift Kit | Gunmetal 19" M3 GTS Wheels | BF Goodrich g-Force T/A KDW 2 | AST 4100 Coilovers | Swift Springs F:280 R:560 | ER Charge Pipe | Tial Blue BOV | VRSF 3" Downpipes | VRSF 7" Intercooler

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=782212
Laguna Seca Blue is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 09:29 PM   #14
fl0wmastr
Private First Class
 
fl0wmastr's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i Coupe w M Sport Kit
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
08 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to fl0wmastr Send a message via Yahoo to fl0wmastr Send a message via Skype™ to fl0wmastr
sweet! thanks for all the info!
fl0wmastr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2012, 11:52 AM   #15
n54door
Captain
 
n54door's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' 135i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: DFW

Posts: 618
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemw335 View Post
It takes you 15 to 20 minutes to take off 8 screws?
The first time it took me about 15 minutes to get it off without rushing and getting too overzealous.

After that.. about 5 minutes tops.
n54door is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2012, 10:53 PM   #16
joe628
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 135i N54
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

check for a jb+
joe628 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2012, 12:12 PM   #17
Duke
Lieutenant
 
Duke's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Hills next to CHINO

Posts: 501
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmacc View Post
I only have 5 now


I know what you mean lol
Duke is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST