E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > how to tell if JB4 installed on pre-owned e92



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-26-2012, 11:54 AM   #1
fl0wmastr
Private First Class
fl0wmastr's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
133
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335i Coupe w M Sport Kit
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
08 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to fl0wmastr Send a message via Yahoo to fl0wmastr Send a message via Skype™ to fl0wmastr
how to tell if JB4 installed on pre-owned e92

how can you tell if JB4 was installed on a pre-owned e92 335i?

my 335i seems to be faster than other stock 335s ive driven. i dont want to buy JB4 if it was already upgraded. pictures of where to look and what to look for would be appreciated. technically the previous owner could have reprogrammed the ecu and then resold the jb4 unit or do they have to have it still on for it to work?

thanks
brian
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 11:59 AM   #2
E90Company
Major General
E90Company's Avatar
No_Country
72
Rep
6,137
Posts

 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (2)

Press channel down and volume down at the same time on your steering wheel. If you have it, it will go into command mode with an orange screen.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 12:00 PM   #3
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
United_States
81
Rep
4,448
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (0)

It has to still be there if it is a piggy back, unless he had the car flashed with another tue a la Dinan.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 12:22 PM   #4
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
45
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
JB4 isn't the only tuning option, just FYI.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 12:26 PM   #5
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
45
Rep
2,860
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
It has to still be there if it is a piggy back, unless he had the car flashed with another tue a la Dinan.
True, but you'd think a seller would advertise that it has a Dinan tune. That being said, is there anyway to find out? Obviously piggybacks have command centers in the dashboard, and you wouldn't leave COBB installed unless you want a $700 paperweight...
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 12:42 PM   #6
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
242
Rep
18,296
Posts


 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
www.burgertuning.com/support

Install instructions available here and you can take a look.

As others have said there are other tunes you can have on your vehicle without knowing.

You can have an array of flashes, Giac,Renntech,Dinan, ESS, ETC (You wont be able to see these but you could contact dinan to see if your VIN matches).

You could have a Vishnu PROcede, SSTT, or even JB+ too (which can be found under the hood). The latter 2 would be plugged into the TMAP sensor right before the throttle body, the PROcede would be installed just like Jb3 and Jb4.

Last but not least you might have a JB3, in which all those steering wheel function the above posters mentioned wouldnt work.

I would pop the hood and the ecu cover and take a look.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 12:49 PM   #7
Beemw335
Colonel
29
Rep
2,016
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: My car is my home

iTrader: (2)

It litteraly takes 2-3 minutes to openthe ecu and you can check.
If not, look for a jb+ on te tmap sensor( look up jb+ install)
And if not than the car ks either stock, or has a flah tune( which really sucks because its a pain to find out what flash is on there)
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 01:27 PM   #8
n54door
Captain
n54door's Avatar
10
Rep
618
Posts

 
Drives: 08' 135i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: DFW

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemw335 View Post
It litteraly takes 2-3 minutes to openthe ecu and you can check.
If not, look for a jb+ on te tmap sensor( look up jb+ install)
And if not than the car ks either stock, or has a flah tune( which really sucks because its a pain to find out what flash is on there)
no, it 'literally' does not.

OP, either dash controls or read up on how to access the ECU under the hood. It may take about 15-20 minutes to get access to the ECU for a first-timer.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 03:05 PM   #9
Beemw335
Colonel
29
Rep
2,016
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: My car is my home

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n54door View Post


no, it 'literally' does not.

OP, either dash controls or read up on how to access the ECU under the hood. It may take about 15-20 minutes to get access to the ECU for a first-timer.
It takes you 15 to 20 minutes to take off 8 screws?
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 04:24 PM   #10
vladi627
Private First Class
2
Rep
129
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: TX

iTrader: (2)

Always takes longer the first time you do something on your car.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 04:42 PM   #11
Dmacc
Colonel
57
Rep
2,650
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nor Cal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemw335 View Post
It takes you 15 to 20 minutes to take off 8 screws?
I only have 5 now
__________________

thanks to MGallop
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 05:31 PM   #12
rdeterman
First Lieutenant
rdeterman's Avatar
7
Rep
377
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Coupe 6mt
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Iowa

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n54door View Post


no, it 'literally' does not.

OP, either dash controls or read up on how to access the ECU under the hood. It may take about 15-20 minutes to get access to the ECU for a first-timer.
I could easily get to the ecu in 3 minutes
__________________
JB4 G5 ISO W/BMS FLASH, FBO, Walbro LPFP, Spec S2+ SMFW
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 09:29 PM   #13
Laguna Seca Blue
Captain
Laguna Seca Blue's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
817
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Haha, i love how everyone is bragging about how fast they can get to their ECU box. Yes, it's very simple after you've done it a couple of times, but it could take a first timer an hour or so.

Just take your time and be patient man, it's not a race! Here's the video I used to install my PROcede, it's very clear and if you follow the instructions carefully, you shouldn't have any issues.
__________________
E92 335i 6MT | Balloon White | Black Dakota Leather
PROcede Rev3 V5 | AE Quad Exhaust | BMW Performance Short Shift Kit | Gunmetal 19" M3 GTS Wheels | BF Goodrich g-Force T/A KDW 2 | AST 4100 Coilovers | Swift Springs F:280 R:560 | ER Charge Pipe | Tial Blue BOV | VRSF 3" Downpipes | VRSF 7" Intercooler

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=782212
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 09:29 PM   #14
fl0wmastr
Private First Class
fl0wmastr's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
133
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335i Coupe w M Sport Kit
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
08 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to fl0wmastr Send a message via Yahoo to fl0wmastr Send a message via Skype™ to fl0wmastr
sweet! thanks for all the info!
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2012, 11:52 AM   #15
n54door
Captain
n54door's Avatar
10
Rep
618
Posts

 
Drives: 08' 135i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: DFW

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemw335 View Post
It takes you 15 to 20 minutes to take off 8 screws?
The first time it took me about 15 minutes to get it off without rushing and getting too overzealous.

After that.. about 5 minutes tops.
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2012, 10:53 PM   #16
joe628
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
37
Posts

 
Drives: 135i N54
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

check for a jb+
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2012, 12:12 PM   #17
Duke
Lieutenant
Duke's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
506
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Hills next to CHINO

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmacc View Post
I only have 5 now


I know what you mean lol
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST