E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Help with INPA



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-30-2012, 01:10 PM   #1
RBB
First Lieutenant
RBB's Avatar
5
Rep
344
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NOVA

iTrader: (10)

So I'm just trying to get started coding on my 2008 E92 M3. Bought the $99 cable from one stop electronics and downloaded the ncsexpert package from the DIY. Everything is unzipped to C: drive and I've installed the obd driver as well as set up my enviroment variables and port settings per the DIY. Cable is plugged into OBD2 port and I start INPA. The attached image is all I get.

The top two dots in the left corner flash nonstop and I get nothing on Battery or Ignition. The green Running bar in the lower right continuously stays up. I tried to select my chassis and select the airbag module anyways and I get an interruption in communication error.

So what am I doing wrong here? I've followed the DIY to the T. I am running 64-bit Windows 7 so I'm running the software through the virtual machine and a windows XP emulator if that information helps.

EDIT: Just tried to go ahead with NCSexpert and same thing there. I just get a connection interrupted error. Driver issue?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by RBB; 09-30-2012 at 02:58 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2012, 08:21 PM   #2
e93driva
Captain
United_States
16
Rep
698
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93 335is
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (2)

I've never ran virtual machine so I couldn't tell you if that's your problem.. But I experienced the same thing with my INPA (flashing dots on the left). I realized those mean absolutely nothing so don't worry about those.

Try setting your latency to 1 and make sure your port is set to COM1.

Also make sure you ran the obd.exe file or whatever in the hardware folder (I think)

Good luck brotha
__________________


Instagram: gyounes9
Das it mane
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2012, 08:23 PM   #3
Tuesday
Frequent Flyer
Tuesday's Avatar
9
Rep
414
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: .

iTrader: (7)

I often run NCS through a virtual machine as well - not the most stable on my computer.

Did you make sure the USB port is set to COM1 and configured to be accessible by XP?
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2012, 04:12 AM   #4
Sensible_
Lieutenant
16
Rep
583
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

What is the exact error you get?

Things you could try:

- Run the DCAN utility?
- Make sure your cable is installed on COM1.
- Make sure you have correct odb.ini settings.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2012, 01:04 PM   #5
RBB
First Lieutenant
RBB's Avatar
5
Rep
344
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NOVA

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaBravoCharlie View Post
What is the exact error you get?

Things you could try:

- Run the DCAN utility?
- Make sure your cable is installed on COM1.
- Make sure you have correct odb.ini settings.
I got it figured out guys, it was OBD.ini. Ended up having to create a OBD.INI file and inserting it into my Windows folder. It was not in the software package I downloaded....didn't even exist in the appropriate EDIABAS folder. I also updated my daten files while I was at it. Successfully added the alarm to my vehicle order and coded all the associated options. Also coded amber delete, door unlocks when ignition off, windows up on rain, windows up with fob, 6MT shifting suggestion....probably all the most common stuff. Everything works flawlessly, not bad for the first time. I appreciate the replies.

Last edited by RBB; 10-01-2012 at 01:34 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2012, 06:55 PM   #6
WickedB
Second Lieutenant
WickedB's Avatar
2
Rep
275
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i Convertible
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Detroit, MI

iTrader: (0)

How do you update daten files?
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2012, 07:00 PM   #7
RBB
First Lieutenant
RBB's Avatar
5
Rep
344
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NOVA

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WickedB View Post
How do you update daten files?
Do a search for the latest daten files. There are a few threads out there with a link for the download. Then follow these instructions. I used the copy paste method....didn't trust the laden.bat files to get it done correctly.

Quote:
In each “sp-daten-Exx” folder in the subfolder “daten” find a file “laden.bat” … execute this .bat file and your ncs will be updated automatically with the new data for the corresponding model.

Or u can do the following copy-paste procedure:

Target ---------------------------Source .(SP-Daten-Exx directory from ISTA-P)

\NCSEXPER\SGDAT\ -------- .ipo files
\NCSEXPER\DATEN\ -------- coding data (daten) for models
\EDIABAS\Ecu\ -------------- .prg files......

Last edited by RBB; 10-02-2012 at 08:54 AM.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST