E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-07-2012, 06:44 PM   #6271
shaginwagon13
Charted Accountant
shaginwagon13's Avatar
Canada
14
Rep
916
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post
It will not work. Just buy cheap D-can from ebay. And don't mess with Cobb cable.
Ok thanks for the help.
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 02:54 PM   #6272
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
1,679
Posts

Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post
Does anybody know how to properly measure time 0-60 using Cobb ap I've tried several times so when I'm accelerating hard from zero stop it shows nothing just symbols "-" when I'm accelerate slowly it shows the real time.

Any advice?
Well, if you don't completely stop before you go, it doesn't work. Once you hit performance/ 0-60 then it will say stop the vehicle before moving. Or if you are already stopped you should be fine. And concourse pull through 60 and let the COBB read your results, no need to stop the COBB.

But I am sure that's not the problem? Have you updated the firmware recently? Was told the latest update a few days ago was a glitch. If so go back to the previous version and try again

Also, I am not sure, but maybe metric to standard could be an issue?
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 04:41 PM   #6273
RimasRS
Colonel
RimasRS's Avatar
37
Rep
2,406
Posts

Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
Well, if you don't completely stop before you go, it doesn't work. Once you hit performance/ 0-60 then it will say stop the vehicle before moving. Or if you are already stopped you should be fine. And concourse pull through 60 and let the COBB read your results, no need to stop the COBB.

But I am sure that's not the problem? Have you updated the firmware recently? Was told the latest update a few days ago was a glitch. If so go back to the previous version and try again

Also, I am not sure, but maybe metric to standard could be an issue?
Thanks for your response...

Well I tried different firmware already. And yes I was stopped at 0. The only time when it worked was when I reached the speed in normal driving not going WOT.
Did you tried that feature did it worked? What is your ROM?
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 04:55 PM   #6274
marv85
Colonel
marv85's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
2,590
Posts

Drives: '07 335i MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post
Thanks for your response...

Well I tried different firmware already. And yes I was stopped at 0. The only time when it worked was when I reached the speed in normal driving not going WOT.
Did you tried that feature did it worked? What is your ROM?
Stupid question, but are you sure you got to 60. Sometimes people stop when they read 60 on the speedometer. The speedometer is not very accurate and reads high. trying going to higher speed and see if that helps.
__________________
SOLD --'07 E90 335i, PTF COBB E50, HFS4, ER CP, ETS 7", AA DP, Vishnu Exhaust, DCI, ACT, Nitto Nt555

SOLD '10 E92 335i M, 6MT COBB v3, ER IC, ER CP, VRSF DP, Fuel-it st2, Mfactory LSD
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 05:03 PM   #6275
RimasRS
Colonel
RimasRS's Avatar
37
Rep
2,406
Posts

Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marv85 View Post
Stupid question, but are you sure you got to 60. Sometimes people stop when they read 60 on the speedometer. The speedometer is not very accurate and reads high. trying going to higher speed and see if that helps.
Yeah actually first few pulls I thought that this can cause the problem but later I've tried going much higher than 60 but still I get not numbers but symbols like this "-" where have to be seconds.

But did you tried and did this work to you.
I never saw that somebody would post video or photos of 0-60 time. Maybe it doesn't work at all?
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 05:12 PM   #6276
marv85
Colonel
marv85's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
2,590
Posts

Drives: '07 335i MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post
Yeah actually first few pulls I thought that this can cause the problem but later I've tried going much higher than 60 but still I get not numbers but symbols like this "-" where have to be seconds.

But did you tried and did this work to you.
I never saw that somebody would post video or photos of 0-60 time. Maybe it doesn't work at all?
I tried this a long time ago (may be a year and half or 2 years ago). It worked fine at the time. I used it to compare stage0 and stage1.

A lot happened since, did you try asking COBB about this?

I'll try out if I get the chance today as well
__________________
SOLD --'07 E90 335i, PTF COBB E50, HFS4, ER CP, ETS 7", AA DP, Vishnu Exhaust, DCI, ACT, Nitto Nt555

SOLD '10 E92 335i M, 6MT COBB v3, ER IC, ER CP, VRSF DP, Fuel-it st2, Mfactory LSD
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 05:38 PM   #6277
Zeph
Major
United_States
16
Rep
1,410
Posts

Drives: 2008 E92 335i 6MT SGM CR/BD
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southeast USA

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to Zeph Send a message via Yahoo to Zeph
Well, been "gone" for a while but just did some more upgrades to the car recently and I just now downloaded all of the 402 maps (to include E30 and race). I have 100 octane pump available but I know race says 100+ and I would have a hard time actually getting a full tank of just 100 octane. I do think there is an E85 pump around here somewhere too. It looks like the E30 map might more power than the 100 octane race map? It would definitely be cheaper to blend E85 with 93 octane but I didn't know our fuel system would be able to handle it? I am FBO and completely catless. I guess, should I run the E30 map and just try to run about 1/2 E85 with 1/2 93 or should I get 100 octane and add some E85 to it and run the race map?

I know I could get a custom tune later, but I want to try something today I may go dyno this week as well to see what kinds of improvements everything makes. My new wheels are about 10 lbs. lighter than stock (and still 18's). My last dyno on aggressive + FMIC (302) was 387 rwhp and 423 rwtq on the stock wheels.

Zeph
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 06:59 PM   #6278
marv85
Colonel
marv85's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
2,590
Posts

Drives: '07 335i MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post
Well, been "gone" for a while but just did some more upgrades to the car recently and I just now downloaded all of the 402 maps (to include E30 and race). I have 100 octane pump available but I know race says 100+ and I would have a hard time actually getting a full tank of just 100 octane. I do think there is an E85 pump around here somewhere too. It looks like the E30 map might more power than the 100 octane race map? It would definitely be cheaper to blend E85 with 93 octane but I didn't know our fuel system would be able to handle it? I am FBO and completely catless. I guess, should I run the E30 map and just try to run about 1/2 E85 with 1/2 93 or should I get 100 octane and add some E85 to it and run the race map?

I know I could get a custom tune later, but I want to try something today I may go dyno this week as well to see what kinds of improvements everything makes. My new wheels are about 10 lbs. lighter than stock (and still 18's). My last dyno on aggressive + FMIC (302) was 387 rwhp and 423 rwtq on the stock wheels.

Zeph
in terms of power, the race and E30 maps should be the same.

I find it easier to blend since I have E85 available and is cheaper then race gas.

You need 30% ethanol content, so do the math and fill your tank accordingly. Make sure not to have less then 30%... Log once you load the map to make sure all is good.
__________________
SOLD --'07 E90 335i, PTF COBB E50, HFS4, ER CP, ETS 7", AA DP, Vishnu Exhaust, DCI, ACT, Nitto Nt555

SOLD '10 E92 335i M, 6MT COBB v3, ER IC, ER CP, VRSF DP, Fuel-it st2, Mfactory LSD
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 07:21 PM   #6279
unic66
Private First Class
Armenia
2
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley

iTrader: (1)

Too many used Cobb APs being sold

I was wondering as to why we have so many people selling their used Cobb APs?I have nothing against Cobb and most reviews I've read are positive about their tunes!
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 08:07 PM   #6280
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
1,679
Posts

Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post
Yeah actually first few pulls I thought that this can cause the problem but later I've tried going much higher than 60 but still I get not numbers but symbols like this "-" where have to be seconds.

But did you tried and did this work to you.
I never saw that somebody would post video or photos of 0-60 time. Maybe it doesn't work at all?
I did it not too long ago. I'll try and remember tonight and give it a try.

ROM I8AOS

Also, I can't data log with "Boost" as the on-screen option. LOL.. All others work just fine.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 08:17 PM   #6281
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
1,679
Posts

Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by marv85 View Post
in terms of power, the race and E30 maps should be the same.

I find it easier to blend since I have E85 available and is cheaper then race gas.

You need 30% ethanol content, so do the math and fill your tank accordingly. Make sure not to have less then 30%... Log once you load the map to make sure all is good.
+1, though i have never tried 100+ or E30 MAPs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post
Well, been "gone" for a while but just did some more upgrades to the car recently and I just now downloaded all of the 402 maps (to include E30 and race). I have 100 octane pump available but I know race says 100+ and I would have a hard time actually getting a full tank of just 100 octane. I do think there is an E85 pump around here somewhere too. It looks like the E30 map might more power than the 100 octane race map? It would definitely be cheaper to blend E85 with 93 octane but I didn't know our fuel system would be able to handle it? I am FBO and completely catless. I guess, should I run the E30 map and just try to run about 1/2 E85 with 1/2 93 or should I get 100 octane and add some E85 to it and run the race map?

I know I could get a custom tune later, but I want to try something today I may go dyno this week as well to see what kinds of improvements everything makes. My new wheels are about 10 lbs. lighter than stock (and still 18's). My last dyno on aggressive + FMIC (302) was 387 rwhp and 423 rwtq on the stock wheels.

Zeph
Yeah, you should love the E30 MAPs. Without an ethanol sensor, it is tough knowing exactly what the % is. Based upon E85 being 85% Ethanol and 91/93 USA Octance being 10% Ethanol, you should put about 4.5 gallons of E85 pump and 11.5 gallons of 93 or 91 (full tank). Use this calculator

http://www.intercepteft.com/calc.html

Remember, USA octane is RON+MON/2 = USA Octane, thus E85 is more like 96 USA Octane and of course 91 or 93 is 91 or 93 USA Octane.

Make sure you log some good 3rd gear pulls and see how your car responds to the E30 MAPs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unic66 View Post
I was wondering as to why we have so many people selling their used Cobb APs?I have nothing against Cobb and most reviews I've read are positive about their tunes!
Not sure about this. where are you seeing this?
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 08:27 PM   #6282
COBB Tuning
Major
COBB Tuning's Avatar
170
Rep
1,048
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
I did it not too long ago. I'll try and remember tonight and give it a try.

ROM I8AOS

Also, I can't data log with "Boost" as the on-screen option. LOL.. All others work just fine.
@VNeBLOB42 I believe this was an issue with having too many monitors selected for datalogging. Try reverting to the default monitors or removing some monitors from your list. If that doesn't take care of it, give our techs a call and we'll get you sorted.

-Josh
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #6283
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
1,679
Posts

Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
@VNeBLOB42 I believe this was an issue with having too many monitors selected for datalogging. Try reverting to the default monitors or removing some monitors from your list. If that doesn't take care of it, give our techs a call and we'll get you sorted.

-Josh
thanks Josh,

Yes, sorry for the incomplete statement. This issue is only when the data logs are full, when only using Boost as the on screen option. As for getting past that, is there plans to fix? I believe Chris (krim) on the COBB Forums was going to get back to me but i haven't heard anything. Its really no big deal, I use CAT's now.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 08:48 PM   #6284
COBB Tuning
Major
COBB Tuning's Avatar
170
Rep
1,048
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
thanks Josh,

Yes, sorry for the incomplete statement. This issue is only when the data logs are full, when only using Boost as the on screen option. As for getting past that, is there plans to fix? I believe Chris (krim) on the COBB Forums was going to get back to me but i haven't heard anything. Its really no big deal, I use CAT's now.
No worries. I believe it was passed off to the software guys, but I'll check tomorrow. Krim has been travelling for shows and doing some work at one of our other locations, so he's been staying busy lol. I'll check up on it.

-Josh
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 08:56 PM   #6285
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
1,679
Posts

Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
No worries. I believe it was passed off to the software guys, but I'll check tomorrow. Krim has been travelling for shows and doing some work at one of our other locations, so he's been staying busy lol. I'll check up on it.

-Josh
10-4

thanks!
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 11:40 PM   #6286
unic66
Private First Class
Armenia
2
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley

iTrader: (1)

Used Cobb Aps

Quote:
Originally Posted by unic66 View Post
I was wondering as to why we have so many people selling their used Cobb APs?I have nothing against Cobb and most reviews I've read are positive about their tunes!
Any feedback on this?
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 11:44 PM   #6287
skinrock
Agent Smith
skinrock's Avatar
51
Rep
2,860
Posts

Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by unic66 View Post
Any feedback on this?
Doesn't seem like it's particularly higher than normal...people buy and sell tunes all the time. I personally switched to Procede because I'm getting the Vishnu/FFTEC single turbo installed. That doesn't mean I didn't like my COBB, I just wanted a HP monster.
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 11:51 PM   #6288
marv85
Colonel
marv85's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
2,590
Posts

Drives: '07 335i MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by unic66 View Post
Any feedback on this?
As skinrock said, people are always selling and buying. Some might be selling their car and moving on, others changing tunes etc...

In all cases, the amounts you see getting sold used is nothing compared to the amount being bought new. Its' perfectly normal
__________________
SOLD --'07 E90 335i, PTF COBB E50, HFS4, ER CP, ETS 7", AA DP, Vishnu Exhaust, DCI, ACT, Nitto Nt555

SOLD '10 E92 335i M, 6MT COBB v3, ER IC, ER CP, VRSF DP, Fuel-it st2, Mfactory LSD
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2012, 12:00 AM   #6289
unic66
Private First Class
Armenia
2
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley

iTrader: (1)

Thanks,guys:So as far as tunes,they are rock solid as far as power gains?
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2012, 12:07 AM   #6290
marv85
Colonel
marv85's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
2,590
Posts

Drives: '07 335i MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by unic66 View Post
Thanks,guys:So as far as tunes,they are rock solid as far as power gains?
OTS will give you good power. If you are full bolt on and have access to E85, you can blend with 93 to achieve 30% ethanol and run the race map. That one is rock solid

if you want more you can go for a custom tune which will tailor the tune specifically to your car. This is what I've done. Car feels great. Will hit the dyno soon and post a review.
__________________
SOLD --'07 E90 335i, PTF COBB E50, HFS4, ER CP, ETS 7", AA DP, Vishnu Exhaust, DCI, ACT, Nitto Nt555

SOLD '10 E92 335i M, 6MT COBB v3, ER IC, ER CP, VRSF DP, Fuel-it st2, Mfactory LSD
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2012, 12:15 AM   #6291
unic66
Private First Class
Armenia
2
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley

iTrader: (1)

I want to try an OTS tune with my stock set up and add Meth and see how much power I can make using a race gas tune or if they have meth only tune,I will use that.
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2012, 12:18 AM   #6292
3-Serious
Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: AP e92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New york

iTrader: (1)

anything new planned from cobb? NLS perhaps??
__________________
Cobb JR Tune, HFS-4, DCI, AMS Intercooler, Vishnu CP, Forge DV's, AR DP's, RPI exhaust, AR OCC, BMW STS, Spec stage 3+ clutch, CDV delete, H&R Coil overs, Quaife LSD, DefiV Lock down kit, WOTbox.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:53 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST