E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > VIDEO UPDATE...to my electrical malfunction



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-01-2012, 11:34 PM   #1
Craigito
Captain
 
Craigito's Avatar
 
Drives: 07' E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal

Posts: 728
iTrader: (0)

VIDEO UPDATE...to my electrical malfunction

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Z_uIGT4IBI

I will be talking to my mechanic soon I suspect
__________________
My Original Car 335I Coupe / Space / Black Dakota / Gray Poplar / ZSP / ZPP / Step / Paddles / Nav / Hot Seats / IPOD/ Xpel HL & Fogs/ 15% F1 Tint

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=226259 (Stolen Car Thread ) http://craigsbmw-eurodelivery.blogspot.com (ED Trip)
Craigito is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 05:26 AM   #2
pepsih
Captain
 
pepsih's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Currently NY

Posts: 689
iTrader: (2)

maybe your battery is dying.
pepsih is offline   France
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 09:22 AM   #3
vapore0n
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: MA

Posts: 395
iTrader: (0)

Maybe you need gas
vapore0n is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 10:44 AM   #4
shadowcoder
Captain
 
shadowcoder's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Jose, CA / Orland Park, IL

Posts: 898
iTrader: (1)

WTF
shadowcoder is offline   Greece
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 11:38 AM   #5
straightcashhomie
Lieutenant
 
straightcashhomie's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: home

Posts: 545
iTrader: (1)

damn! I never run my gas that low.
straightcashhomie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 12:01 PM   #6
WickedB
Second Lieutenant
 
WickedB's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Convertible
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Detroit, MI

Posts: 259
iTrader: (0)

LOL, anyone have any useful info? (except pepsih). I agree I'd check battery and connections first. Are you hitting bumps when it happens? Kinda looks like it..
WickedB is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 11:43 AM   #7
straightcashhomie
Lieutenant
 
straightcashhomie's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: home

Posts: 545
iTrader: (1)

could it be a DME failure?
straightcashhomie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 12:03 PM   #8
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

That looks bad, most likely one of the modules went bad and is killing the whole CAN network. It won't be the battery.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 12:11 PM   #9
phillip@bmpdesign
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tyler, TX

Posts: 177
iTrader: (0)

To properly diagnose, more information would be needed, I would get the codes that are produced checked by a proper diagnostics tool. Every system, including the electrical system, is checked and records what happens to it and those recordings will show on a proper diagnostics (what lost power).

I don't have audio at the moment so I couldn't tell, but does it primarily affect just the instrument cluster? Does it affect the audio system too? Those two are on the same control module system. Does it seem like it wants to kill the engine as well?

I have a 2008 335i and after about 50k miles I started getting random power loss that would mysteriously come back later. Sometimes it would even happen when driving, there hasn't been a recall issued yet (for some reason) but they traced the problem to the spade connector that connects the battery to the back of the fuse box which then feeds power to all the other electrical systems. I actually had a connector custom machined so that there wouldn't be the possibility of breaking connection again after replacing the fusebox and connector twice.

That would be a total power loss, no lights, no power to the motor, etc. It could be the battery cables, but we replaced the battery too, even though it checked out fine, and inspected the cables and they all checked out fine but you may want to have the resistance in yours checked as well to see there is a fault in the cable itself which is incredibly rare. The connector at the back of the fusebox is usually the culprit

If yours is not a total power loss, it could just be a faulty or loose control module, but I would get the codes checked.
__________________
Phillip Wilmeth
-=BMP Design=-
1-800-648-7278
Like us on facebook!
phillip@bmpdesign is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 03:42 PM   #10
Enza
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '08 e92TT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ONTARIO

Posts: 526
iTrader: (12)

damn. looks scary.
Enza is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 07:58 PM   #11
TheTal0n
Lieutenant
 
TheTal0n's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Utah

Posts: 518
iTrader: (0)

The dealer told me it could be a lose/rotted out/rusted/etc DME wire and that is why it comes randomly.
TheTal0n is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 09:23 PM   #12
mxchris727
Private
 
Drives: E90 with 3 pedals
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wilton, CT

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

Definitely looks like a CAN-bus communication error. Most likely a pinched or loose wire at the DME or in the back of the dashboard. DIS would tell you exactly what the problem is.
__________________
I have a workstation set up with DIS, TIS, SSS, INPA, NCS Expert, WinKFP, Tool32 with an K+D CAN interface; PM me if you want to stop by and code your car. ISTA/D + /P with an iCOMM interface finally here!
mxchris727 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 09:33 AM   #13
vapore0n
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: MA

Posts: 395
iTrader: (0)

Reminds me of when I had a wire ground out on the chasis. Hitting bumps would cause the car to do the exact same thing. Different car though.

Vibrations made cable rub with metal right next to it. Over time this cause it to eventually ground and cause a fuse wire to blow and leave me on the road.

I say get it checked out soon before you end up out in the road too.
vapore0n is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2012, 10:25 PM   #14
Craigito
Captain
 
Craigito's Avatar
 
Drives: 07' E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal

Posts: 728
iTrader: (0)

Update Again

So over the past week my issues with the elec warnings (see the video) have gone away but on sat morning I got a new one.

IDRIVE FAILURE.

started car and there was no radio and no I drive functionality. no iPod No bluetooth. Nothing. The SOS symbol was shown in yellow with a slash across it meaning not operational. Car Started and drove perfectly normal No problems. A few miles down the road I see the I drive home screen fade away then the BMW LOGO fade in and out a few times then things started working perfectly normal.

Any more takes from you folks?
__________________
My Original Car 335I Coupe / Space / Black Dakota / Gray Poplar / ZSP / ZPP / Step / Paddles / Nav / Hot Seats / IPOD/ Xpel HL & Fogs/ 15% F1 Tint

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=226259 (Stolen Car Thread ) http://craigsbmw-eurodelivery.blogspot.com (ED Trip)
Craigito is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2012, 05:50 AM   #15
straightcashhomie
Lieutenant
 
straightcashhomie's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: home

Posts: 545
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigito View Post
So over the past week my issues with the elec warnings (see the video) have gone away but on sat morning I got a new one.

IDRIVE FAILURE.

started car and there was no radio and no I drive functionality. no iPod No bluetooth. Nothing. The SOS symbol was shown in yellow with a slash across it meaning not operational. Car Started and drove perfectly normal No problems. A few miles down the road I see the I drive home screen fade away then the BMW LOGO fade in and out a few times then things started working perfectly normal.

Any more takes from you folks?
I really think this is the DME, could be wrong.
straightcashhomie is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2012, 08:42 AM   #16
jmaak
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 370z
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago

Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)

as silly as it sounds check your battery terminals. When i installed a boost gauge in my audi, i had a similar issue. It turned out to be the positive terminal not making good contact with the battery.
jmaak is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2012, 01:18 PM   #17
sammy_0559
Lieutenant Colonel
 
sammy_0559's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 2008 Montego Metallic 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FortWorth, Texas

Posts: 1,944
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 E93 335i  [1.83]
damn :/ sorry to hear.. if i were you id take the DME out visually inspect the board. put it back in the car might fix it. just unplugging and re installing..

good luck

keep us posted.
sammy_0559 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2012, 01:45 PM   #18
timmahh
ghey
 
timmahh's Avatar
 
Drives: Viertürigen Fahrzeugs
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,111
iTrader: (0)

OP.. What have you actually done to resolve the issue thus far? Have you had any codes read yet? I don't mean to sound like an ass, but you keep asking for help and posting additional problems, but have yet to give us any info to go off of, besides a video that it does have an issue of sorts. Check the connections, etc. That's the first thing to do; and it's free.
__________________

The females confuse me.
timmahh is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 09:58 PM   #19
Craigito
Captain
 
Craigito's Avatar
 
Drives: 07' E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal

Posts: 728
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmahh
OP.. What have you actually done to resolve the issue thus far? Have you had any codes read yet? I don't mean to sound like an ass, but you keep asking for help and posting additional problems, but have yet to give us any info to go off of, besides a video that it does have an issue of sorts. Check the connections, etc. That's the first thing to do; and it's free.
I checked the battery connections. They look ok. Checked the obd scanner again. nothing. Havent had any issues so far since sunday. Hmmm.
__________________
My Original Car 335I Coupe / Space / Black Dakota / Gray Poplar / ZSP / ZPP / Step / Paddles / Nav / Hot Seats / IPOD/ Xpel HL & Fogs/ 15% F1 Tint

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=226259 (Stolen Car Thread ) http://craigsbmw-eurodelivery.blogspot.com (ED Trip)
Craigito is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 09:59 PM   #20
Craigito
Captain
 
Craigito's Avatar
 
Drives: 07' E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal

Posts: 728
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy_0559
damn :/ sorry to hear.. if i were you id take the DME out visually inspect the board. put it back in the car might fix it. just unplugging and re installing..

good luck

keep us posted.
Will try that this weekend. Thanks
__________________
My Original Car 335I Coupe / Space / Black Dakota / Gray Poplar / ZSP / ZPP / Step / Paddles / Nav / Hot Seats / IPOD/ Xpel HL & Fogs/ 15% F1 Tint

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=226259 (Stolen Car Thread ) http://craigsbmw-eurodelivery.blogspot.com (ED Trip)
Craigito is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 11:31 PM   #21
TheTal0n
Lieutenant
 
TheTal0n's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Utah

Posts: 518
iTrader: (0)

I had some pretty odd things like this happening(35 codes when i scanned my car), I went into the dealer, got a OEM battery. The mechanic told me it could also be my DME wires (frayed,exposed). I opened up the DME, and good lord indeed, wires were exposed. Some of the rubber coating cracked open and the copper wire was just touching what ever it could on like 4-5 wires.


All I did was wrap electrical tape around it for now. some were really hard to get to.I was afraid they would brake.

no problems anymore
TheTal0n is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 11:45 PM   #22
E90PAT
SOFLO CODING
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoFla

Posts: 3,230
iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to E90PAT
Did you buy the car used?

If memory serves me correct, the dot in between your odometer and AB trip is an indication of the cluster chip been tampered. Get in contact with previous owner and start asking questions
__________________

Coding services in Broward/Miami/Gainesville and surrounding areas! Ask me!
E90PAT is offline   Slovenia
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST