E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > How to connect Amp after Hi-Fi Coding???



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-02-2012, 06:31 AM   #1
Alistair330
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 330d M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK - Coventry

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

How to connect Amp after Hi-Fi Coding???

Hi all,
Please can someone answer the follow.......

If I have my Professional HU coded to Hi-Fi (Base System, coded to Hi-Fi), how would I connect it to my Alpine F640 Amp? Do you use the HU speaker wires (as it has no RCA out) and if so, do I need to use a LOC to connect them to the Alpine Amp's RCA inputs? The Amp has speaker level inputs but they are high-level and I'm assuming after the Hi-Fi coding the HU speaker wires will be low level?

Although this seems like a simple question, I haven't been able to find the answer, even after hours of searching.

The only hint I found was to use the "Technic's harness", but as I have already installed all the wiring myself (as per the Alpine Upgrade) I would rather continue that way.

Any answers greatly appreciated!!
__________________
BMW 330d M Sport, Spider Performance Tuning Box (est 280bhp), Body Colour grill (Mustache only), Carbon alloy center badges, Alpine and MB Quart Custom Audio.
Alistair330 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 06:39 AM   #2
chedixon
First Lieutenant
 
chedixon's Avatar
 
Drives: E93 320d Msport
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nottingham

Posts: 307
iTrader: (1)

Hi Alastair, all the wires should be in the kit? I didnt have to cut anything, just add the link cables to the tweeter which was all done with the prefitted clips.
If I remember the return connections to the amp came from the sub connections although it was a while ago?
Here a link to the official fitting instructions;
http://f20.1addicts.com/forums/attac...7&d=1336731547
Hope that helps in some way?
Cheers
Che
__________________
E93 320d Msport - sadly gone to the salvage yard.
chedixon is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 07:56 AM   #3
Alistair330
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 330d M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK - Coventry

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

Sorry,
I think I have confused you slightly.
I don't have the official 'Alpine Upgrade Kit' which is supplied by dealers etc...

I have an aftermarket 4 channel Alpine Amp (F640) which I have installed myself using the same logic/Instructions as supplied with the official Alpine Upgrade. For Example, I have made my own wiring loom but connected it at the same points as the Alpine upgrade kit.

What I want to know is; if you use an aftermarket Amp as I have done, how do you connect it to the HU after it has been coded to Hi-Fi??

I understand the Amp in the Alpine upgrade Kit has a switch on the bottom to set the Input from Low level to high level, depending on the Headunit outputs but an aftermaret amp such as mine doesnt have this feature.
__________________
BMW 330d M Sport, Spider Performance Tuning Box (est 280bhp), Body Colour grill (Mustache only), Carbon alloy center badges, Alpine and MB Quart Custom Audio.
Alistair330 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 07:57 AM   #4
Alistair330
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 330d M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK - Coventry

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

P.s. Thanks for the reply Chedixon!!
Good to see someone else local !! (I work in Derby)
__________________
BMW 330d M Sport, Spider Performance Tuning Box (est 280bhp), Body Colour grill (Mustache only), Carbon alloy center badges, Alpine and MB Quart Custom Audio.
Alistair330 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 04:41 PM   #5
parapaul
Colonel
 
parapaul's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330d M Sport
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stoke on Trent

Posts: 2,212
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Bump for this thread - I want to know the same thing.

Once the HU is recoded to HiFi the outputs are low level 5V outputs. Do I then need to make them into RCAs to connect to the amp, and if so, will any old RCA adaptor work?
__________________
Just how many Yorkshire sheep can you fit inside one exhaust?
parapaul is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 05:02 PM   #6
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,071
iTrader: (37)

If your amp can take differential input, then you don't need anything.

Here is the list of amps which can accept balanced differential input.
__________________
<img src=http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii559/makkan00/New-6_zpscbec0353.jpg border=0 alt= />
RETROFITS: LCI Conversion - LCI Xenons - LCI Tail lights - Memory heated seats
- Folding mirrors with auto-dip - CIC DAB Plus - Combox - 6FL - 6NF - 6NR - BMW
live & Internet MODS: Eibach Sportsline - AluFelgens CS7 - MS-8 - SWS-8 - Gladen
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 06:46 PM   #7
parapaul
Colonel
 
parapaul's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330d M Sport
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stoke on Trent

Posts: 2,212
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
OK. I'm waiting for a spec sheet for the amp but let's assume it doesn't accept a balanced input. I can't use the speaker level connections on the amp because it's now a low-level signal, so I need to somehow make the bare wire ends into RCA plugs.

Will something as simple as the Autoleads PC1-601 work? Does the ground lead make them unbalanced?
__________________
Just how many Yorkshire sheep can you fit inside one exhaust?
parapaul is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2012, 06:12 AM   #8
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D SE
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,122
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by parapaul
Bump for this thread - I want to know the same thing.

Once the HU is recoded to HiFi the outputs are low level 5V outputs. Do I then need to make them into RCAs to connect to the amp, and if so, will any old RCA adaptor work?
As Makkan says you need to make sure your amp takes balanced differential inputs. Then just add RCA connectors to your speaker out from your HU and connect to the RCA in of the amp.
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2012, 07:17 AM   #9
parapaul
Colonel
 
parapaul's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330d M Sport
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stoke on Trent

Posts: 2,212
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Cross link to a thread I just started: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=754920

The list of amps that accept balanced inputs is pretty small. I'm interested in a way (or ways) to connect the balanced signal from the HiFi HU to unbalanced inputs of any old amplifier.
__________________
Just how many Yorkshire sheep can you fit inside one exhaust?
parapaul is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST