E90Post
 


Horizon LED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Engine reduce speed



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-20-2011, 09:56 PM   #1
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Engine reduce speed

Hi, So here is my problem i was driving today and all of a sudden my engine reduced power light comes on and i loose some power. But i still have about 15min of drive home so i try to rush home and 5 min into it i got no power i could only go 30km so after about 40 min i get home and i use the bt to check for code and i get this. I have no idea what needs to be changed?
Any help would be great
e90 2008 3281

2A3F:

Error will not cause a warning light
Error is currently present
Test conditions have not been completed
Signal or value below threshold

Freeze Frame Information
Event 1Odometer 33672kms 20922miles
voltage Kl. 87 14.52 V
status motor control 2.00 0-n
deviation Lambda probe from Lambda model value monitoring 0.00 -


2A77:

Error will cause a warning light
Error is currently present
Test conditions have not been completed
Signal or value below threshold

Freeze Frame Information
Event 1Odometer 33672kms 20922miles
deviation Lambda probe from Lambda model value monitoring 0.00 -
status motor control 2.00 0-n
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2011, 10:17 PM   #2
MiamiPerformanceInc
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
129
Posts

 
Drives: '11 328i, '02 530i(turbo)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Looks like an O2 sensor problem. Doesn't specify which bank it is though. If your wiring checked out, looks like you'll need an O2 sensor. But with out the full details, I wouldn't be able to give you a straight answer.
__________________
BMW Master Tech/Diesel & M Specialist '11 328i M Sport(daily) '02 530i (PT6262 turbo/E85fuel) 550hp @ 14psi
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2011, 10:32 PM   #3
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

would it be the probe or the monitor sensor? I never new because of an o2 sensor the car would go into limp mode.
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2011, 10:41 PM   #4
MiamiPerformanceInc
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
129
Posts

 
Drives: '11 328i, '02 530i(turbo)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles.soori View Post
would it be the probe or the monitor sensor? I never new because of an o2 sensor the car would go into limp mode.
It honestly shouldn't. I have rarely seen an N52 go into limp mode over an O2 sensor. The sensor is a probe/monitor. Does it specify which bank it happened on? What tool are you using to diagnose?
__________________
BMW Master Tech/Diesel & M Specialist '11 328i M Sport(daily) '02 530i (PT6262 turbo/E85fuel) 550hp @ 14psi
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2011, 10:50 PM   #5
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

I'm using the bavarian technic pro...i think it said bank 1..i'm going to look for loose connection tomorrow and see..but before i used the bt tool i used a reg obdII reader and that one said P1056 vvt supply voltage control and P105b Internal control module vvt error voltage too low, i cleared them and the error code didn't come back. I'm only left with 2A3F and 2A77
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2011, 10:58 PM   #6
MiamiPerformanceInc
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
129
Posts

 
Drives: '11 328i, '02 530i(turbo)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles.soori View Post
I'm using the bavarian technic pro...i think it said bank 1..i'm going to look for loose connection tomorrow and see..but before i used the bt tool i used a reg obdII reader and that one said P1056 vvt supply voltage control and P105b Internal control module vvt error voltage too low, i cleared them and the error code didn't come back. I'm only left with 2A3F and 2A77
If everything is fine(e.g. no corrosion on the pins of the connector, chaffed or cut wiring) I would replace the O2 sensor. If you had the means of checking the wiring from the 02 sensor connector to the DME for reistance and shorts to power or ground, I would do so for good measure. But I highly from experience believe you need an O2 sensor. Seen this many times.

Also see if you can get a replacement Bosch sensor from a local auto parts store. Its much cheaper and the SAME exact sensor without the BMW stamp on the connector.

Let me know the outcome. Best of luck to you. I hope this has helped.
__________________
BMW Master Tech/Diesel & M Specialist '11 328i M Sport(daily) '02 530i (PT6262 turbo/E85fuel) 550hp @ 14psi
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2011, 11:02 PM   #7
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...10&hg=18&fg=10

Which one would be bad out of 4?
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2011, 11:06 PM   #8
MiamiPerformanceInc
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
129
Posts

 
Drives: '11 328i, '02 530i(turbo)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

I would need to know if it's bank1 pre or post O2 sensor. More than likely it's #1.
__________________
BMW Master Tech/Diesel & M Specialist '11 328i M Sport(daily) '02 530i (PT6262 turbo/E85fuel) 550hp @ 14psi
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2011, 11:11 PM   #9
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Thanks for the quick reply i'll check for loose connection and keep you posed
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2011, 12:49 PM   #10
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

found the problem...the pulg that connects on the battery to power the computer was loose.
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2011, 06:49 PM   #11
MiamiPerformanceInc
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
129
Posts

 
Drives: '11 328i, '02 530i(turbo)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles.soori View Post
found the problem...the pulg that connects on the battery to power the computer was loose.
Good job, no codes came back?
__________________
BMW Master Tech/Diesel & M Specialist '11 328i M Sport(daily) '02 530i (PT6262 turbo/E85fuel) 550hp @ 14psi
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2011, 01:07 AM   #12
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

no code came back everything is fine now
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2012, 11:21 PM   #13
haroon
Private First Class
United_States
2
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 e92 m3
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia pa

iTrader: (1)

dam it i have the same issue try everything i can think of
check all fuses change the batt
check for a short still nothing plz any help would be great
2009 bmw 328xi
same codes
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2012, 12:57 PM   #14
mike281
Private
0
Rep
51
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i coupe
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Boston, MA

iTrader: (0)

Had the same problem. One of the fuses of the fuse block in the luggage compartment on top of the battery was blown. It's the fuse for the wire that goes to the 40A fuse in the ECM compartment. Had to replace the fuse block on top of the battery.
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2012, 04:48 PM   #15
mike281
Private
0
Rep
51
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i coupe
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Boston, MA

iTrader: (0)

Had the same problem. One of the fuses of the fuse block in the luggage compartment on top of the battery was blown. It's the fuse for the wire that goes to the 40A fuse in the ECM compartment. Had to replace the fuse block on top of the battery.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2013, 12:32 PM   #16
jfkipp
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
5
Posts

 
Drives: 07 328XI E90
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hanover, NH

iTrader: (0)

Limp mode 2A77 2A3F Valvetronic actuator error?

Hi, Just to clarify are you saying you replaced the entire red battery distribution box that slides over the actual battery in the trunk? I have the same issue but it seems more intermittent and if I reset the ECU the car seems to start and run fine though I'm afraid I'll be stranded back in Limp mode. Also I thought the Valvetronic actuators were only in the M3's Not the 328xi...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST