E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Base stereo to HiFi recoding success?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-03-2012, 04:26 AM   #1
avx
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 2006 330i, stock
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

Base stereo to HiFi recoding success?

Hi guys,

I have successfully coded a few options as Digital Speed, and Tv in motion, on my 2006 CCC (no navi), but with TV option, so I am grateful to all of you, for that

Now, I am trying to recode the audio from stereo to hifi. I added $676 to the CAS, but I haven't seen any change in the rest of the modules (CAPPL, CAUDI, CGATE).

I also tried to replace e90_stereo with e90_hifi in various places, and the coding has been always successful.

My question is: how can I tell that I really did it, as I am unable to notice any sound difference (I still have the base system installed, no changes, yet).

Thanks for everyone's contribution to this forum.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2012, 04:49 AM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,322
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

I have seen in other threads here

I have seen in other threads here on the same topic . That if you
press some buttons on the head unit it displays in text what its programmed to. It might have been in the stereo section in one of taibanl posts.
If you were successful the volume should have dropped a lot as they are now
low voltage flat signals.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2012, 05:28 AM   #3
avx
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 2006 330i, stock
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

Thanks...

so I guess I should burn a cd with a constant signal and play it, then code/recode and try to detect a change in the volume?

How about using a voltmeter, can someone guide me on that? Where and how to meter?
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2012, 07:59 AM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,187
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by avx View Post
Hi guys,

I have successfully coded a few options as Digital Speed, and Tv in motion, on my 2006 CCC (no navi), but with TV option, so I am grateful to all of you, for that

Now, I am trying to recode the audio from stereo to hifi. I added $676 to the CAS, but I haven't seen any change in the rest of the modules (CAPPL, CAUDI, CGATE).

I also tried to replace e90_stereo with e90_hifi in various places, and the coding has been always successful.

My question is: how can I tell that I really did it, as I am unable to notice any sound difference (I still have the base system installed, no changes, yet).

Thanks for everyone's contribution to this forum.
The coding is simply not doing anything then... for the Stereo to HiFi coding to work then the outputs will change from high level to low level, and from the rear signal from high passed to full range.

You must notice the difference as it will be very obvious, especially the volume level of the front speakers/woofers being in parallel and with a low level signal driving them.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2012, 09:14 AM   #5
avx
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 2006 330i, stock
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

Thanks,

so I removed the $676 from VO from CAS, I recoded without the .MAN, so basically I restored it to stereo.

Then I re-added $676 to CAS and FRM (with FW_WRITE), and then recoded the CAPPL/CTUNE/CGATE/CAUDI with default.

The result was that the CAPPL/CAUDI now have _hifi all over the place, instead of _stereo.

So I am missing something... Maybe another option paired with $676?
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2012, 10:48 AM   #6
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,322
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Look at entry 59 in this thread .

Look at entry 59 in this thread .

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...=recode&page=3

Also the thread is pretty informative about this subject.

corrected error entry 59 not 39
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2012, 08:11 AM   #7
avx
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 2006 330i, stock
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

quiet gongs

Today I noticed that my gongs (seatbelt, door open) are very quiet, which makes me hope the coding was successful.

So I am going to measure the AC voltage either to rear speakers or to underseats, see what I get...

Just thinking out loud...
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2012, 03:16 AM   #8
avx
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 2006 330i, stock
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

Success

After I measured both rear speakers and the underseats, I was happy to notice the maximum voltage was 5.0v.

So it was a successful recode
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2012, 05:37 AM   #9
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
126
Rep
7,593
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by avx View Post
After I measured both rear speakers and the underseats, I was happy to notice the maximum voltage was 5.0v.

So it was a successful recode
Did you use voltmeter, put it in to DC mode, connected it to wires speakers and volume to max to see the results?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2012, 07:56 AM   #10
avx
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 2006 330i, stock
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

Yes,

just that I measured in AC mode.
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2012, 12:40 PM   #11
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
126
Rep
7,593
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by avx
just that I measured in AC mode.
Sorry my bad. Surely AC.
Did you manage to check rears?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2012, 06:09 AM   #12
bobe91
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

 
Drives: e91
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

I am trying to do the same, added 676 to VO, FA write the CAS and FA write the NFRM (don't have the FRM).
But trying to write an empty man file to the CAUDI gives me an error job not found I believe.

I have a 12-2007 e91 with Navi pro.

any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2012, 08:40 AM   #13
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
126
Rep
7,593
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobe91 View Post
Hi,

I am trying to do the same, added 676 to VO, FA write the CAS and FA write the NFRM (don't have the FRM).
But trying to write an empty man file to the CAUDI gives me an error job not found I believe.

I have a 12-2007 e91 with Navi pro.

any ideas?
discussed many time that empty file writing is not the best way.
Write those modules with expert mode, so they revert back to what they should be with new VO.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2012, 10:33 AM   #14
bobe91
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

 
Drives: e91
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

Thanks for the answer, how about writing in expert mode.
Just read ecu and then sg codieren?
Without modifying the fsw_psw file or saving as man file first?

I found out the car needed to be shutdown for some minutes.
So after 10 min. I went in the car and found out gong, pdc but also sound pressure was much lower.
So programming to hifi worked but all was low level now, also the rear speakers I believe.

It will be nice to have rear in high level (high pass mode if possible) and have the front speakers flat high level outputs because my amp takes this signal at the moment but have the gong and perhaps pdc send low level signal because now it is to loud.

Any idea howto do this.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2012, 11:46 PM   #15
e90sexion
E 9 0 S E X I O N
e90sexion's Avatar
Canada
81
Rep
6,365
Posts

 
Drives: M3, Z4MC
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver/WA

iTrader: (16)

what is tv option? care to share?
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2012, 02:36 PM   #16
avx
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 2006 330i, stock
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

is having a CCC without navi, but with a TV Module installed, which allows you to ... watch analogue local TV stations, on the screen. Can also be coded to run during motion.

Is there anything specific you want to know about?
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2012, 02:43 PM   #17
avx
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 2006 330i, stock
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucharest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobe91 View Post
Hi,

Thanks for the answer, how about writing in expert mode.
Just read ecu and then sg codieren?
Without modifying the fsw_psw file or saving as man file first?

I found out the car needed to be shutdown for some minutes.
So after 10 min. I went in the car and found out gong, pdc but also sound pressure was much lower.
So programming to hifi worked but all was low level now, also the rear speakers I believe.

It will be nice to have rear in high level (high pass mode if possible) and have the front speakers flat high level outputs because my amp takes this signal at the moment but have the gong and perhaps pdc send low level signal because now it is to loud.

Any idea howto do this.
So, basically you want high level signals without EQ. I don't know how you could do that without a processor, but I am not sure this is what you really want.

I don't have a lot of experience (more of a noob, myself), but I would search more for how other people managed to keep a low gong.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2012, 10:11 AM   #18
seanblee
Captain
seanblee's Avatar
United Kingdom
10
Rep
753
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i SE
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Enfield, UK

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to seanblee
I coded my 2007 E92 with CCC and the Alpine retrofit for hifi by adding $676 to FA in CAS and FRM then coding CHOST, CAPPL, CGATE, CAUDI and CTUNE in Expert Mode. You definitely get a boost to the midrange and I didn't run into any of the problems experienced by others regarding PDC and Bluetooth volume. However, three things to note:
  • If your kit was installed correctly, you'll need to change the switch under the amp from 2 to 1 to get the bass back after coding.
  • Again, if your kit was installed correctly (and you have the old kit with the two tweeter outputs on the crossovers), you'll need to take the door casings off and move the tweeters from the Pro branch to the Business branch to get rid of the 6dB attenuation.
  • There's no benefit to opening up the amp and moving the jumpers from HI to LO level input unless you've seperately amped the rears, as you'll completely lose them if you do - they're just too quiet.

Hope that's of use to someone!
__________________
2007 E92 335i SE auto | Quaife LSD | Birds B3 ARBs | Evolve Stage 1 | Morel Hybrid 402 | Rainbow IL-W8F | JL 10W3v3 | RF 3sixty.3 | Alpine PDX-V9

Appreciate 0
      07-31-2012, 05:46 PM   #19
jyrbba
Private
3
Rep
62
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335 -07
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanblee View Post
I coded my 2007 E92 with CCC and the Alpine retrofit for hifi by adding $676 to FA in CAS and FRM then coding CHOST, CAPPL, CGATE, CAUDI and CTUNE in Expert Mode. You definitely get a boost to the midrange and I didn't run into any of the problems experienced by others regarding PDC and Bluetooth volume. However, three things to note:
  • If your kit was installed correctly, you'll need to change the switch under the amp from 2 to 1 to get the bass back after coding.
  • Again, if your kit was installed correctly (and you have the old kit with the two tweeter outputs on the crossovers), you'll need to take the door casings off and move the tweeters from the Pro branch to the Business branch to get rid of the 6dB attenuation.
  • There's no benefit to opening up the amp and moving the jumpers from HI to LO level input unless you've seperately amped the rears, as you'll completely lose them if you do - they're just too quiet.

Hope that's of use to someone!
Do you notice the 6db attenuation? Cause I have a very similar case to yours but seems like my tweeters make even too much sound already. I got CIC retrofitted and then after that Alpine retrofit kit, and it sounded like crap. Then just added $676 to cas and recoded CIC and thats it, nothing else needed. I couldnt get $676 stick to NFRM or FRM, don't know why. It just swiped it out rightaway. Anyways it changed it to stereo and I set the amp to position 1 and it sounds pretty good to me. Should I still change the tweeters to the business hookup?

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 10:46 AM   #20
seanblee
Captain
seanblee's Avatar
United Kingdom
10
Rep
753
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i SE
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Enfield, UK

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to seanblee
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyrbba View Post
Do you notice the 6db attenuation? Cause I have a very similar case to yours but seems like my tweeters make even too much sound already. I got CIC retrofitted and then after that Alpine retrofit kit, and it sounded like crap. Then just added $676 to cas and recoded CIC and thats it, nothing else needed. I couldnt get $676 stick to NFRM or FRM, don't know why. It just swiped it out rightaway. Anyways it changed it to stereo and I set the amp to position 1 and it sounds pretty good to me. Should I still change the tweeters to the business hookup?

Thanks.
I used to find the system very 'bright' before the coding - lots of treble and bass but not much midrange. After the coding, I found it much more balanced but it did definitely lose a little from the top end, which was resolved by switching the tweeters. I guess it could probably be overcome by just increasing the treble setting...
__________________
2007 E92 335i SE auto | Quaife LSD | Birds B3 ARBs | Evolve Stage 1 | Morel Hybrid 402 | Rainbow IL-W8F | JL 10W3v3 | RF 3sixty.3 | Alpine PDX-V9

Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 11:05 AM   #21
sniffer
Private First Class
sniffer's Avatar
8
Rep
117
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

Hi All,

Thank you so much for this thread. I have been mucking around trying to code my car for a while. . . .I have now got there.

I installed a series of stereo upgrades some time ago, which you can see here under other threads. I have always been unhappy about the volume of the gong and some interference and I have just managed to code $676 to my E92 thanks in part to input on this thread.

I am very happy and at the weekend will now re-configure my Vibe Litebox amp to best use the new input levels.

These are not now line level inputs are they?

Thanks again,
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2014, 11:56 PM   #22
dragon20
Private First Class
4
Rep
129
Posts

 
Drives: Still Looking
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Hi all,

I have a 06 e90 325i and just got Alpine retrofit installed by BMW.
The kit is good but its really boomy.

I have idrive with Business Nav and looking to code it to hifi. Is there any one that can provide any help on how I can do this or point me in the right direction. I am really new to the coding side.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
base stereo hifi upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST