E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Sporadic BT am I SOL?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-18-2012, 06:29 AM   #1
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
 
GOTMH8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

Posts: 1,022
iTrader: (2)

Sporadic BT am I SOL?

Ok so just as of recent my BT in my 07 e92 has been very sporadic when it wants to work. I've done a little research and it seems the BT module is going bad? Am I just SOL and just accept I won't have BT anymore?

I have a iPhone 4 running on iOS6 if that makes a difference. The BMW BT shows up on my phone but just says not connected.

Any ideas?
GOTMH8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
 
GOTMH8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

Posts: 1,022
iTrader: (2)

Bump!
GOTMH8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2012, 01:37 PM   #3
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
 
GOTMH8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

Posts: 1,022
iTrader: (2)

Someone's gotta know
GOTMH8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 10:44 AM   #4
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
 
GOTMH8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

Posts: 1,022
iTrader: (2)

Anyone?
GOTMH8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2012, 12:16 PM   #5
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
 
GOTMH8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

Posts: 1,022
iTrader: (2)

Anyone? Really
GOTMH8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 04:33 PM   #6
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
 
GOTMH8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

Posts: 1,022
iTrader: (2)

No help?
GOTMH8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 07:10 PM   #7
khaye1
Colonel
 
khaye1's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 MW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego

Posts: 2,689
iTrader: (7)

Have you tried "forgetting" the device on both your phone and the BMW then re-pairing it? In most cases, a simple reset usually fixes the issue......that applies to most electronic equipment
__________________
khaye1 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 07:18 PM   #8
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
 
GOTMH8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

Posts: 1,022
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by khaye1 View Post
Have you tried "forgetting" the device on both your phone and the BMW then re-pairing it? In most cases, a simple reset usually fixes the issue......that applies to most electronic equipment
I did and it worked briefly then just started not working again. So I'm not sure if I just need to do that every time it stops working.
GOTMH8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 07:22 PM   #9
khaye1
Colonel
 
khaye1's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 MW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego

Posts: 2,689
iTrader: (7)

Have you updated your BMW software? Tried any other phones and see if its just your iPhone that's affected? I'd start with that since they're your cheapest option, if those don't work then start looking into replacing your bt module
__________________
khaye1 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 08:01 PM   #10
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
 
GOTMH8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

Posts: 1,022
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by khaye1 View Post
Have you updated your BMW software? Tried any other phones and see if its just your iPhone that's affected? I'd start with that since they're your cheapest option, if those don't work then start looking into replacing your bt module
How do I go about checking for software updates, the dealer? Wouldn't that also cost me a pretty penny?
GOTMH8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 08:56 PM   #11
khaye1
Colonel
 
khaye1's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 MW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego

Posts: 2,689
iTrader: (7)

Forgot to ask if you had an idrive...you can do the update yourself if you have the idrive
__________________
khaye1 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 09:17 PM   #12
GOTMH8N
Stay Classy
 
GOTMH8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: c

Posts: 1,022
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by khaye1 View Post
Forgot to ask if you had an idrive...you can do the update yourself if you have the idrive
No, sadly I do not.
GOTMH8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 07:12 AM   #13
MMMCOOKIES335...
Lieutenant
 
MMMCOOKIES335...'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i M-sport Lemans
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Apex, NC

Posts: 481
iTrader: (1)

^^ same thing just happened to my 09 (non Idrive) They ended up replacing the module AND the radio, warranty here though, sorry
MMMCOOKIES335... is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST