E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Testing a clone ICOM unit?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-11-2012, 05:07 AM   #1
night199uk
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: BMW Z4 sDrive23i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

Testing a clone ICOM unit?

Hey,

I'm getting a clone ICOM unit this week at a pretty good price. I'd like to be able to test it while I'm with the vendor as I've heard about MOST port issues on the clones bricking people's CICs/2RADs. I'll be meeting the vendor in person, so if there is a way I can test it I can reject the sale then and there so he can return it to the manufacturer and get a working one.

Anyone know a way to test the MOST port, hopefully without bricking my 2RAD? Is there anything else I need to take to connect up & test the unit, besides my car? I've not done any car coding or had an ICOM before, but I've prepped myself with the major software that I can find.
night199uk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2012, 07:44 AM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,266
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
What software do you plan to be using with this ICOM clone?
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2012, 08:53 AM   #3
night199uk
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: BMW Z4 sDrive23i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
What software do you plan to be using with this ICOM clone?
From the research I did I think it should work with ST 2.11 if I configure it with a static IP or use iTool Radar, or ISTA/D & ISTA/P?
night199uk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2012, 08:59 AM   #4
night199uk
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: BMW Z4 sDrive23i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by night199uk View Post
From the research I did I think it should work with ST 2.11 if I configure it with a static IP or use iTool Radar, or ISTA/D & ISTA/P?
I'm retrofitting BT & USB to an E89 Z4, if it makes any difference.
night199uk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST