E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > BMW CCC Kufatec Media / TV/ USB Box



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-21-2012, 02:40 PM   #1
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,837
iTrader: (47)

BMW CCC Kufatec Media / TV/ USB Box

BMW CCC Kufatec Media / TV/ USB card

One of the forum members wanted his CCC to be enabled to play DVDs and TV. Although CIC is the appropriate way forward but buying CIC, fitting it and later getting it coded to the car is not a cheap option.

He wanted something add-on to current CCC. We looked at BMW tuner card but it had no USB option. So we ended up buying Kufatec Fiscube box for CCC.

Here is an introduction to the product:



And here is what comes in a box:



Instructions suggest that installation takes approx 5 hours. The car was dropped at my placed at 12pm and the forum member went for shopping in Lakeside shopping centre.
It is a small box, which becomes part of BMW MOST fibre loop. The product came with no instructions. However this company provided e-manual which was in GERMAN language. I had to translate it in the English to understand it.
It requires CCC removal, alteration of wirings, addition to this kit to MOST fibre loop, and adding antennas to your car.
Here are few photos of installation:













As usual BMW put some restrictions for our safety.







So, I had to code the car to enable drive in motion for off-road purposes.




Here is a quick review:

Pros:
TV / DVD / music all in one place
USB port for easy access to your media
Quality of vide was excellent
Good reception
Integration of steering controls with this kit

Cons:
Price
Quality of box itself was not impressive
No instructions in English for installation
Menu of this kit is not very user friendly.
No OEM clips for power wires
Wires should be longer to set the box somewhere better
Video play while driving kit is available but expensive.


All in all decent kit and owner was very pleased with the results.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2012, 04:04 PM   #2
Siren_G
Private First Class
 
Siren_G's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 09 M3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London

Posts: 159
iTrader: (0)

i've got the kufatec bluetooth. i've been looking at the media kit and on their website ti says if your ccc nav has a "brown screen" you need a software update before fitting the kit, i'm not sure what this entails so i never ordered it.
__________________
2009 BMW E92 M3
Siren_G is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2012, 04:24 PM   #3
onetwentie
Straight 6
 
onetwentie's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330d MSport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Posts: 167
iTrader: (0)

Mak - very impressive indeed! well done mate.

How long did it take you in all? where did you locate the unit and where did you install the USB port?

do you know if its possible to hook up rear screens to the same unit?

I'm considering the CID upgrade as I had exhausted all other options, but not sure if I should do this instead - what was the cost of the unit and what coding (apart from the video in motion) was required?
onetwentie is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 04:59 AM   #4
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,837
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siren_G View Post
i've got the kufatec bluetooth. i've been looking at the media kit and on their website ti says if your ccc nav has a "brown screen" you need a software update before fitting the kit, i'm not sure what this entails so i never ordered it.
Siren:
I guess they are referring to the surround of the the screen.

If that is silver or gray, you are good to go. However if that is brown, you will require update of that module to be enabled to have this option.

For those who are considering the cost:

The Cheapest box we could find was £336 delivered. It is plug and play if you know what you are doing (though I would not suggest it, as I had to get my voltmeter out and had to work out the wiring allocation.)

And then you would require Video in motion hardware which cost you £144 delivered. (only allowed for a single car).

I guess the forum member was sensible enough to get it installed by me to skip the video in motion hardware cost as that was coded by me for free in the price of fitting.

Hope that make sense.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 05:07 AM   #5
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,837
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onetwentie View Post
Mak - very impressive indeed! well done mate.
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by onetwentie View Post
How long did it take you in all? where did you locate the unit and where did you install the USB port?
5 hours from start to finish. Their manual suggest 5-6 hours for installation.
Though I could have done it in 4 hours, but there was no need to break any clips / damage anything.
Unit was located in the glove box so you could access the USB port there.

I could have fitted it in stealth mode, but then you would need to extend the USB cable in that case.


Quote:
Originally Posted by onetwentie View Post
do you know if its possible to hook up rear screens to the same unit?
If your rear screens are linked to CCC, then it should have same display as CCC. Adding this box should automatically link it to rear screens as well.

If you have not installed those yet, then you should be looking to something which fits with OEM CCC without alteration of anything and keep things plug and play.


Quote:
Originally Posted by onetwentie View Post
I'm considering the CID upgrade as I had exhausted all other options, but not sure if I should do this instead - what was the cost of the unit and what coding (apart from the video in motion) was required?
Cost: refer to my post above.

Well it is down to personal preference
CIC vs CCC with Kufatec media box.

CIC, you may have to sell it with the car, unless you saved CCC and you know how to put it back to the car. CIC is brilliant TBH but cost you a lot considering fitting and coding charges.

CCC with kufatec is reversible and owner can always sell it own.

HTH.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 07:47 AM   #6
zakirliverpool
New Member
 
Drives: bmw 3series coupe m sport 2007
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: london, westminster

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

I would like to say a really big thank you to Makkan. He Installed my BMW CCC Kufatec Media / TV/ USB Box yesterday and he done a world class job. Before purchasing the DVB-T Makkan helped me with all my questions and queries and also saved me on cost. I love this new option in my car was a great buy for me and the installation could have not been better.


Thanks Makkan.
zakirliverpool is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 07:50 AM   #7
zakirliverpool
New Member
 
Drives: bmw 3series coupe m sport 2007
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: london, westminster

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Brown or silver screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siren_G View Post
i've got the kufatec bluetooth. i've been looking at the media kit and on their website ti says if your ccc nav has a "brown screen" you need a software update before fitting the kit, i'm not sure what this entails so i never ordered it.
Mate have a look at this thread regarding the brown screen, i thought initially i had a brown screen but that was not the case.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=159599
zakirliverpool is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 07:54 AM   #8
onetwentie
Straight 6
 
onetwentie's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330d MSport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Posts: 167
iTrader: (0)

Mak - my CCC has been inoperable for a while now (the DVD drive stopped working), tried to have it repaired - no joy. Even tried a new replacement internal DVD drive but it just doesn't work.

Considering a CIC upgrade - what coding is required and is it something I can do myself if I have the right cable/software? is it INPA that is used? Also for those that have upgraded and require software updates, does it mean that they don't sell the old system?
onetwentie is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 12:52 PM   #9
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,837
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zakirliverpool View Post
I would like to say a really big thank you to Makkan. He Installed my BMW CCC Kufatec Media / TV/ USB Box yesterday and he done a world class job. Before purchasing the DVB-T Makkan helped me with all my questions and queries and also saved me on cost. I love this new option in my car was a great buy for me and the installation could have not been better.


Thanks Makkan.
Wow, thats hell lot of praising. Thanks.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 12:53 PM   #10
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,837
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onetwentie View Post
Mak - my CCC has been inoperable for a while now (the DVD drive stopped working), tried to have it repaired - no joy. Even tried a new replacement internal DVD drive but it just doesn't work.

Considering a CIC upgrade - what coding is required and is it something I can do myself if I have the right cable/software? is it INPA that is used? Also for those that have upgraded and require software updates, does it mean that they don't sell the old system?


In that case go for CIC upgrade. I would not recommend you coding that yourself as if you brick it, you are talking about decent amount of money.
You can contact afsar (see coders in UK thread) and ask him kindly, if he could help you on this, as he can upgrade / install it.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 03:34 PM   #11
Siren_G
Private First Class
 
Siren_G's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 09 M3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London

Posts: 159
iTrader: (0)

i'm definitely ordering this.
__________________
2009 BMW E92 M3
Siren_G is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 10:09 PM   #12
Yoro35i
TROll
 
Yoro35i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335I M
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London

Posts: 2,287
iTrader: (1)

Makkan does this box use digital tv signal?
__________________
MY08 E92 335i M Sport|Wrap by Surrey Project |ETS Intercooler|VSRF Dp's|BMS OCC|BMC filter|CoBB AP|EBC Yellow & Coolcarbons rear|Alpina AT Map|Michelin PSS |CF grills,CF mirror,CF Performace spoiler|LCI light|CIC controller retrofit|2014 Mods: Birds B3 Suspension kit,Project Mu pads,Afe Filter and PTF Protune & Pilot sports cups. Gone:Forged FMIC, Eisenmann Race Quad, Eisenmann Sport Dual, Duke Dynamic Diffuser. Eibach Pro springs.
Yoro35i is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2012, 04:51 AM   #13
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,837
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siren_G View Post
i'm definitely ordering this.
All the best.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoro35i View Post
Makkan does this box use digital tv signal?
Listint states

DVB-T digital TV

So I assume it is a digital TV.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2012, 09:25 AM   #14
mezzyg
New Member
 
Drives: bmw e92 335d
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: uk

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

That's awesome, can you play music video off your phone or USB stick then?
mezzyg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2012, 10:15 AM   #15
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,837
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezzyg View Post
That's awesome, can you play music video off your phone or USB stick then?
Not off your phone but certainly you can use USB stick as a hard drive to keep music and videos to be played.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2012, 10:32 AM   #16
mezzyg
New Member
 
Drives: bmw e92 335d
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: uk

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Cheers, I didn't see the video
mezzyg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-29-2012, 03:03 PM   #17
juggler
Registered
 
Drives: M3 2008 E93
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Aerials

It would be nice if aerials could be hidden....
juggler is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2012, 11:34 AM   #18
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,837
iTrader: (47)

Ok I had this beast at my place today.

E93 M3



The owner wanted Kufatec kit installed and wanted everything in stealth mode. It was mentioned to him that hiding aerials may impede TV signals but he wanted to give it a try.

Also I wanted to experiment and hide the TV box behind the glove box if wirings would allow me.

It amazed me that M3 has no airbags in the front side pillars. Good sign so that I can hide the aerials in those pillars.

Fitting aerials in side pillars


After installation



Media box hidden behind the glove box and USB extension cable used.



And final results after coding (owner saved the money which would cost him to buy drive in motion unlocking kit)



Findings:

Yes signals get blocked if you try to hide them in the side pillars. TV freezes when you are travelling next to tall buildings / trees / bridges.
However owner preferred stealth mode over signal loss, so aerials were left in the side pillars.


Overall good results!
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2012, 04:20 PM   #19
juggler
Registered
 
Drives: M3 2008 E93
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Fiscube

I would like to say First Class job... The stealth fitting was second to none..
Although I had loss of signal on parts of motor way in town was perfect...The unit fits well with the idrive and is much better than a remote.

Playing films was easy. still to test the recording function of the unit for digital TV. (will get back to you)...

The bigman (Makkan00) demonstrated everything and was very meticulous and helpful...

I may try and see if there's much difference if the aerials are outside of the pillars and update you accordingly..Also I will try a bigger hard drive and see if the unit can handle it....

Again a big THANK YOU....
juggler is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 01:12 PM   #20
ragal
New Member
 
Drives: E60
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

Hello Everyone!


I Got a Queustion to my BMW Car E60 CCC,


i Installed the Kufatec Fiscube Multimedia DVB-SAT Interface into my E60,

All Mounting inside the car and MOST ETC , All is fine car-hifi dealer installed it,
and we both check again all conectors etc and all is correct installed.

But When the ccc starts it doesnt coding automaticly the tv button.

And than i have coding tv button and changed vo with $601 and than when i powerreset the fiscube

the tv button is there white and i can choose tv but only the menues and tone but NOT THE VIDEO!

if cars go sleep and i open the car and start ccc the tv button is gray again -.-


Kufatec told me my software is too old, I think this isnt too old becous its silver/gray theme

Here is some pictures from my CCC, What software iam using someone know maybe??


























Sorry for my english , iam from germany!

Great new and happy year i whish you all

ragal.
ragal is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 02:36 PM   #21
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,837
iTrader: (47)

Your software seems compatible with this kit.

You will require to add TV option ($601 I assume for your car) and video option enabled in your CIC. I think your problem is around coding. So ask your coder to look into video options, and enable them.

All the best and drive safe with video in motion enabled
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 05:38 PM   #22
ragal
New Member
 
Drives: E60
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

Hello there!


I got the CCC not the CiC

Me And my Coder Added $601,
The tv Button cames than but whas grey (unchoosable)

But When i powerreset the fiscube than the Button is white

But i can only hear Sound no Video !!!

Screen is black , only When i press i drive Menü comes..

And When Car sleep ( 30 min closed )
Than the Button is again grey And unchoosable,
Untill i powerreset again the fiscube.

Videomodul_CCC is codes as ECE

We tryed rgb And ece but all is same??


Please help!!!
ragal is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST