E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > Canada > gears shifting hard on automatic trans



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-12-2012, 01:31 PM   #1
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

gears shifting hard on automatic trans

As topic says, gears on my e90 are shifting hard. I feel the car is taking a lot of load during transition. It feels like they hold up for a second or two before moving onto next gear.

car as about 157K on it. I got trans fluid change last month.

any suggestion or help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2012, 04:41 PM   #2
Dr. G
Brigadier General
Dr. G's Avatar
80
Rep
4,958
Posts

 
Drives: Black e92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brampton, Ontario

iTrader: (32)

Garage List
e92 BMW 335i  [4.35]
You could try resetting adaptations through INPA as a start.
__________________
JB4 / OSS Angel Eyes / Downpipes / F1-Racewerks FMIC / Custom Meth Kit / BMS DCI / ER Chargepipe / HKS BOV / BMS Meth Elbow / BMW Performance Exhaust / Carbon Fiber Inlay Quad Tips / 19" Miro 111 / Front Aero Lip / M3 Sides / VRS CSL Trunk / Mtech Rear / DD CF Quad Finned Diffuser / LCI Tails / BBK / Smoked Reflectors / F1 Euphoria LED Interior / License LED's / GT 5000k Corners / 5000k HID Fogs / Air Scoops / LED Turn Signals / FK Silverline Coilovers / HPA endlinks / Vibrant Resonators / Osram CBI 5000k D1S
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2012, 06:55 PM   #3
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Dr. G, I don't have INPA. any source to get it?
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2012, 07:26 PM   #4
ncats07
Private
0
Rep
89
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

I had this issue. Took it to he dealership and got the latest software flash and its been perfect ever since.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 01:27 AM   #5
Wolf 335
Lieutenant
Wolf 335's Avatar
Canada
7
Rep
551
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: GTA

iTrader: (0)

getting this occationally. gonna have to have them update the software
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 08:39 AM   #6
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

its out of warranty. how much did it cost if you don't mind sharing?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 08:40 AM   #7
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ncats07 View Post
I had this issue. Took it to he dealership and got the latest software flash and its been perfect ever since.
How much did it cost. if you don't mind sharing.
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 08:42 AM   #8
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf 335 View Post
getting this occationally. gonna have to have them update the software
Let me know how it goes....
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 08:58 AM   #9
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Go to bimmersport in Mississauga and they can update your software for about $100.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 09:56 AM   #10
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
Go to bimmersport in Mississauga and they can update your software for about $100.
Thanks, just made an appointment with them for tomorrow. hopefully problem will be fixed after software update(s).
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 10:09 AM   #11
Toppower
Private
0
Rep
68
Posts

 
Drives: 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: T.O.

iTrader: (0)

Did the shop replace the tranny fluid with OE BMW fluid?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 10:15 AM   #12
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toppower View Post
Did the shop replace the tranny fluid with OE BMW fluid?
Had it done at RMP. so, i'm assuming they put fluid which meets BMW standards.
I wanted them to put royal purple but they said those are good for MT and not AT.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 10:22 AM   #13
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

328 uses dexron 6 fluid (GM tranny).

I also had bimmersport change out my tranny fluid and software update.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 10:37 AM   #14
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
328 uses dexron 6 fluid (GM tranny).

I also had bimmersport change out my tranny fluid and software update.
was your car also having similar issues as i'm facing now?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 01:10 PM   #15
Wolf 335
Lieutenant
Wolf 335's Avatar
Canada
7
Rep
551
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: GTA

iTrader: (0)

im stil under warranty.

as for taking the car to bimmersport for any service, i dont know. way to many bad reviews on maxbimmer. I dont know maybe they stepped up their game and are bettter now.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 01:46 PM   #16
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf 335 View Post
im stil under warranty.

as for taking the car to bimmersport for any service, i dont know. way to many bad reviews on maxbimmer. I dont know maybe they stepped up their game and are bettter now.
Thanks for the heads up Wolf.

Does anyone know the software i should be upgrading to? version #? I just want to make sure that i get the latest version so that i don't make frequent trips to garage.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 02:19 PM   #17
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

I was just told by one of the BMW shop foreman that the latest software version came out last Friday. is it true?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 02:20 PM   #18
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf 335 View Post
im stil under warranty.

as for taking the car to bimmersport for any service, i dont know. way to many bad reviews on maxbimmer. I dont know maybe they stepped up their game and are bettter now.
They did step up their game. Johnny is a great person to deal with and takes care of you.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 02:21 PM   #19
DESI4life10
Banned
DESI4life10's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,365
Posts

 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdot328Xi View Post
Thanks for the heads up Wolf.

Does anyone know the software i should be upgrading to? version #? I just want to make sure that i get the latest version so that i don't make frequent trips to garage.

Thanks
The computer will tell you if their is an update ready.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 03:57 PM   #20
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
The computer will tell you if their is an update ready.
I'm going there tomorrow. let see how it turns out.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2012, 04:46 PM   #21
tdot328Xi
Private
Canada
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328Xi
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brampton

iTrader: (0)

Update: Just got back from Bimmersports; transmission software did not need update but updated DME. They also cleared adaptation. Jonny said it will take about 200 KM of driving before i start to notice any differences. He also said if problem persist then may have to re-build transmission....
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2012, 05:44 PM   #22
lcs
Lieutenant
12
Rep
520
Posts

 
Drives: 328i LCI
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdot328Xi View Post
Update: Just got back from Bimmersports; transmission software did not need update but updated DME. They also cleared adaptation. Jonny said it will take about 200 KM of driving before i start to notice any differences. He also said if problem persist then may have to re-build transmission....
Hope you won't have to rebuild it...Do you think changing the fluid previously caused this to happen? Was the car shifting rough prior to the fluid change?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST