E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Aftermarket turbo need to get ReMAP OEM ECM and Procede?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-18-2007, 02:29 AM   #1
LACA335i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
LACA335i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i coupe Black AUTO
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alhambra, CA

Posts: 1,517
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I SEDAN  [0.00]
Aftermarket turbo need to get ReMAP OEM ECM and Procede?

if i change my stock (baby turbo ) to bigger one , i must remapping my ecm and the vishnu too? i know i have to modify the IC pipping to fit it.. The manifold also need to modify as well.. DP must fit the new turbo. Shv can u remap the procede after they have being upgraded to bigger turbo? Do i need to drive my car to ur shop?how much the cost would be?
__________________
LACA335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2007, 02:36 AM   #2
wj4
Major General
 
Drives: E90 manual 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burbank, CA

Posts: 7,723
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to wj4
What is ECM?

You would need some sort of ECU enhancer for sure.

Also keep the fuel system in mind as aftermarket turbos will deliver more power which needs more fuel to be fed into car.

Keep in mind that if you change the turbos to bigger ones, you may experience a lag.

And clutch might be an issue as well with the newfound power.
wj4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2007, 02:40 AM   #3
LACA335i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
LACA335i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i coupe Black AUTO
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alhambra, CA

Posts: 1,517
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I SEDAN  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by wj4 View Post
What is ECM?

You would need some sort of ECU enhancer for sure.

Also keep the fuel system in mind as aftermarket turbos will deliver more power which needs more fuel to be fed into car.

Keep in mind that if you change the turbos to bigger ones, you may experience a lag.

And clutch might be an issue as well with the newfound power.
gt28r dual will not get that much lag..
__________________
LACA335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2007, 02:45 AM   #4
wj4
Major General
 
Drives: E90 manual 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burbank, CA

Posts: 7,723
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to wj4
Key word is 'that much lag'...by the way do you have the dyno to show how bad the lag is, RPM-wise to support your theory, or are you going to basically be the guinea pig?

I speak of what I notice when I drive cars with bigger turbos....I've driven a 1000whp car Supra before and they're really not that fun below 5k RPM.

I love the stockness of the 335i where there the car is driveable at 1k RPM, while other turbo'd car would be shuddering to deaf that low in the RPM bandwidth.
wj4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2007, 03:03 AM   #5
bnj
Banned
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Helsinki

Posts: 1,137
iTrader: (0)

You need a tuned Procede map. It takes some hours on a dyno.

Last edited by bnj; 08-18-2007 at 09:00 AM. Reason: DUAL of those is a lot
bnj is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2007, 05:38 AM   #6
ArmyBimmerDude
Major General
 
ArmyBimmerDude's Avatar
 
Drives: Lola
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Georgia

Posts: 5,503
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ArmyBimmerDude Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyBimmerDude
Waiting for a Vishnu turbo kit in a year or so makes more sense than the trouble you'll probably experience doing this on your own.
__________________
2007 E92 Montego Blue 335i
ArmyBimmerDude is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2007, 06:23 AM   #7
judec
born to be turbocharged
 
judec's Avatar
 
Drives: Not a bimmer yet
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Slovakia

Posts: 1,347
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to judec Send a message via Skype™ to judec
Quote:
Originally Posted by LACA335i View Post
gt28r dual will not get that much lag..
U must be kidding, no? A gt28r attached to 1.5L 3-cylinders will not get that much lag?

Well, it really depends on a definition of "that much lag".

And well, waiting for a turbo kit from Vishnu... among their activities with various exotics etc. + considering their performance with v2 - well it will take a while, if it comes at all.

Sorry, but an optimist is just a clueless pesimist.
judec is offline   Slovakia
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST