E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > SOS call System failure!!!!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-12-2012, 12:31 PM   #1
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
235
Posts

 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

SOS call System failure!!!!

hi

i have a bmw e91 and every time i start the car
i have this error SOS call System failure!!!!
the bluethooth still working and every thing works as it shoulds
can you please help me ==???
i have make a visit to bmw and they clean the error after 20 mins error again ... do i have to change the TCU unit or there is something i can do

best regards
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2012, 07:11 PM   #2
snoozee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
213
Posts

 
Drives: 318i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

Sounds like TCU is dying
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 03:36 AM   #3
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
235
Posts

 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

how much for the TCu do i really need one or can i code the tcu to get rid of the error !!!! everything is working as it should i just have the annoying error SOS call System failure!!!
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 12:13 PM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,322
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Loose Connectors.

Loose Connectors.
often cause intermittent problems.
Try re seating or pushing down on connectors in the areas effected .
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2012, 03:35 AM   #5
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
235
Posts

 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

i dont think its loose connectors but i will give it a try.....

anyone now a way of coding SOS feature to be disable

best regards
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2012, 08:40 PM   #6
dylim
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
240
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

iTrader: (3)

Yes, just connect to the TCUM using NCSEXPERT, and then change a variable - can't remember off the top of my head, but the variable name is very obvious.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2012, 10:19 PM   #7
snoozee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
213
Posts

 
Drives: 318i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosalbertogui View Post
i dont think its loose connectors but i will give it a try.....

anyone now a way of coding SOS feature to be disable

best regards
using NCSExpert, remove $612 from the FA/VO listing.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2012, 05:04 AM   #8
DR-JEKL
Lieutenant Colonel
32
Rep
1,952
Posts

 
Drives: Space Grey 335i 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Newcastle Ozstraylia

iTrader: (1)

I had this error pop up on my dash today, upon starting the car the legal disclaimer stayed remaining on the idrive for a few minutes and the idrive controller would just spin and not respond. The time date etc was all blank on the idrive at the time.

Eventually the error cleared from the dash, and the bmw screen on the idrive system popped up for about 30 seconds then everything worked as per normal!?!?
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2012, 10:20 AM   #9
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
235
Posts

 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

I still have the error every time i start the car
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2012, 11:41 AM   #10
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
235
Posts

 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

can someone code TCU

A TCU (telematic control unit) can Only be ordered by specifying the Vehicle identification number. The VIN is coded when the replacement TCU is delivered. Recoding is not Possible. The TCU functions properly Only with matching coding. Replacements TCUs cannot therefore be ordered in Reserve! Retrofits and conversions To SA633 are not possible...

i have SA633 .......
now a have a SOS call System error everything else is working as i should be ....

any help
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2012, 10:50 AM   #11
e2d
Private
e2d's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, USA

iTrader: (0)

I've been told it could be the MOST bus connecter is cut. I've had a subwoofer installed in my e90 and I get the same SOS failure you get. Everything else works its just the Bluetooth that doesn't. I'm planning on taking a look at this today.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 04:07 AM   #12
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
235
Posts

 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

how it went do you manage to solve the problem ???????

sos call system failure
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2013, 01:01 PM   #13
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
235
Posts

 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

SOS call System failure

Still have the error SOS call System failure every time i start the car

everything else working well

bluetooth , i drive sound radio etc
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2013, 07:01 AM   #14
AWBimmer
Brigadier General
AWBimmer's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,986
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335D Pre-LCI
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (4)

Recently upgraded my sound system.. full 3 way upfront plus sub woofer in the back with 2 amps (4 ch and mono amp for sub).. plus have JBL MS8 and Technica Harness.

My Bluetooth doesnt work and I now get the SOS warning light everytime I start the car... bad times!!
__________________
BMW E92 335D | The Custom Cars
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 05:52 AM   #15
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
235
Posts

 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

iTrader: (0)

can i put a new tcu without recoding or program it ???
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 02:31 PM   #16
dylim
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
240
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosalbertogui View Post
can i put a new tcu without recoding or program it ???
Instead of replacing the TCU, you can just code the SOS error out using NCSEXPERT.

I think if you do replace the TCU, you might loose voice control, sos functionality and other features unless you use winfkp to change the VIN inside the TCU, so it's more involved.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 03:01 PM   #17
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,322
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Do you have the exact steps for coding it out?

Do you have the exact steps for coding it out?

Because I have seen no posts where there has been
definite success at doing this.
But it should be possible.

There is a replacement procedure somewhere on the Technical Service bulletin with a procedure on replacing it . It does require some kind of activation.
(for TCU replacement)

Last edited by ctuna; 02-21-2013 at 03:41 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 03:18 PM   #18
dylim
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
240
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Do you have the exact steps for coding it out?

Because I have seen no posts where there has been
definite success at doing this.
But it should be possible.

There is a replacement procedure somewhere on the Technical Service bulletin with a procedure on replacing it . It does require some kind of activation.
Yes I do, I will find my notes when I get back home tonight and post the exact entry you'll need to change. I did this when I retrofitted CCC, 6FL, and BT. Since I didn't want to get the FZD with the SOS button, I had to code out the SOS button check.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 03:40 PM   #19
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,322
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

But you still have a Mulf or a TCU?

But you still have a Mulf or a TCU?
Also bluetooth comes from the TCU on the
older cars I think.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 11:59 PM   #20
dylim
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
240
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
But you still have a Mulf or a TCU?
Also bluetooth comes from the TCU on the
older cars I think.
I have both MULF high is used for the USB, and TCU takes over the phone/BT functions.

I just looked at my notes. To code out the SOS check, just use NCSEXPERT, connect to TCUM, and change E_CALL_HARDKEY_FITTED to nicht_aktiv.
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2013, 12:11 AM   #21
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,322
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Thanks

Thanks
I am wondering if the people that remove there head units
are stuck with a SOS error signal , unless they relocate the head unit.
(Also the guys that replace with the newer Head Units that don't require a Mulf or TCU.)
As the head unit buffers
the communication of the TCU or Mulf to the gauge display.
I am wondering if the display or Kombi has a way to disable it
either as a hard jumper or programming value.
The dirty fix would be to cut a trace to the LED that for that
particular error.
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2013, 01:51 AM   #22
snoozee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
213
Posts

 
Drives: 318i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

removing $639 from the VO list will remove the BMW assist feature and should get rid of the error.

someone mentioned that the below steps solved his problem.

Quote:
Ok so I finally got around to changing my VO and getting rid of this SOS error.

The value to add to the VO was +TELD. Not -TELD!!!!

FA_Write to CAS and FRM.

SG_Codieren TCUM, CAPPL, KOMBI, and ABG.

Error is now gone!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST