E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > How to Code Your Vehicle - for FREE



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-23-2012, 10:36 AM   #67
Cbozz
Lieutenant Colonel
Cbozz's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
1,634
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
I don't know but on your first video that you're coding your cluster speed 'v=' looks like you had an invalid code and you still coded it in however your guages aren't working -- your gas and mpg. You need to fix that.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 03:29 PM   #68
jasonn
JDM Slut
jasonn's Avatar
United_States
90
Rep
4,233
Posts

Drives: 07 e90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
as stated in faq...



Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisboszko View Post
I don't know...
yes you don't



Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisboszko View Post
..but on your first video that you're coding your cluster speed 'v=' looks like you had an invalid code and you still coded it in
coded entire car instead of module, car coded up to a module then got error, and this method is not advised anyway, just provided an example.



Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisboszko View Post
...however your guages aren't working -- your gas and mpg. You need to fix that.
PROcede
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2012, 01:13 AM   #69
ALBO*BOY
Private First Class
ALBO*BOY's Avatar
1
Rep
131
Posts

Drives: 2010 bmw 335xi
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Hey guys I'm new at BMW and I have a 2010 e92 335 and I got 2011 e93 bumper and so on for my car. Now the headlights work fine but the angel eyes and turn signal blink. Does anyone know how to fix it? I heard coding would do it is that right? Can I do coding from the dash or I need this cable and so on?
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2012, 05:58 PM   #70
yEBMW
Lieutenant
yEBMW's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: '11 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutrino45 View Post
Here is the link to the latest active action from the same seller:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-I...item2eb4ac4cce

This is their home page:
http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/shop/
Ebay link is broken and the second link says temporarily out of stock. Can I use this one:
http://ecutool.com/BMW-INPA-KCAN_1939.html

or this one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-BMW-INPA...10194336900974

Please let me know. Thanks!
__________________
U.S. Army Veteran/Iraqi Freedom

11' 335i -M-Sport/LeMans Blue Metallic/Sport/Premium/AT - Current
06' 325i -Base/Arctic Metallic/MT - Retired
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2012, 03:23 PM   #71
yEBMW
Lieutenant
yEBMW's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: '11 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
Can anybody confirm the correct cables please so I don't waste my money? Thanks
__________________
U.S. Army Veteran/Iraqi Freedom

11' 335i -M-Sport/LeMans Blue Metallic/Sport/Premium/AT - Current
06' 325i -Base/Arctic Metallic/MT - Retired
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2012, 10:14 PM   #72
tcw
Captain
21
Rep
732
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (2)

Welcome to one-stop-electronics.com
Update 26th March 2012
Please note that the USB DCAN Interface is back on stock.
(limited stock only - first come first serve)
__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2012, 06:05 AM   #73
ntheo
New Member
Cyprus
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 320i MSport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cyprus

iTrader: (0)

The cable from one-stop-electronics.com worked perfect for me as well. Its more expensive than some listed in ebay but it worth its value/. It comes also with a converter to work with older cars as well.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2012, 12:31 PM   #74
zibawal
Major
United_States
16
Rep
1,102
Posts

Drives: 2012 X5D
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SFO BAY AREA

iTrader: (0)

Waiting for Chasey Boy's Instructions

Awaited still from Chase before I get my cable Hope is up before I give up on him.
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2012, 11:50 PM   #75
byoung8
Legendary
byoung8's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
227
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i E90 TiAg
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Deigo

iTrader: (1)

So I have an OBD CAN cable I used on my other car. Would it work with the BMW? I see that this cable is K+DCAN. The one I am using is ELM327, if that makes any sense on determining if it's ok to use. Basically I am still unable to communicate with my BMW. I've changed the Latency (from 16 to 1) and Ports (to COM1).
__________________

'07 335i E90 Titanium Silver
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2012, 12:49 PM   #76
BMW-335i-07
Coding
2
Rep
114
Posts

Drives: 335i 2007 BMW
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by byoung8 View Post
So I have an OBD CAN cable I used on my other car. Would it work with the BMW? I see that this cable is K+DCAN. The one I am using is ELM327, if that makes any sense on determining if it's ok to use. Basically I am still unable to communicate with my BMW. I've changed the Latency (from 16 to 1) and Ports (to COM1).
No
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 12:54 PM   #77
plokij
Lieutenant
plokij's Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
520
Posts

Drives: Nothing
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (1)

Anyone try the OBD II cable that comes with the MyGenius tool? Looking to kill 2 birds...
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 02:03 PM   #78
bumere90
Grozniy
United_States
85
Rep
2,600
Posts

Drives: Carless
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: FL

iTrader: (12)

I have the latest cable for sale
works on all bmw's from 1999-2011
no soldering is needed
plug and play
__________________
-fatman
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2012, 09:29 PM   #79
fooledyas
Private First Class
2
Rep
151
Posts

Drives: 2011 z4 and 328i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 1175

iTrader: (0)

can someone please confirm that this cable works for 2011 328i thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2012, 02:40 PM   #80
ucdbiendog
Lieutenant
29
Rep
513
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi E90
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Reno, NV

iTrader: (0)

will this cable work?
http://www.burgertuning.com/scanner.html
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2012, 03:34 PM   #81
1QuikWS6
No 55mph
1QuikWS6's Avatar
United_States
255
Rep
5,933
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 328iX N51 3-Stage ->M6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blitzburgh, PA

iTrader: (88)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucdbiendog View Post
Even though this is prolly the 200th time this question has been asked on the forum - NO the Burger Tuning cable will not work for this type of coding...
__________________
2009 328ix E92//SGM//ACS Roof Spoiler//MTech Aero Lip+Trunk Spoiler//M3 Side Skirts//CF Roundels+Grilles//M3 Novillo Interior//Perf Shift Lever+Boot//MPerf DCT Wheel//M3 GT3 eBrake Handle+Boot//ACS Pedals//M3 Mirrors//LCI Tails w/LUX Rev//LUX 160 AE+MTec 6000K D1S+HPB HID 6000K Fogs//HPB LED Interior//RPI Scoops//CF Euro Airbox+Underhood Hsgs//K&N//BMW PE//MTech Rear Bumper-iS Sport Diffuser//CF Strut Brace//AA Stage3//BMW 193M's+Kumho 4X
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2012, 11:45 PM   #82
saxon
Captain
141
Rep
887
Posts

Drives: s4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa

iTrader: (3)

subscribed
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2012, 04:59 PM   #83
LuisC48
Private First Class
1
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

I am stuck on step 9. Once I get to device manager PORTS does not come up. What do I do?
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2012, 02:06 PM   #84
DopeM3
M Power
DopeM3's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
1,296
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH

iTrader: (8)

I'm going for this
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2012, 03:28 AM   #85
enigma99a
Private
1
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: 335i E92 2009
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rocklin, CA

iTrader: (0)

Great guide, thanks helped a lot.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 11:06 PM   #86
smiley32
New Member
0
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 318D
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: italia

iTrader: (0)

1. im trying to connect to a 3 series e90 LCI 2009 as iv had issues with lack of power im off on holiday with the car Monday and wanted to find out what was wrong before i go i have read every post i can find over the last week but cant find the solution

2. i have tried pin 7-8 linked unlinked

3. i have pins 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 14 and 16 in the obd socket

4. I have tried xp SP3 32 bit. Firewall disabled, no anti-virus. No other software is installed. (I've had the same problem using Win 7 and Vista).

5. C:\Ediabas\bin is in the path.

6. Installed the USB cable and set the COM port to 1. Latency is set to 1ms. There is no option to use FIFO buffer.

7. Ediabas.ini has STD:OBD as interface. It is also set so loadwinxp = 1

8. OBD.INI is in C:\ediabas\bin and \system32. COM port is set to 1 but i have tried every other com port too.

9. When loading INPA, I get black battery and ignition when plugged in and starting car.

10. I can not read the ECU. or read errors. just get ifh-009

11. When trying to read any other module, I get the IFH 0009 No Response From Control Unit.

12. i have tried 3 different leads all supposedly kline and dcan compatable

13. i have tried 3 different laptops

14. i have tried to run dcantools but i get interface not found when trying to set dcan

15. i have installed the software from 3 different CD that came with the leads and 3 downloaded sources reported working
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2012, 10:12 PM   #87
BostonBeemah
DIYer
BostonBeemah's Avatar
Armenia
22
Rep
515
Posts

Drives: AW 135i 6spd
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Belmont, Ma

iTrader: (4)

im having the exact same issues except im trying on an 08 135i.. Any solution yet
__________________
2010 AW/BLK 135i VM 6465 Single Turbo, JB4 + MHD, VRSF CP & Tial, Big Tom, Fuel-It PI + Stage 3 + Return + Ethanol Sensor, BMW PE, MFactory LSD, Spec 3+ & MFactory SMFW, RB External PCV
Best stock turbo 12.5 @ 19.46 spinning all the way down
RIP 2008 AW/BL 135i
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 09:17 AM   #88
teaston
Lieutenant General
teaston's Avatar
United Kingdom
2617
Rep
17,096
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norfolk 'n' Good

iTrader: (1)

What has happened to the speadsheet, loads of information has been removed from it?!

I really need to know how to get the sidelights as DRL, anyone know which this is?

Edit:-
The spreadsheet is fine, it's just that it goes to the translations quick reference tab when opened instead of the E9x codelist tab like it used to!

Last edited by teaston; 11-18-2012 at 09:47 AM.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST