E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > USA - NY / NJ / CT / PA > Amber Non-M cluster to White M3 style cluster. Need help.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-23-2012, 09:59 PM   #1
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
Amber Non-M cluster to White M3 style cluster. Need help.

Hey guys, anyone in the area preferably in Jersey know how to customize the Gauge cluster to resemble the M3 cluster? i have the red needles and im going to get the M3 style gauge rings also. Need someone with experience and guarantees their work is top notch. Not just anyone trying to make a quick buck. Thanks.

E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 10:20 PM   #2
Route 16
I got lei'd
 
Route 16's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E90 328i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: BayArea

Posts: 4,306
iTrader: (25)

Ever seen one instead of temp reading, it's gas consumption for non-sport? Not for fuel tank, it's the same on the left as the picture.
Route 16 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 10:25 PM   #3
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 16 View Post
Ever seen one instead of temp reading, it's gas consumption for non-sport? Not for fuel tank, it's the same on the left as the picture.
Not really catching what you're trying to say
E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 10:38 PM   #4
Route 16
I got lei'd
 
Route 16's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E90 328i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: BayArea

Posts: 4,306
iTrader: (25)

I'll take a picture in a bit.
Route 16 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 10:40 PM   #5
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 16 View Post
I'll take a picture in a bit.
you mean instead of the temp reading its telling you the miles per gallon reading? like the old E46 gauges?
E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 10:45 PM   #6
Route 16
I got lei'd
 
Route 16's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E90 328i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: BayArea

Posts: 4,306
iTrader: (25)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Alpine328i View Post
you mean instead of the temp reading its telling you the miles per gallon reading? like the old E46 gauges?
Yeah it keeps moving based on you touching the gas pedal.
Route 16 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 11:06 PM   #7
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 16 View Post
Yeah it keeps moving based on you touching the gas pedal.
thats pretty cool but i like making sure my oil temp is normal.
E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 11:28 PM   #8
Route 16
I got lei'd
 
Route 16's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E90 328i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: BayArea

Posts: 4,306
iTrader: (25)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Alpine328i View Post
thats pretty cool but i like making sure my oil temp is normal.
Yeah it's just for us non-sport we don't have temp reading.
Route 16 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2012, 04:55 PM   #9
Gugs
Cynical
 
Gugs's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 JetBlack
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Long island

Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Alpine328i View Post
thats pretty cool but i like making sure my oil temp is normal.
Yeah it's just for us non-sport we don't have temp reading.
We dont need that. It be viewed via the center lcd.
Gugs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2012, 06:48 PM   #10
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
ok anyone know how to customize the cluster? let me know.
E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2012, 10:02 PM   #11
1slowbmw
Private First Class
 
Drives: BMW e90
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: LI/Bronx

Posts: 113
iTrader: (0)

I did it on mine and one other one but its a decent amount of delicate work. What i would charge to make it worth it for me is not worth it for te buyer. Ill guide you as mich as i can if youd like
1slowbmw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2012, 11:25 PM   #12
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slowbmw View Post
I did it on mine and one other one but its a decent amount of delicate work. What i would charge to make it worth it for me is not worth it for te buyer. Ill guide you as mich as i can if youd like
i know what to get and all its just im afraid of soldering it wrong.
E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2012, 11:48 PM   #13
Doc K
Fleet Admiral ★★★★★
 
Doc K's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i SG
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Woodinville

Posts: 498
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to Doc K
There's. very nice dyi on this forum, for this exact project. That, or you could always hit up LTMW. They take on any project, it seems.
Doc K is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2012, 11:52 PM   #14
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

If you find an actual M3 cluster I can program it for your car. None of the half-assed swapping around M3 needles, LED's and rings. An actual 100%-functional M3 cluster with working moving redline and 200mph speedometer. Here it is on my car.



It's something I recently started doing but already done about 6 cars with 100% success. And I'm local too
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2012, 08:45 AM   #15
Tomz_M3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 Jet Black E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Queens, NY

Posts: 1,816
iTrader: (11)

There a guy in LI who does this, forum member named Yakev. He did mine perfectly....hit him up.
__________________
Stock....
Tomz_M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2012, 11:03 AM   #16
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
If you find an actual M3 cluster I can program it for your car. None of the half-assed swapping around M3 needles, LED's and rings. An actual 100%-functional M3 cluster with working moving redline and 200mph speedometer. Here it is on my car.



It's something I recently started doing but already done about 6 cars with 100% success. And I'm local too
that is awesome! if i can find one i will definitely let you know. i rather not mess with the things inside and risk burning something out. does it function for both automatic and manual? mine is automatic and also the MPH gauge stays the same even though it says 200MPH? does it still read the real speed im going?
E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2012, 11:10 AM   #17
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Alpine328i View Post
that is awesome! if i can find one i will definitely let you know. i rather not mess with the things inside and risk burning something out. does it function for both automatic and manual? mine is automatic and also the MPH gauge stays the same even though it says 200MPH? does it still read the real speed im going?
Yes, both manual and auto. DCT M3 cluster has "shift lights" that are impossible to implement without an actual DCT tranny, that's the only thing that doesn't work.
Speedometer works correctly, it "slows down" after 80 mph and is showing correct speed.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2012, 11:17 AM   #18
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Yes, both manual and auto. DCT M3 cluster has "shift lights" that are impossible to implement without an actual DCT tranny, that's the only thing that doesn't work.
Speedometer works correctly, it "slows down" after 80 mph and is showing correct speed.
ill find a cluster somewhere and contact you when im ready. i rather do it the right way rather than the wrong way. plus its nice to see 200MPH on the cluster next is a complete navigation dash swap with the CIC navi kit. gona cost $$ but i want it done correctly not incorrectly.
E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 05:04 PM   #19
Ducati848R
Captain
 
Drives: 06 325i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oregon

Posts: 762
iTrader: (23)

You want to sell your red needles?
Ducati848R is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 05:53 PM   #20
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducati848R View Post
You want to sell your red needles?
if you pay shipping costs, might be easier to just buy them from Bimmian.com
E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 06:13 PM   #21
danniexi
Colonel
 
danniexi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 AW E92 335xi
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NJ

Posts: 2,055
iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92Alpine328i View Post
that's my picture of my speedometer.

i recently switched to an OEM M3 cluster coded by onebadmofo as well.

my suggestion? go with the M3 speedo and have it coded. It's much more convenient without risking damage to the stock speedometer (which happened to mine and the reason why i went with a new M3 cluster). Plus the moving yellow/red line is a neat feature (as the car warms up).

I HIGHLY recommend going to onebadmofo for all coding needs. And definitely get the M3 cluster. As a person who has done both, the coding method is a much better and easier process.
danniexi is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 06:16 PM   #22
E92Alpine328i
Euro.Techniks-EAST
 
E92Alpine328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newark, NJ

Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to E92Alpine328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by danniexi View Post
that's my picture of my speedometer.

i recently switched to an OEM M3 cluster coded by onebadmofo as well.

my suggestion? go with the M3 speedo and have it coded. It's much more convenient without risking damage to the stock speedometer (which happened to mine and the reason why i went with a new M3 cluster). Plus the moving yellow/red line is a neat feature (as the car warms up).

I HIGHLY recommend going to onebadmofo for all coding needs. And definitely get the M3 cluster. As a person who has done both, the coding method is a much better and easier process.
Yeah thats what im going to do. thanks.
E92Alpine328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST