E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Updating Sat Nav to 2012 - CIC iDrive



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-16-2012, 05:43 AM   #133
TripleBlack
First Lieutenant
TripleBlack's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
346
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW E93 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulR
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardNR View Post
Hi I'm looking to get the 2013 update for my pro CIC HDD, anyone have a good link to grab the files from.

Can't see them on any file sharing sites and the link on gpsunderground has tons of files on sites that load a ton of pop ups and rubbish so not keen to use that!

Thanks
When I did it I used the bittorrent available here:

http://pirateproxy.net/torrent/76206...e_PREMIUM_2013

Then burnt the .iso images contained to three dual-layer DVD+R discs. I used ***************** for the FSC code.
Thanks for the link. I know my Internet is fast but 23gb in less than 30mins is a record I hope to see again one day.
Hopefully I can have this done over the weekend through to next week.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 01:56 PM   #134
omaragha
Lieutenant Colonel
United Kingdom
21
Rep
1,868
Posts

 
Drives: 335i DCT E93
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Windsor, UK

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlwynMike View Post
May be a couple of issues here:

The system is looking for 3 discs, so you would have to partition your HDD into the 3 discs, with appropriate disc labels.
The system may not be intelligent enough to search for each disc automatically, so you will still need to prompt it (or will it just "see" the first one???)
You'll have to use a powered HDD in case the glovebox port isn't man enough to supply power to the HDD (the manual says not to connect external HDD's to the USB port, but this might just be a BMW get-out clause for popping the power supply)

Give it a go - what have you got to lose? An hour or so . . . . .

Mike
Yep, going to give it a go, will run power from my house for HDD - setup 3 folders and see what happens :-)
__________________
Engine Mods: JB4 G5 ISO, Wedge Flash, BMS DCI, ETS FMIC, ER CP, AR Catless DP's, BMS OCC, BMS Cowel filters & Forge DV's.
Running Gear Mods: Graphite Atomic CSL's, Birds B3 Suspension, Stoptech Grooved Rotors & Yellow Stuff pads.
Cosmetic: Performance Grill and Diffuser, Carbon Badges, Carbon Interior
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 06:11 PM   #135
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by omaragha View Post
So could I run the update from a HDD via USB ? Transfer rate might be quicker ? So I am thinking extension lead for power from house to car then HDD to USB - that will work right ?
The raw data read rate from a fixed dvd drive will always be loads quicker than from a usb stick/ drive.

The delay is the cic pc processing / copying time not the dvd read rate.

I was using nav throughout the upgrade, so it must copy it over first.

No 7 digit postcodes for me though- i must need the newer nav software too
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 06:12 PM   #136
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleBlack View Post
Thanks for the link. I know my Internet is fast but 23gb in less than 30mins is a record I hope to see again one day.
Hopefully I can have this done over the weekend through to next week.
Ha, mine took 48 hours!

not due to the speed, just there weren't many seeds / peers on the torrent.
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2012, 02:38 AM   #137
TripleBlack
First Lieutenant
TripleBlack's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
346
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW E93 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doughboy View Post
Ha, mine took 48 hours!

not due to the speed, just there weren't many seeds / peers on the torrent.

I only 'obtain' stuff between 12am and 7am. Speeds are crazy at that time.
There didnt seem to be any seeding problems.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2012, 04:57 PM   #138
Squintstream
Lieutenant
Squintstream's Avatar
United Kingdom
7
Rep
485
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M Sport avec DCT (E92)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Derby

iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doughboy View Post
No 7 digit postcodes for me though- i must need the newer nav software too
You sure mate? Remember, once you've put it in the initial piece of the postcode in (ie NG25 0) you then need to move back from numbers to characters to add the last bit. I only fell across this by accident (following a previous post) but can confirm 7 digit seems to work fine

My dealer sent me the 2013 maps, following the problem where they sent me the 2012 (thinking this was the most up-to-date version of the maps). However, as i'd previously updated to 2012 maps only last week, there was no need to renter the code (provided by Siera) second time round. Just had to put in the disks and W...A...I...T! This confirms the code he supplies will work with either 12 or 13 discs.

Now running Premium 2013 Europe and I'm well happy
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 02:51 AM   #139
TripleBlack
First Lieutenant
TripleBlack's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
346
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW E93 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

I don't think anyones mentioned what happens once the update is loaded into the system. Will I need to keep a disc in the DVD drive for when it needs to access new data like with my old 2008 Nav DVD? If so, which disc is it, 1,2,3?
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 02:53 AM   #140
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
73
Rep
5,036
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

You don't need any discs in the drive with the hard disc system - all the data is copied to the HDD which is kind of the point.

You only need a disc in the old CCC navigation where you only got one disc in the first place.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 03:11 AM   #141
TripleBlack
First Lieutenant
TripleBlack's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
346
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW E93 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

I'm reffering to the CCC Nav system. The posts on this thread has been switching between the CCC and CIC versions.
The download requires you to burn the ISO files to 3x DL DVD discs. According to the manual the Nav retains much of the software but will need a disc inserted to access other data like route calculation etc. Just trying to understand which disc that would be. 1,2 or 3?
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 03:24 AM   #142
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
73
Rep
5,036
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

Apologies - I thought the CCC version only came on one DVD and that by its very nature, was the disc you used. If it doesn't have a HDD (which it doesn't) where can it store the data from discs 1 & 2?

Are you sure you're right? The HDD version has always beeen three DVDs but the CCC only one.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 06:35 AM   #143
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

+1 xenon.

Tripleblack, the 2 systems are totally incompatible.

The older CCC nav (which I had in my 06 330i) uses just 1 (non password protected) single layer DVD with map data on which remains in the DVD slot the whole time and the system uses the disc as a ROM device. That's why you have a separate CD slot for music CDs. There is no storage of any map data on the system. The NAV O/S is fixed and not upgraded with the disc.

The newer CIC nav uses 3 x DL DVDs which are copied in full to the HDD system, so the DVDs are redundant after loading onto the system. Thus you only have 1 CD/DVD slot.

It will be the 3D mapping and much higher screen resolution on the CIC version that makes the file sizes so huge compared to the CCC version.

The CCC nav discs have been free online for years so there is nothing to 'buy' there.
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!

Last edited by doughboy; 11-29-2012 at 06:46 AM.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 06:41 AM   #144
PaulR
New Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330d M-Sport Auto
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gloucestershire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doughboy View Post
+1 xenon.

Tripleblack, the 2 systems are totally incompatible.

The older CCC nav (which I had in my 06 330i) uses just 1 (non password protected) single layer DVD with map data on which remains in the DVD slot the whole time and the system uses the disc as a ROM device. That's why you have a separate CD slot for music CDs. There is no storage of map data on the system.

The newer CIC nav has only 1 DVD/CD slot and uses 3 x DL DVDs which are copied in full to the HDD system, so the DVDs are redundant after loading onto the system.

It will be the 3D mapping and much higher screen resolution on the CIC version that makes the file sizes so huge compared to the CCC version.

All of this thread is about the CIC version and getting the password for cheap.

The CCC nav discs have been free online for years so there is nothing to 'buy' there.
FTFY
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 06:45 AM   #145
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Ha LoL - you knew what I meant!

Corrected now

Better to call it 'new' or 'old' system!
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 07:04 AM   #146
RagingKileak
Brigadier General
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,637
Posts

 
Drives: Modified Alpine White E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Yorkshire

iTrader: (2)

Gents,

Has anyone got a set of 2012 Premium disks for an E92 Pro Nav? Happy to pay as I can't be ar$ed downloading and burning via a dual layer burner (which I don't have.)

Rgds
Matt
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 07:04 AM   #147
BanziBarn
Lieutenant Colonel
BanziBarn's Avatar
34
Rep
1,789
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330D E90 LCI Msport
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squintstream View Post
You sure mate? Remember, once you've put it in the initial piece of the postcode in (ie NG25 0) you then need to move back from numbers to characters to add the last bit. I only fell across this by accident (following a previous post) but can confirm 7 digit seems to work fine

My dealer sent me the 2013 maps, following the problem where they sent me the 2012 (thinking this was the most up-to-date version of the maps). However, as i'd previously updated to 2012 maps only last week, there was no need to renter the code (provided by Siera) second time round. Just had to put in the disks and W...A...I...T! This confirms the code he supplies will work with either 12 or 13 discs.

Now running Premium 2013 Europe and I'm well happy
I'm keen to find out if indeed doughboy did have 7 digit when trying this method - it would be the main reason I'd do the upgrade.
__________________
Black 330d E90 LCI M Sport Saloon Auto. Privacy Glass, Cream Leather, 6FL, I-Drive/Nav/Bluetooth, Alpine hifi upgrade.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=2148&pictureid=44259
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 08:11 AM   #148
TripleBlack
First Lieutenant
TripleBlack's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
346
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW E93 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for clarifying. I don't understand how I misunderstood this thread to be about the CCC too. Bit annoyed now. 😞
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 08:18 AM   #149
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagingKileak View Post
Gents,

Has anyone got a set of 2012 Premium disks for an E92 Pro Nav? Happy to pay as I can't be ar$ed downloading and burning via a dual layer burner (which I don't have.)

Rgds
Matt
I've got the 2013 Premium ones made from downloads, i've upgraded my car with them so I know they work, PM me your address and I'll put them in the post for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BanziBarn View Post
I'm keen to find out if indeed doughboy did have 7 digit when trying this method - it would be the main reason I'd do the upgrade.
No 7 digit postcodes for me I'm afraid. This means my background NAV F/W is not new enough, so I need a whole-car update.

Maybe going for the 'security' patch will get me that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleBlack View Post
Thanks for clarifying. I don't understand how I misunderstood this thread to be about the CCC too. Bit annoyed now. 😞
Easily done, its all these DPA's (damn pesky acronyms)
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 08:38 AM   #150
RagingKileak
Brigadier General
United Kingdom
71
Rep
4,637
Posts

 
Drives: Modified Alpine White E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Yorkshire

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doughboy View Post
I've got the 2013 Premium ones made from downloads, i've upgraded my car with them so I know they work, PM me your address and I'll put them in the post for you.



No 7 digit postcodes for me I'm afraid. This means my background NAV F/W is not new enough, so I need a whole-car update.

Maybe going for the 'security' patch will get me that?



Easily done, its all these DPA's (damn pesky acronyms)
Thanks mate. PM sent.

Matt
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 09:11 AM   #151
BanziBarn
Lieutenant Colonel
BanziBarn's Avatar
34
Rep
1,789
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330D E90 LCI Msport
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doughboy View Post
No 7 digit postcodes for me I'm afraid. This means my background NAV F/W is not new enough, so I need a whole-car update.

Maybe going for the 'security' patch will get me that?
Damn. Not going to risk it then. Not too bothered about the maps, most roads are the same as they were a few years ago - just want postcodes! Will just have to rely on Google maps navigation on my phone if I get stuck then!
__________________
Black 330d E90 LCI M Sport Saloon Auto. Privacy Glass, Cream Leather, 6FL, I-Drive/Nav/Bluetooth, Alpine hifi upgrade.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=2148&pictureid=44259
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 11:49 AM   #152
ELD70
Private
0
Rep
94
Posts

 
Drives: 325d
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South East

iTrader: (0)

If any one does not want to download etc. I have a genuine 2013 boxed set of DVDs for sale, posted for 20.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 07:40 PM   #153
cage911
Lieutenant
cage911's Avatar
United Kingdom
6
Rep
426
Posts

 
Drives: e93 Msport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELD70 View Post
If any one does not want to download etc. I have a genuine 2013 boxed set of DVDs for sale, posted for 20.
PM sent
__________________
BMW E93 Sold but not forgotten.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 10:55 PM   #154
TripleBlack
First Lieutenant
TripleBlack's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
346
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW E93 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

CCC Nav comment

After months of researching. One comment on this thread made it clear that CCC Navs don't need a code to be activated. All I needed to know. Bought a £10, 2013 job of eBay. Looks home made. Took 5 mins to work. Slightly concerned that its just a modified DVD of an older Nav data with speed cameras inlcuded as POS. Will give it a test drive in a couple hours and check for any other differences. If that's the best I can get I'll just have to accept it.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST