E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > PROcede / battery / HPFP????



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-28-2012, 07:41 PM   #1
ptwob311
Second Lieutenant
ptwob311's Avatar
2
Rep
204
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

PROcede / battery / HPFP????

So I went to the stealership and got a new battery and had it registered. PROcede was turned off but left in the car as I no longer have a warranty so why bother right???

Now here is the fun part... If the PROcede is on, when I floor it as soon as it gets to 4K rpm, the Service Engine Soon light comes on and the car goes into limp mode. HOWEVER, with the PROcede off, Map 0, the car will pull at WOT all the way till redline and shift. No Problems, and no limp.. pull after pull. THe 1st occurrence was 500 yards from the dealership when I tried to pass someone with the PROcede on.

Once the SES light is on, a short time later it will go off and the car goes back to normal. PROcede off or on. I tried this 4 times before posting....
HPFP was replaced less than 2,000 miles ago.
Should I suspect foul play on the part of the stealership? ie "frying" my PROcede?
What could be the cause of this besides the HPFP? But if it is the HPFP why no problem with PROcede off. I run 10psi stage 1 with K&N filter.

thanks for help
__________________
Rides
2007 335i Sedan Titanium Silver Metallic
2003 Yamaha YZF-R1
2000 Ford Ranger (daily driver)
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2012, 10:01 PM   #2
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Need to read the codes..
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      11-28-2012, 10:12 PM   #3
ptwob311
Second Lieutenant
ptwob311's Avatar
2
Rep
204
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

yea, I got to go get one of the USB cables... My other computer that had the serial port died
__________________
Rides
2007 335i Sedan Titanium Silver Metallic
2003 Yamaha YZF-R1
2000 Ford Ranger (daily driver)
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2012, 11:36 PM   #4
Wedge1967
Banned
United_States
25
Rep
2,172
Posts

 
Drives: '07 e92 AT Sport Montego Blue
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (3)

Did you do a full reset on the PROcede?
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2012, 11:50 PM   #5
OECMG
Banned
0
Rep
46
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Maybe someone at the dealer is playing tricks with you??

I read somewhere there is a way to read out the codes through the tach but I can't find the directions for that. Someone here might be able to forward them to you.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 02:03 PM   #6
ptwob311
Second Lieutenant
ptwob311's Avatar
2
Rep
204
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wedge1967 View Post
Did you do a full reset on the PROcede?
how do you do that?
__________________
Rides
2007 335i Sedan Titanium Silver Metallic
2003 Yamaha YZF-R1
2000 Ford Ranger (daily driver)
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 02:05 PM   #7
Garrett@Vishnu
Private
Garrett@Vishnu's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
60
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 S2K
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

The best way to get some feedback remotely would be to get connected with a laptop. Use our User Tuning Interface that is available for free download from our website, PROcedetuning.com. Try to pull any codes and/or run a datalog and attempt to recreate this condition. Also, if you are local to us or one of our official dealers, we can provide further support directly to you.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 02:55 PM   #8
Renus
Lieutenant
Renus's Avatar
5
Rep
524
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptwob311 View Post
So I went to the stealership and got a new battery and had it registered. PROcede was turned off but left in the car as I no longer have a warranty so why bother right???

Now here is the fun part... If the PROcede is on, when I floor it as soon as it gets to 4K rpm, the Service Engine Soon light comes on and the car goes into limp mode. HOWEVER, with the PROcede off, Map 0, the car will pull at WOT all the way till redline and shift. No Problems, and no limp.. pull after pull. THe 1st occurrence was 500 yards from the dealership when I tried to pass someone with the PROcede on.

Once the SES light is on, a short time later it will go off and the car goes back to normal. PROcede off or on. I tried this 4 times before posting....
HPFP was replaced less than 2,000 miles ago.
Should I suspect foul play on the part of the stealership? ie "frying" my PROcede?
What could be the cause of this besides the HPFP? But if it is the HPFP why no problem with PROcede off. I run 10psi stage 1 with K&N filter.

thanks for help


I have experienced the same case as you, finally it is about spark plugs, just change a set new one and problem would be solved.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 04:31 PM   #9
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
244
Rep
18,329
Posts


 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
It sounds like you have a misfire, likely related to spark plugs. If they are over 25,000 miles they likely need replacement.

Reading the codes would 9/10 show a misfire. The misfire only occurs tuned because you are running nearly 2x more boost then stock, perfectly normal.

Over time the spark plugs gap increases, which is the cause of these misfires.

However, I would first, reinstall the firmware and software on the PROcede and do a reset.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 05:14 PM   #10
Wedge1967
Banned
United_States
25
Rep
2,172
Posts

 
Drives: '07 e92 AT Sport Montego Blue
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptwob311 View Post
how do you do that?
Step 1: Turn ignition ON, use the cruz control to access Command Mode 3.

Step 2: Once in Mode 3, go to commands 12 and reset 12 thru 1 (12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 in that order). It's also a good idea to wait 10 seconds once Command 3 is executed (DME reset) before progressing to 2 and then 1.

Step 2: From your USB cable, go to COMMS menu in user software and select "Reset PROcede". This will take a few seconds.

Step 4: Turn ignition power fully OFF and wait 5 seconds

Step 5: Start the car and drive!
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 07:32 PM   #11
ptwob311
Second Lieutenant
ptwob311's Avatar
2
Rep
204
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

codes reveal misfire on cylinder 4. new plugs are enroute...
__________________
Rides
2007 335i Sedan Titanium Silver Metallic
2003 Yamaha YZF-R1
2000 Ford Ranger (daily driver)
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 07:56 PM   #12
Eric335
Colonel
Eric335's Avatar
United_States
35
Rep
2,493
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 SG 335i 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.83]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptwob311
codes reveal misfire on cylinder 4. new plugs are enroute...
Good choice. I recommend ordering an ignition coil as well (fairly cheap, $47) to have on hand. I replacrd my plugs 100 miles ago to fix a misfire and it worked until last week, where it reappeared in cylinder 5 only. Then yesterday i replaced my Cylinder 5 ignition coil and it solved all the stuttering/misfires that had reappeared.

Just my $0.02. It might just be ur plugs, but its always nice to have an extra coil on hand in case you start having misfires on only a single cylinder.

PS-Do you have the spark plug socket tool? You need this in order to replace the plugs yourself. Its like $19.99 from BMS
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 08:08 PM   #13
ptwob311
Second Lieutenant
ptwob311's Avatar
2
Rep
204
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

ordering the tool tonight. Hoping to have it all back together by Friday for a trip to Houston.

I also just pulled another code 12543 which is an under boost code. could it be spark plug related?
__________________
Rides
2007 335i Sedan Titanium Silver Metallic
2003 Yamaha YZF-R1
2000 Ford Ranger (daily driver)
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST