E90Post
 


Horizon LED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > HELP - AUX/Cigarette fuse blown?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-29-2012, 09:28 AM   #1
JaysBlueE92
Mr. Monaco
JaysBlueE92's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
4,038
Posts

 
Drives: Slow..
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 E92  [2.50]
HELP - AUX/Cigarette fuse blown?

I recently started my car and lost my aux radio input. It is gray on the dash, and I believe it may just be the fuse that needs to be replaced. Can anyone here help and let me know what fuse I may need to replace? I have some pictures below - help!





__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 09:46 AM   #2
gpb
First Lieutenant
3
Rep
393
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Cabrio
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Diagram suggests #30 for the power outlet / cigarette lighter. Pull it and see if it's blown. As for an actual AUX input I'm not sure which fuse that would be, nor am I clear on what you mean by "gray on the dash"

Once you know what fuse blew, try to figure out WHY it blew. Fuses rarely blow just 'cuz they feel like it, they're a safety device to prevent wires from melting when something *else* in the electrical system causes too heavy a load.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 10:14 AM   #3
JaysBlueE92
Mr. Monaco
JaysBlueE92's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
4,038
Posts

 
Drives: Slow..
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 E92  [2.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpb View Post
Diagram suggests #30 for the power outlet / cigarette lighter. Pull it and see if it's blown. As for an actual AUX input I'm not sure which fuse that would be, nor am I clear on what you mean by "gray on the dash"

Once you know what fuse blew, try to figure out WHY it blew. Fuses rarely blow just 'cuz they feel like it, they're a safety device to prevent wires from melting when something *else* in the electrical system causes too heavy a load.

so you think it's the yellow 20 fuse in spot 30? I will check thanks. As for gray on the dash i mean that the "AUX" icon is there on my idrive but it is gray and i cannot select it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 10:43 AM   #4
gpb
First Lieutenant
3
Rep
393
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Cabrio
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Just to be clear: I think the cig lighter power is in slot #30 (looks to be a 20amp fuse, yellow), but I have no idea how it would be associated with your AUX input not working on your radio.

What happens if you connect a male to male headphone cord between the headphone output of a phone or mp3 player and the AUX input jack?
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 12:38 PM   #5
JaysBlueE92
Mr. Monaco
JaysBlueE92's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
4,038
Posts

 
Drives: Slow..
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 E92  [2.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpb View Post
Just to be clear: I think the cig lighter power is in slot #30 (looks to be a 20amp fuse, yellow), but I have no idea how it would be associated with your AUX input not working on your radio.

What happens if you connect a male to male headphone cord between the headphone output of a phone or mp3 player and the AUX input jack?
ok i believe that same fuse controls both. When i connect the aux to my iphone or ipod nomusic comes out of speakers, and i cant select AUX because it is "gray" on screen
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2012, 03:57 PM   #6
JaysBlueE92
Mr. Monaco
JaysBlueE92's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
4,038
Posts

 
Drives: Slow..
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 E92  [2.50]
still not working - any way to easily check all fuses???
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2012, 04:28 PM   #7
techy1
Lieutenant
techy1's Avatar
Trinidad_and_tobago
6
Rep
596
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brampton Canada

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaysBlueE92 View Post
still not working - any way to easily check all fuses???
run into a wal mart or any auto store and ask for a fuse tester. make sure and have a good ground.

its easy to use just tap on the metal piece if it lights up then its good, if it doesn't then its blown. they are $5.00-$10.00 but come in handy more than you think.
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2012, 04:29 PM   #8
techy1
Lieutenant
techy1's Avatar
Trinidad_and_tobago
6
Rep
596
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brampton Canada

iTrader: (2)

just out of curiosity did you try a different aux cable?

I'm wondering how you narrowed this down to a fuse problem.

also did you try resetting your iphone/ipod?
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2012, 09:26 PM   #9
snoozee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
213
Posts

 
Drives: 318i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

there shouldn't be any fuses for the aux input as it's usually wired to the radio directly or to the mulf if you have usb option.

so your problem may mean there might be something wrong with the radio or the mulf module.
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2012, 09:47 PM   #10
techy1
Lieutenant
techy1's Avatar
Trinidad_and_tobago
6
Rep
596
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brampton Canada

iTrader: (2)

did you also test the cig lighter? They could possibly be on the same fuse but might be completely separate.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2012, 08:47 AM   #11
JaysBlueE92
Mr. Monaco
JaysBlueE92's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
4,038
Posts

 
Drives: Slow..
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 E92  [2.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by techy1 View Post
run into a wal mart or any auto store and ask for a fuse tester. make sure and have a good ground.

its easy to use just tap on the metal piece if it lights up then its good, if it doesn't then its blown. they are $5.00-$10.00 but come in handy more than you think.
thanks i'm going to try that this weekend

Quote:
Originally Posted by techy1 View Post
just out of curiosity did you try a different aux cable?

I'm wondering how you narrowed this down to a fuse problem.

also did you try resetting your iphone/ipod?
yes tried both..no success. I am just trying the fuse before anything else as MULF diagnosis can be tricky and costly. My car is one of the earlier e92s (10/06) build so i'm hoping its just a fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoozee View Post
there shouldn't be any fuses for the aux input as it's usually wired to the radio directly or to the mulf if you have usb option.

so your problem may mean there might be something wrong with the radio or the mulf module.
this is what i'm hoping to avoid, but we'll see. I may need to get the radio coded as I swapped in a new headunit due to my old CCC failing. Chances are thats the case

Quote:
Originally Posted by techy1 View Post
did you also test the cig lighter? They could possibly be on the same fuse but might be completely separate.
yes neither work, have seen on here that the two often run off the same or so i thought
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2012, 11:11 PM   #12
snoozee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
213
Posts

 
Drives: 318i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaysBlueE92 View Post

this is what i'm hoping to avoid, but we'll see. I may need to get the radio coded as I swapped in a new headunit due to my old CCC failing. Chances are thats the case
if you had just changed a new head unit, then you definitely need to get the radio coded else the radio would not know that you have the correct options.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2012, 03:54 PM   #13
only_36
New Member
1
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 330xD E91
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse, FRANCE

iTrader: (0)

I have a similar issue.
E91 2007 with Blutooth, idrive CCC... Mulf-High in the trunk, USB female plug .
The previous owner destroyed the USB female plug (???) and the gold contact were probably doing a short-circuit.
I have checked the USB hub (floor panel - driver side) but it seems ok (no burned area) and the 12v to power it is ok.
Blutooth fonctions are ok too.

How to check the behaviour of each module ???
Thanks
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST