E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-07-2012, 03:12 PM   #6689
DallasBoosted
Captain
 
DallasBoosted's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

Posts: 864
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Anybody else have trouble putting a live log up on the Cobb for any period of time because it always seems to disconnect or have communication trouble?
DallasBoosted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 03:23 PM   #6690
benzy89
Banned
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasBoosted View Post
Anybody else have trouble putting a live log up on the Cobb for any period of time because it always seems to disconnect or have communication trouble?
I've had it freeze up on me a few times if it's plugged in & I just let it sit. If I go to do some pulls, I usually have everything ready & plug it into the OBD just when I'm about to do the logs.
benzy89 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 03:28 PM   #6691
DallasBoosted
Captain
 
DallasBoosted's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

Posts: 864
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post
I've had it freeze up on me a few times if it's plugged in & I just let it sit. If I go to do some pulls, I usually have everything ready & plug it into the OBD just when I'm about to do the logs.
Yea I was considering mounting the AP via suction cup and putting up AFR or coolant temp or something just to have another gauge, but it didn't stay connected more than 5 minutes or so...

Totally fine for datalogging pulls, but not that useful as a gauge...

Suggestion: when the thing loses connection, can't it try to re-establish itself?
DallasBoosted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 03:54 PM   #6692
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
 
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
Hmm... overboosts are common on the OTS mapping for some cars and this has me wondering if the OPPOSITE could be true for some cars. Maybe the OTS WGDC mapping isn't aggressive enough on certain maps and there isn't enough adders or PID to make up the difference. This could be interesting.
Since i can't attached anything i can't upload my logs. But I'll let you know what happens after work and see if i get a leak code.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
VNeBLOB42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 05:11 PM   #6693
benzy89
Banned
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasBoosted View Post
Yea I was considering mounting the AP via suction cup and putting up AFR or coolant temp or something just to have another gauge, but it didn't stay connected more than 5 minutes or so...

Totally fine for datalogging pulls, but not that useful as a gauge...

Suggestion: when the thing loses connection, can't it try to re-establish itself?
I try to keep up something with more "activity" like the RPM gauge & it tends to freeze less. Now that I got dynod I'm actually waiting for it to stop raining to see what the 1/4 mile & 0-60 estimates are. Anybody know how accurate that feature is on the AP??
benzy89 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 05:31 PM   #6694
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
 
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post
I try to keep up something with more "activity" like the RPM gauge & it tends to freeze less. Now that I got dynod I'm actually waiting for it to stop raining to see what the 1/4 mile & 0-60 estimates are. Anybody know how accurate that feature is on the AP??
I read a post somewhere from a guy who had slightly different numbers between his slip and the AP. but that would be expected. it was pretty close, but i believe the AP was reading faster times. Can the AP compensate for wheel dia?
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
VNeBLOB42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 05:42 PM   #6695
Ænema
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

Posts: 961
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
I read a post somewhere from a guy who had slightly different numbers between his slip and the AP. but that would be expected. it was pretty close, but i believe the AP was reading faster times. Can the AP compensate for wheel dia?
The AP is using the ABS signal for MPH/distance calculations so that automatically takes wheel diameter into account.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Ænema is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 05:56 PM   #6696
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
 
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
The AP is using the ABS signal for MPH/distance calculations so that automatically takes wheel diameter into account.
awesome, didn't know that.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
VNeBLOB42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 06:54 PM   #6697
EastCoast335i
Colonel
 
EastCoast335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NJ

Posts: 2,069
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
I now place the cradle on the driver side vent. Plenty of room. Its a 4 way swivel so there is plenty of adjustments, just the vent itself can't carry the weight so you have to compensate the swivel to be angled up, as the vent pulls it down. Make sense?
I think were talking about two different vents...
Not the drivers side with the adjustable fins...
I'm referring to the vent above that that is not adjustable and is at a fixed angle towards the driver side window (defrost purposes)
have you tried that vent and then angled the Cobb AP towards you.
I just think it would be easier to see and keep your eyes on the road while driving (easier to use as a shift indicator as well, since its higher up and closer to eye level)
EastCoast335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 07:04 PM   #6698
benzy89
Banned
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
The AP is using the ABS signal for MPH/distance calculations so that automatically takes wheel diameter into account.
So can the accuracy of the AP be verified? Or do we know it consistently reads fast/slow?
benzy89 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 07:41 PM   #6699
Ænema
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

Posts: 961
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post
So can the accuracy of the AP be verified? Or do we know it consistently reads fast/slow?
Based on what I've seen the AP reads fast. Remember that the factory speedometer is only accurate to within ~4% so the faster you go the more it will be off.

The thing to keep in mind is that the measurements it provides should be used to show deltas rather than absolute figures(just like a dyno.) So as long as it's just being used to compare different maps its fine.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Ænema is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 08:30 PM   #6700
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
 
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastCoast335i View Post
I think were talking about two different vents...
Not the drivers side with the adjustable fins...
I'm referring to the vent above that that is not adjustable and is at a fixed angle towards the driver side window (defrost purposes)
have you tried that vent and then angled the Cobb AP towards you.
I just think it would be easier to see and keep your eyes on the road while driving (easier to use as a shift indicator as well, since its higher up and closer to eye level)
Got it,

I'll get back to you tomorrow and test it out.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
VNeBLOB42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 09:19 PM   #6701
DallasBoosted
Captain
 
DallasBoosted's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

Posts: 864
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
The AP is using the ABS signal for MPH/distance calculations so that automatically takes wheel diameter into account.
No, it doesn't take wheel diameter or tire size into account; but since it uses the wheel speed sensors any changes in gearing (rear end or transmission) won't matter to it. All it can do is measure each time the wheel turns; how far the car moves for each revolution is a mystery to it. Bigger overall circumference of tires will cause the speedo to read slower (and thus the AP slower), shorter tires will cause it to read fast.
DallasBoosted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 10:53 PM   #6702
Ænema
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

Posts: 961
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasBoosted View Post
No, it doesn't take wheel diameter or tire size into account; but since it uses the wheel speed sensors any changes in gearing (rear end or transmission) won't matter to it. All it can do is measure each time the wheel turns; how far the car moves for each revolution is a mystery to it. Bigger overall circumference of tires will cause the speedo to read slower (and thus the AP slower), shorter tires will cause it to read fast.
Yeah, you're right about the tire diameter. Total brain fart on my end. However, in all instances that I've see the AP reads fast. That's not saying it always reads fast, you could possibly find 100 instances where it reads slow, but that's just what I've seen.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Ænema is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2012, 12:05 PM   #6703
DallasBoosted
Captain
 
DallasBoosted's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

Posts: 864
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
Yeah, you're right about the tire diameter. Total brain fart on my end. However, in all instances that I've see the AP reads fast. That's not saying it always reads fast, you could possibly find 100 instances where it reads slow, but that's just what I've seen.
I think it reads fast because our speedos are all calibrated to read fast, and thats what the AP uses to know how far you've gone/how fast you're going.
DallasBoosted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2012, 12:09 PM   #6704
Ænema
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

Posts: 961
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasBoosted View Post
I think it reads fast because our speedos are all calibrated to read fast, and thats what the AP uses to know how far you've gone/how fast you're going.
I think your right.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Ænema is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 12:00 PM   #6705
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
 
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
Hmm... overboosts are common on the OTS mapping for some cars and this has me wondering if the OPPOSITE could be true for some cars. Maybe the OTS WGDC mapping isn't aggressive enough on certain maps and there isn't enough adders or PID to make up the difference. This could be interesting.
So i am running OTS S1+ Drive, got tired of the Ethanol Blends and only have 91. Ran 4 logs Saturday and no signs of overboost and or got no Boost Leak Codes.

Is it possible to get leak codes on more aggressive MAPs (18.5 psi) on not mild MAPs (15 psi)? I would assume if I had a true leak, I would have gotten one on the OTS S1+ Drive MAP? I have a funny feeling the code was thrown because the car hadn't fully adapted to S1+ Agg. from my Pro Tune? could that be a cause?
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
VNeBLOB42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 12:04 PM   #6706
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
 
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilvosko View Post
Anyone using a mount or clip for Cobb ap when monitoring, like on AC vent?
Actually a really nice place for the COBB. After a few minor adjustment to the swivel, I was able to get a good angle. Holds really nice. New spot for me.



__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
VNeBLOB42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 12:44 PM   #6707
Ænema
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

Posts: 961
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 View Post
So i am running OTS S1+ Drive, got tired of the Ethanol Blends and only have 91. Ran 4 logs Saturday and no signs of overboost and or got no Boost Leak Codes.

Is it possible to get leak codes on more aggressive MAPs (18.5 psi) on not mild MAPs (15 psi)? I would assume if I had a true leak, I would have gotten one on the OTS S1+ Drive MAP? I have a funny feeling the code was thrown because the car hadn't fully adapted to S1+ Agg. from my Pro Tune? could that be a cause?
Adaption could be a possibility. The PID system does allow for some adaptions and it's possible it just hadn't had the time to do so.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Ænema is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 01:03 PM   #6708
VNeBLOB42
Lieutenant Colonel
 
VNeBLOB42's Avatar
 
Drives: 14' GMC Terrain SLT-2
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
007 335i E92  [3.83]
Send a message via Skype™ to VNeBLOB42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
Adaption could be a possibility. The PID system does allow for some adaptions and it's possible it just hadn't had the time to do so.
awesome thanks for the replay and I will keep an eye out.

FYI, I did get some very minor throttle closures on OTS S1+ Drive, since its so minor I would think the DME would correct/adapt itself after a few more WOT.
__________________

SOLD:: PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / CPE DCI
VNeBLOB42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 01:10 PM   #6709
Fully_Bolted
Banned
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA

Posts: 443
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy89 View Post
So can the accuracy of the AP be verified? Or do we know it consistently reads fast/slow?
If i get some better weather i can verify the Cobbs results vs my Gtech Pro. It uses the same 10hz poll frequency as Vbox.
Fully_Bolted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 01:12 PM   #6710
Ænema
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

Posts: 961
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fully_Bolted View Post
If i get some better weather i can verify the Cobbs results vs my Gtech Pro. It uses the same 10hz poll frequency as Vbox.
Looking forward to your results. I think i may invest in one myself.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Ænema is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST