E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Pioneer install



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-29-2012, 11:09 AM   #1
esram
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2009 335ix coupe
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Naples Fl.

Posts: 35
iTrader: (1)

Pioneer install

what do I need for the wiring to make this a plug and play.

Thanks in advance
esram is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 12:05 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,644
iTrader: (0)

What are you installing a Head Unit maybe.

What are you installing a Head Unit maybe?
There are side effects to consider.
And which of the three BMW systems are you starting out with?

Read this
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

You need to install your old head unit in the trunk or at least keep it , because if your car needs programming or
has to have a electronic module replaced the BMW programmer/diagnostic unit will not work unless the original configuration of the car is intact. Plus there are the other issues described in the Head Unit info links.
There are ways around this if you get a coding setup but
you have to be a hacker to use that.

Last edited by ctuna; 12-29-2012 at 01:01 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 01:48 PM   #3
esram
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2009 335ix coupe
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Naples Fl.

Posts: 35
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
What are you installing a Head Unit maybe?
There are side effects to consider.
And which of the three BMW systems are you starting out with?

Read this
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

You need to install your old head unit in the trunk or at least keep it , because if your car needs programming or
has to have a electronic module replaced the BMW programmer/diagnostic unit will not work unless the original configuration of the car is intact. Plus there are the other issues described in the Head Unit info links.
There are ways around this if you get a coding setup but
you have to be a hacker to use that.
Thanks got it from here.
esram is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 04:10 PM   #4
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,169
iTrader: (3)

You're going to lose ASSIST.

You're going to lose your chimes.

You're going to lose any parking sensors.

If you care about any of those, I'd get the head unit recoded to Stereo and then use the speaker outputs to drive some speakers for that function. We used a center speaker just for chimes and front sensors and rear HiFi tweeters under the stock grilles just for rear parking alert.

The old head unit fits where the Sirius tuner is if you take the faceplate off. If you have Sirius you can take that out and sell it.

The Metra relocate kit is ugly and has a different color and finish than the Metra dash kit. You get better results with a pro refinishing it.

We just finished installing an Alpine nav in a 2010 with the stock head unit in the trunk, on the MOST and CAN buses and with chimes and front and rear parking sensors all retained, with steering-wheel controls, a flush USB in the console, the BMW AUX jack wired into the Alpine's AUX, and a backup camera. Works really well. We also installed our Level 2 audio upgrade so it sounds great, but I don't think it sounds any better than the Pro CD player would have until I use the parametric EQ and time correction settings.
__________________
musicar northwest portland or musicarnw.com

Web site migration complete, still repairing problems. Sorry!
VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 08:45 PM   #5
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,644
iTrader: (0)

Have any pictures of it installed VP?

Have any pictures of it installed VP?

The head unit I mean.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST