E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > Jb4 update and ISO



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-11-2012, 07:46 AM   #1
Sam335ix
Major
Sam335ix's Avatar
22
Rep
1,275
Posts

 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

iTrader: (0)

Jb4 update and ISO

So I asked Terry yesterday if I need to update my jb4 in order to install my e85 harness... He suggested firmware update or ISO. But I am guessing he said both? Can you guys help me out here? I have the link for the ISO, just need some clarification.
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 08:27 AM   #2
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

If you are installing the flex fuel wires...just do the ISO mod while youre in there. It will take an extra 2 minutes. It makes the car feel so much better. But I guess to answer your question specifically, yes, you do need to at least update the firmware to the 8/17 update.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 08:59 AM   #3
Sam335ix
Major
Sam335ix's Avatar
22
Rep
1,275
Posts

 
Drives: 335 ix performance edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Redskin Country

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abear View Post
If you are installing the flex fuel wires...just do the ISO mod while youre in there. It will take an extra 2 minutes. It makes the car feel so much better. But I guess to answer your question specifically, yes, you do need to at least update the firmware to the 8/17 update.
Thank you
__________________
2011 e90 KW V1, JB4, BMS Dp, BMS Intake, CP, Alpina Flash, ISO, E85

Coming soon to the garage: 2014 M3 Maybe M5
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 11:14 AM   #4
mashimarho
BMW Genius
mashimarho's Avatar
United_States
189
Rep
10,504
Posts

 
Drives: e92 LCI 335i xDrive™
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, michigan

iTrader: (36)

Garage List
I don't think the ISO mod is just an update. I believe there is cutting required. I'm going to check it out and do it myself.
__________________

My Progress: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=770326
Volk///ER///BMS///KW///VRSF///ARKYM///DD///CYBA///STOPTECH///BMW Performance ///
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 12:00 PM   #5
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mashimarho View Post
I don't think the ISO mod is just an update. I believe there is cutting required. I'm going to check it out and do it myself.
Yeah, there is cutting required, you just have to cut a diode off the board, not hard at all. I told him because he was installing the flex fuel wires, that since he was already in there and had everything apart to go ahead and cut the diode to do the ISO mod.

Its very, very, very simple. Its easier to do that than it was to instal the E85 wires.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 12:20 PM   #6
mashimarho
BMW Genius
mashimarho's Avatar
United_States
189
Rep
10,504
Posts

 
Drives: e92 LCI 335i xDrive™
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, michigan

iTrader: (36)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abear View Post
Yeah, there is cutting required, you just have to cut a diode off the board, not hard at all. I told him because he was installing the flex fuel wires, that since he was already in there and had everything apart to go ahead and cut the diode to do the ISO mod.

Its very, very, very simple. Its easier to do that than it was to instal the E85 wires.
Would there be any cons to the ISO?
__________________

My Progress: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=770326
Volk///ER///BMS///KW///VRSF///ARKYM///DD///CYBA///STOPTECH///BMW Performance ///
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 12:32 PM   #7
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mashimarho View Post
Would there be any cons to the ISO?
I havent noticed any yet, and Ive had it installed for a few days now. Terry said there may be a transistor that needs to be upgraded later, but we will only find out later. So far though, no problems.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 12:36 PM   #8
sA x sKy
Sameet
sA x sKy's Avatar
Bangladesh
36
Rep
1,752
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi '11 -> M4 '15
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Long Island, New York

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mashimarho View Post
Would there be any cons to the ISO?
Nothing that I notice...just my foot on the pedal more with more predictable boost. So I guess my drop in MPG is a con? lol
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2012, 12:44 PM   #9
mashimarho
BMW Genius
mashimarho's Avatar
United_States
189
Rep
10,504
Posts

 
Drives: e92 LCI 335i xDrive™
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, michigan

iTrader: (36)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sA x sKy View Post
Nothing that I notice...just my foot on the pedal more with more predictable boost. So I guess my drop in MPG is a con? lol
Damn! JK haha
__________________

My Progress: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=770326
Volk///ER///BMS///KW///VRSF///ARKYM///DD///CYBA///STOPTECH///BMW Performance ///
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2012, 10:01 PM   #10
335iBoii
Take Off*
0
Rep
47
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA

iTrader: (0)

okay im a bit confused. i have the old g4 board, i have a n54 aswell not a n55. Im interested in doing this iso mod, update or w.e it is due to the positive feedback espiecally in this thread. How would I go about going from my old g4 board to the ISO mod or whatever it is everyone is talking about?
__________________
JB4 G5 ISO, AR DP's, ER CP, Synapse BOV, AlpineMSS HID, BMS Oil Catch Can, BMS CDV... WISHLIST--> LSD
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2012, 10:43 PM   #11
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335iBoii View Post
okay im a bit confused. i have the old g4 board, i have a n54 aswell not a n55. Im interested in doing this iso mod, update or w.e it is due to the positive feedback espiecally in this thread. How would I go about going from my old g4 board to the ISO mod or whatever it is everyone is talking about?
You dont. You dont have an N55...go to the N54 board and ask them. Apparently our JB4 board is already a G5 board and all we have to do in order to get ISO is cut a diode. Im pretty sure its much different on an N54 G4 board.
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2012, 10:48 PM   #12
335iBoii
Take Off*
0
Rep
47
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA

iTrader: (0)

the process is the exact same its the cutting the diode and stuff like that im worried about.. all i have to do is order the 150$ upgrade and i get the new "black box" then i would have the g5 board but would have to do the same cut you do in order to get the ISO.. just wanted to make sure it was as easy as that and also how exactly how cut these diodes so nothing messes up
__________________
JB4 G5 ISO, AR DP's, ER CP, Synapse BOV, AlpineMSS HID, BMS Oil Catch Can, BMS CDV... WISHLIST--> LSD
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2012, 10:49 PM   #13
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335iBoii View Post
the process is the exact same its the cutting the diode and stuff like that im worried about.. all i have to do is order the 150$ upgrade and i get the new "black box" then i would have the g5 board but would have to do the same cut you do in order to get the ISO.. just wanted to make sure it was as easy as that and also how exactly how cut these diodes so nothing messes up
Maybe, Im not sure, really couldnt say as I dont have a N54. Either go to the N54 section here, or just go to Terrys site and read. Im sure you will find what your looking for, your just looking in the wrong section right now. But, it is just ordering the board and cutting the diode, then yes, its very simple to cut it.
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2012, 11:02 PM   #14
335iBoii
Take Off*
0
Rep
47
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA

iTrader: (0)

and after you cut it, you can instantly go and install the ISO firmware?

ps thanks alot i didn't even realize it was the wrong section but you are answering all my questions haha
__________________
JB4 G5 ISO, AR DP's, ER CP, Synapse BOV, AlpineMSS HID, BMS Oil Catch Can, BMS CDV... WISHLIST--> LSD
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 12:41 AM   #15
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Yeah, after you cut the diode, you install the ISO firmware. Also, my last sentence in my last post I meant to say "But, if it is.....", not but, it is. Im not sure if all it is is just ordering the board and cutting it, but if it is, its easy, lol.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 09:19 AM   #16
xnfsx
Captain
10
Rep
605
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abear
Yeah, after you cut the diode, you install the ISO firmware. Also, my last sentence in my last post I meant to say "But, if it is.....", not but, it is. Im not sure if all it is is just ordering the board and cutting it, but if it is, its easy, lol.
So the iso is the latest firmware. after I cut my diode, I just did the Iso-C hex file. that's it. But my old firmware was back in July...or was I suppose to update something else too. lol
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 08:27 PM   #17
Abear
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xnfsx View Post
So the iso is the latest firmware. after I cut my diode, I just did the Iso-C hex file. that's it. But my old firmware was back in July...or was I suppose to update something else too. lol
Yes, ISO-c is the latest..for the ISO. If you dont cut the diode, then load the 8/17 firmware. If you cut the diode, load the ISO-C firmware. The only other thing would be to update the interface software to the newest version..12/23 I think..cant remember.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 09:53 PM   #18
xnfsx
Captain
10
Rep
605
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

I see I see. nice. thanks
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST