E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > Solid state hard drives



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-01-2013, 07:33 PM   #23
misterS3
Lieutenant Colonel
27
Rep
1,606
Posts

 
Drives: X70 on the way
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bomber View Post
I've just installed a OCZ Vertex 4 in my 2009 Macbook Pro and all I can say is OMG , its the fastest thing I have ever used, I just cloned the original HDD and away I went.

I will be installing SSD's in all the machines I use now.
I got an Agility 3 for my old netbook on a whim just before xmas (there is a curry's 10 mins walk from my house so i ordered it to collect from them but when i got there they didn't have it, so they got one put aside from PC world and gave me free mounting kit to pay for petrol) which i was about to bin and it's brought it back to life.

I'm going to get a vertex 4 for a new desktop (pc world again coming out cheapest?!) i have coming and one for the old one which i'll give my dad.

SSD for OS is the way forward for sure!
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 03:08 AM   #24
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Been thinking about upgrading existing machines, but how do you clone the existing HDD if the machine has only 1 drive slot?

I wa planning clean installs again.
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 04:47 AM   #25
Boz335i
Captain
Boz335i's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
609
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buckingham

iTrader: (5)

I just specced a 512GB SSD for my new Vaio Z series (+1150)

Off to fully booted and ready to work is about 15 seconds whereas my old Z takes about 3 minutes. Both Windows 7 - 64 bit. (I remember when I thought 3 minutes was quick!)
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 07:05 AM   #26
rich1068
has left the building
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,363
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

An additional 1150!!??

Couldn't you have put one in yourself?
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 07:13 AM   #27
Dave_3
Colonel
Dave_3's Avatar
Scotland
43
Rep
2,809
Posts

 
Drives: F32 430D sDrive Msport
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CH / SCO

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by doughboy View Post
Been thinking about upgrading existing machines, but how do you clone the existing HDD if the machine has only 1 drive slot?

I wa planning clean installs again.
Some come with a kit including Norton Ghost, and an adapter cable so you can connect the ssd externally to a usb port. So all you would need is the cable and cloning software.

The kits I was looking at had these in a bundle - but doesn't look like they are still available - so will have to locate a cable myself. Though I have a few sata to usb cables I can try first.

One other thing that may be included is a small adapter plate as some drives are thinner than the standard 2.5".

D.
__________________
Escort Mk1 RS2000 (2.1 2x44IDFS, BVH, Kent FR32, 5spd, 180 BHP) : Fully Loaded F32 430D M Sport sDrive : Previously Full-Spec 335D E92 2006 : Capri MK1 full rebuild in progress

Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 08:51 AM   #28
Bomber
Second Lieutenant
Bomber's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Essex

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by doughboy View Post
Been thinking about upgrading existing machines, but how do you clone the existing HDD if the machine has only 1 drive slot?

I wa planning clean installs again.
I just bought a basic 2.5 caddy from eBay and it worked a treat
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 08:55 AM   #29
Mr Singh
Banned
United Kingdom
17
Rep
773
Posts

 
Drives: E91 330D M Sport Auto
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Milton Keynes

iTrader: (3)

I have a 240GB Corsair SSD, plus 16GB of ram disk. The Ram disk is worth considering if you have space for more ram on your MB
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 01:04 PM   #30
- Paul -
Major General
- Paul -'s Avatar
England
179
Rep
7,274
Posts

 
Drives: see above.
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2005 320D SE  [5.00]
2005 645  [4.50]
Get one - they are fast.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 01:43 PM   #31
CarAbuser
Captain
CarAbuser's Avatar
United Kingdom
10
Rep
791
Posts

 
Drives: E89 Z4 35i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Worcestershire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Singh View Post
I have a 240GB Corsair SSD, plus 16GB of ram disk. The Ram disk is worth considering if you have space for more ram on your MB
If by ram disk you mean pagefiling onto HDD space then you will still see a performance drop. The latency and speed ram operates at is still far quicker than any SSD could hope to achieve, especially one connected to SATA ports.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_3 View Post
Some come with a kit including Norton Ghost, and an adapter cable so you can connect the ssd externally to a usb port. So all you would need is the cable and cloning software.

The kits I was looking at had these in a bundle - but doesn't look like they are still available - so will have to locate a cable myself. Though I have a few sata to usb cables I can try first.

One other thing that may be included is a small adapter plate as some drives are thinner than the standard 2.5".

D.
I can't remember the exact numbers but I think even if you have a modern PC with USB3 you will still be losing out on speed by connecting an SSD to USB. Even if the advertised figures look good the actual throughput that most USB interfaces provide is a lot lower.



Another thing that most PC modders forget is that to gain the best performance from the SSD you need to enable AHCI in the motherboard before installing windows. If you fail to do so then Windows will install with trim disabled and you aren't going to get the full performance boost an SSD can offer. There is ways of changing retrospectively but they are messy.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 03:29 PM   #32
rich1068
has left the building
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,363
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarAbuser View Post
Another thing that most PC modders forget is that to gain the best performance from the SSD you need to enable AHCI in the motherboard before installing windows. If you fail to do so then Windows will install with trim disabled and you aren't going to get the full performance boost an SSD can offer. There is ways of changing retrospectively but they are messy.
Quite true. I used to follow a great SSD install guide over on the OCZ support forum. If I can find it I'll post the link.

:edit:

Found the link http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...-win7-with-SSD

It's from 2010 but works well for my (old) Vertex Turbos.

Last edited by rich1068; 01-02-2013 at 03:43 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 04:53 PM   #33
Dave_3
Colonel
Dave_3's Avatar
Scotland
43
Rep
2,809
Posts

 
Drives: F32 430D sDrive Msport
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CH / SCO

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarAbuser View Post

I can't remember the exact numbers but I think even if you have a modern PC with USB3 you will still be losing out on speed by connecting an SSD to USB. Even if the advertised figures look good the actual throughput that most USB interfaces provide is a lot lower.
I meant to use an ssd connected through usb only to clone your existing hd, then replace your internal laptop hd with the newly cloned ssd.

Agree, usb no match for a sata link - no benefit really for using an external ssd compared to prices and capacities of good hds.

D.
__________________
Escort Mk1 RS2000 (2.1 2x44IDFS, BVH, Kent FR32, 5spd, 180 BHP) : Fully Loaded F32 430D M Sport sDrive : Previously Full-Spec 335D E92 2006 : Capri MK1 full rebuild in progress

Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 05:18 PM   #34
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Agree, I wouldn't use USB for service drive connection.

TBH new drive and full clean install ain't so bad anyway, SSD should prove its speed then

Its good to have a clear out...
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 06:09 PM   #35
CarAbuser
Captain
CarAbuser's Avatar
United Kingdom
10
Rep
791
Posts

 
Drives: E89 Z4 35i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Worcestershire

iTrader: (0)

Installing a new OS on an SSD is very quick.

If you think just one SSD is quick you can get cards that slot into your PCI ports and have two SSD cards in a RAID0 configuration. Combine the doubled read/write speed with the faster throughput PCI offers and you have warp speed!
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 03:22 AM   #36
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
73
Rep
5,032
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

RAID 0 is a mirror - it does not double the write speed (impossible - as it's actually writing the data to two discs (albeit simultaneously) it's marginally slower). Thoretically it can double read speed as it can get the data from either disc - with a traditional HDD it can get the data from whichever disc's heads are physically closer. In practice speed is about 1.2x. If the disc is solid state then the performance increase is negligeable.

The throughput of a PCIx is better assuming there is enough buffering.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 03:34 AM   #37
scottc
Captain
scottc's Avatar
8
Rep
642
Posts

 
Drives: 911 Carrera S
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

SSD's are the way to go, if you combine it with Windows 8 your boot time will be very fast.

If your PC has Native UEFI support switch it on, use Windows 8 your PC will boot in around 10/15 secs.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 03:53 AM   #38
MEGA
Dieseasal
MEGA's Avatar
United Kingdom
108
Rep
6,849
Posts

 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
I don't really trust any computer builder that 3 years past the post thinks SSDs are terrible and unreliable: But there you go !!!
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 03:55 AM   #39
MEGA
Dieseasal
MEGA's Avatar
United Kingdom
108
Rep
6,849
Posts

 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon View Post
RAID 0 is a mirror

No it isn't!

RAID 1 is mirrored.

RAID 0 is striped IE the data is written to one disk or the other. So raid 0 is far far more performant but there is no resiliency.

There's not even parity information so if one disk fails you've lost 100% of your data. However it's great for performance, very close to 100% faster than a non RAIDED disk although the controller or bus can throttle this back slightly. You have as much storage space as the smallest disk.

I am pretty sure you were thinking of RAID 1.


Rgds
Dave
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 03:57 AM   #40
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
73
Rep
5,032
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

Sorry Mega - my bad. You're absolutely right, I was thinking of RAID 1.

I'd never use 0 - too risky....
__________________
Ian
Current: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 04:21 AM   #41
MEGA
Dieseasal
MEGA's Avatar
United Kingdom
108
Rep
6,849
Posts

 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
I might for say a gaming machine assuming any data I needed to keep was also backed up elsewhere

But not for a main working machine!

I've not looked into the numbers of say RAIDING SSDs at 0. I'd guess you are throttled by everything but the disks in that scenario ...
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 04:22 AM   #42
doughboy
Major General
doughboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
85
Rep
6,384
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post

RAID 0....... You have as much storage space as the smallest disk.


Rgds
Dave
Are you sure dave?

AFAIK in raid0 striped you'll have the storage of both drives added, or twice the smallest one if they differ, as only half the data is on each drive, until the smallest one is full.

i.e 2x500gb striped = 1TB

or 1x500 and 1x400 striped = 800gb (2x400)

Mirrored raid 1 will give the total storage of the smallest drive only.
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 04:23 AM   #43
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
73
Rep
5,032
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

I think with SSD drives performance enhancements through striping would not be hugely significant, but I haven't tried it. Obviously makes a big difference with normal HDDs for which I tend to use RAID10 on the OS.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 04:25 AM   #44
xenon
Major General
xenon's Avatar
England
73
Rep
5,032
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coventry

iTrader: (0)

@ DB - you're correct.
__________________
Ian
Current: 2013 F10 520d M-Sport, Professional Media, Visibility Pack, Reversing Camera, DAB
Previous: 2011 F10 520d M-Sport, 2008 320i M-Sport Coupe, 2002 325i, 2001 318i valvetronic, 1998 318i, 1996 525i, 1990 Porsche 944S2
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST