E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Where does this wire go?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-02-2013, 01:43 PM   #1
xintrc
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Where does this wire go?




My battery was installed by an indy shop. This wire was loosely attached to the bolt in pic 2. Want to make sure it's correct spot. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 02:50 PM   #2
avocet
Lieutenant
6
Rep
565
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver bc

iTrader: (0)

what sort of aftermarket electronics do you have? alarm? remote start?

that is not an oem intallation.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 02:53 PM   #3
CoralRed335XI
First Lieutenant
3
Rep
389
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 335XI Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ,MD

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335XI  [0.50]
Looks like the hardwire kit from a Valentine radar detector.
__________________
2008 E92 335XI, Space Gray on Coral Red, Premium, Cold Weather, Comfort Access, iPod.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 02:53 PM   #4
gunsekun
Banned
9
Rep
714
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: your mom's

iTrader: (0)

looks like subs...that is the correct place
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 04:20 PM   #5
xintrc
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

No, I don't have any aftermarket electronics. Thanks for all the replies.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 05:15 PM   #6
Meeni
Gateropode
Meeni's Avatar
24
Rep
1,884
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330i 06
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: TN

iTrader: (0)

You have aftermarket electronic. You just didnt know until then

This is a piggyback with inline fuse, definitely not oem.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 08:57 PM   #7
xintrc
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meeni View Post
You have aftermarket electronic. You just didnt know until then

This is a piggyback with inline fuse, definitely not oem.
I bought my car new. Everything oem expect suspension and blackline. Come to think of it, my car came with Lo-Jack, is that it??
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 09:09 PM   #8
bmodzelewski
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
216
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore

iTrader: (2)

lo-jack wouldn't be attached directly to the battery
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 09:28 PM   #9
jwzimm
Major
jwzimm's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
1,174
Posts

 
Drives: '11 335i X-drive Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton, WA

iTrader: (10)

That wire is positively NOT OEM. If the dealer told you the car was new I would take it back to them and show them that wire and then request your money back. Or at the very least ask them to remove whatever claptrap that has been added.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 10:33 PM   #10
N55
Major
United_States
14
Rep
1,221
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 335IS E92
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburgh

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I bet you all my my marbles, that the inline fuse wire is not OEM.


If you were told the car was NEW, you my friend got ripped off.
__________________
2008 335xi E90 Alpine White - Sold - 8/19/10 > 2011 335xi E90 Jet Black - Sold - 6/27/12 > 2012 335IS E92 Crimson Red - Current

Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 04:02 AM   #11
rorkor
Second Lieutenant
rorkor's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
278
Posts

 
Drives: '11 E90 N52 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 E70 X5 35d  [5.00]
2011 E90 328i  [5.00]
It may have never left dealer stock which allows it to be sold as new, but unless it had 10 miles or less, it was someone's daily driver or a show toy for a while. I agree, that is some dime store power line. BMW doesn't ball up e tape to cover twisted splices or randome unmarked in-line fuses.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 07:59 AM   #12
osteopathXI
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
177
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe E92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xintrc



My battery was installed by an indy shop. This wire was loosely attached to the bolt in pic 2. Want to make sure it's correct spot. Thanks
As others have said, definitely 100% NOT OEM!
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 08:54 AM   #13
gunsekun
Banned
9
Rep
714
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: your mom's

iTrader: (0)

Please give us more information about your car and the dealer you purchased. This could be a news worthy
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 03:40 PM   #14
caliguy562
Lieutenant
4
Rep
461
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: garaged somewhere in soCal

iTrader: (3)

Follow the wire and see where it leads to or better yet, take back to dealer and let them figure it out. As others have said, definitely not OEM. Keep us updated.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 03:43 PM   #15
DUI Elite
///M at Heart
DUI Elite's Avatar
22
Rep
1,721
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 SGM E90
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (4)

not OEM, and not even an intelligent way to do a hardwire.

I'd have the dealer trace it. Only problem is them saying "that wire wasn't there when we gave the car to you, neither was that battery. Your battery was not installed by a BMW dealer"
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 04:42 PM   #16
xintrc
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

I bought my car in 2008 brand new, EU delivery, all options that I wanted. I also signed up for Lo-Jack. I changed the blacklines myself few years ago.
An indy shop did my Kw v1 and changed my rf tires to non-rf tires about half year ago. Then another indy shop changed my battery about few weeks ago.
I asked to them register it, they told me never heard of such thing. Car gave me active steering and dsc malfunction errors.
Went back there and they couldn't fix it. Went to 4 different shops, all of them that said never heard of registering battery. And one shop told me that I have the wrong battery.
Check the battery myself and found that wire "loosely" attached to bolt in pic 2. I've been going thru some battery replacement diy and pictures online.
I don't see this wire in any of them, so here I am trying to figure it out what that wire is and where it goes?
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 05:20 PM   #17
The HACK
Garland Operator 7G
The HACK's Avatar
42
Rep
3,483
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 MZ4C, 2013 Veloster Turbo
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Welcome to Jamaica have a nice day

iTrader: (1)

You would have to assume a device that sends out a tracking signal would potentially need a tap to constant 12V power...
__________________
Quote:
No way I'd ever take my BMW to the track.
Quote:
Then why do you have $3,000 worth of suspension mods on your car?
Quote:
...
-Overheard at the last B****rfest.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 05:50 PM   #18
jwzimm
Major
jwzimm's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
1,174
Posts

 
Drives: '11 335i X-drive Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton, WA

iTrader: (10)

What is a KW v1? If it is an electronic device then try removing that wire and seeing if it still works.

As for the lo-jack, that may be it. Since it was put on by the dealer though I would discuss with them about their extremely crappy mechanics then. Do you have a way to see if lo-jack is working? If you do, like I said above, disconnect the wire and see if it still works.

And yes, you do need to register the battery. The car needs to know the age and type of battery that is installed in order to run properly. As a battery ages it produces less and less voltage. This will show up as faults in the various systems in the car if it doesn't know what to expect from the battery. The dealer should be able to register it for you. You can also find someone who can code and they can do it too.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 08:00 PM   #19
caliguy562
Lieutenant
4
Rep
461
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: garaged somewhere in soCal

iTrader: (3)

I had lojack in my old Honda, dealer installed and can assure you that it was not hooked up directly to the battery. If that is your lojack connection, you need to have it hardwired somewhere else. Lojack and its components should be invisible. Otherwise, it kinda defeats the purpose.

Last edited by caliguy562; 01-03-2013 at 08:10 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 08:14 PM   #20
The HACK
Garland Operator 7G
The HACK's Avatar
42
Rep
3,483
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 MZ4C, 2013 Veloster Turbo
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Welcome to Jamaica have a nice day

iTrader: (1)

I dunno mang.

https://www.lojack.com/SiteMedia/Sit...ers-manual.pdf

Lojack's own manual mentions the need of a constant 12V power supply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoJack
I was told that the configuration of my LoJackŪ may vary depending on the year, make and model of my car. What does this mean?

Different types of cars have different power management requirements. In particular, some newer vehicles do not have a constant 12 V power supply for LoJackŪ units to operate from reliably. In order to ensure continued functionality of our LoJackŪ Stolen Vehicle Recovery units, the configuration of our products may differ to allow for these vehicle variabilities.
So, if the OP claims that no other electronic devices are installed on the car, then the logical conclusion is that THAT is the tap for the power for LoJack. There are other references found through the wonderful Google in regards to a 12V power supply needed to charge the back-up battery.
__________________
Quote:
No way I'd ever take my BMW to the track.
Quote:
Then why do you have $3,000 worth of suspension mods on your car?
Quote:
...
-Overheard at the last B****rfest.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 08:30 PM   #21
kevinocarro
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: llon

iTrader: (0)

Looks like the hardwire kit from a Valentine radar detector.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 08:33 PM   #22
JohnSprm69
Lieutenant Colonel
33
Rep
1,977
Posts

 
Drives: AW e92
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwzimm View Post
What is a KW v1? If it is an electronic device then try removing that wire and seeing if it still works.




sorry but not sure if you are serious.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST