E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Need help. TCU Software - SOS light - MOST BUS



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-21-2012, 12:22 AM   #1
OrlandoBimmer
Elite Force
OrlandoBimmer's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E93 08 335i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL - United States

iTrader: (0)

Need help. TCU Software - SOS light - MOST BUS

Hi guys...

I have an e93 335i 2008.

To make a long story short, my back glass was hit by a tree branch during a storm and water leaked in the trunk. The sad part is that I was not in the US at that time and when I got back, 15days later the car was all messed up.

I spent 3 months outside the US, so I had the car without insurance at that time.

I removed everything from the trunk and I see that the Amplifier (Logic 7) is perfect, it was replaced under warranty last year for a 2010 build. No water at all in that area, but the TCU is a different story. It was absolutely bad. I opened it and I almost die

SO I went ahead and ordered one from ebay, this one actually:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/251054287749...84.m1439.l2649

Different part number, but same connectors and according to realoem it should fit.

My actual issues are:
- SOS warning light ON
- NO audio coming from the professional audio system
- I cant access any bluetooth connection on my radio

I really need your help out guys. I'm a benz boy and I do have a lot of experience there. But nothing here...

Thanks in advance.


---------

UPDATE:

I fixed the TCU connector and now I do have audio. But no bluetooth yet.
BUT
If I leave the key in the ON position, with the radio ON, and disconnect the TCU and connect it back on, I will have Bluetooth and SOS working perfectly for as long as the car is ON. If I turn the car off, lock the doors and wait 5 minutes, then I won't have bluetooth... It's driving me crazy now. any help?

Last edited by OrlandoBimmer; 01-03-2013 at 11:25 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 11:47 AM   #2
ins1dez
iN dA cLuB
ins1dez's Avatar
Romania
9
Rep
494
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Romania

iTrader: (1)

Have you coded your new TCU on your car? I think you need to change the VIN from module with winkfp then you code it with ncsexpert
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2012, 07:12 PM   #3
OrlandoBimmer
Elite Force
OrlandoBimmer's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E93 08 335i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL - United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ins1dez View Post
Have you coded your new TCU on your car? I think you need to change the VIN from module with winkfp then you code it with ncsexpert
No I haven't.

I read in another thread that it is a plug and play swap.. Another post says that it will need coding but a unit already coded to a VIN number cannot be 're-coded' to another VIN.

I will get another unit next week, it comes from an e90 and was sold to me by a member of this forum. Will see what happens.

Regarding the AC failure, it was empty of freon. They filled it and also pour some Ultra Violet liquid in the system to verify where the leak is in the case it lose freon again soon.
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2012, 08:00 PM   #4
mrgreenwood
Private
mrgreenwood's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

iTrader: (0)

I got the same problem SOS MALFUCTION. still waiting for the right answer.
If you're plug and play option work please let me know
no audio at all, no bluetooth

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 07:18 AM   #5
ins1dez
iN dA cLuB
ins1dez's Avatar
Romania
9
Rep
494
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Romania

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrlandoBimmer View Post
No I haven't.

I read in another thread that it is a plug and play swap.. Another post says that it will need coding but a unit already coded to a VIN number cannot be 're-coded' to another VIN.

I will get another unit next week, it comes from an e90 and was sold to me by a member of this forum. Will see what happens.

Regarding the AC failure, it was empty of freon. They filled it and also pour some Ultra Violet liquid in the system to verify where the leak is in the case it lose freon again soon.
You can code the new VIN with WINkfp. I bought myself a FRM3 with different VIN , and coded it , without changing the VIN , but if you look on realoem, when you want to buy a new TCU , it says to specify your VIN when you buy it
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 07:31 AM   #6
iamwiz82
Private First Class
2
Rep
120
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335d / 2012 MCS JCW
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester Hills

iTrader: (0)

Your insurance company probably has a storage option for cars (I know Allstate does) so that even if you are not around it will be covered from theft and comprehensive claims. It's also very cheap.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 09:33 AM   #7
OrlandoBimmer
Elite Force
OrlandoBimmer's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E93 08 335i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL - United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamwiz82 View Post
Your insurance company probably has a storage option for cars (I know Allstate does) so that even if you are not around it will be covered from theft and comprehensive claims. It's also very cheap.
Nice to know... I will definitely be more cautious next time...
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 09:34 AM   #8
OrlandoBimmer
Elite Force
OrlandoBimmer's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E93 08 335i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL - United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ins1dez View Post
You can code the new VIN with WINkfp. I bought myself a FRM3 with different VIN , and coded it , without changing the VIN , but if you look on realoem, when you want to buy a new TCU , it says to specify your VIN when you buy it
Thanks for the info...

But are you sure it can be done on a TCU? I was told you can mod VIN in some modules, but not in TCU.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 08:36 PM   #9
ins1dez
iN dA cLuB
ins1dez's Avatar
Romania
9
Rep
494
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Romania

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrlandoBimmer View Post
Thanks for the info...

But are you sure it can be done on a TCU? I was told you can mod VIN in some modules, but not in TCU.
Every module stores the VIN, so yes.
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2012, 06:32 PM   #10
OrlandoBimmer
Elite Force
OrlandoBimmer's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E93 08 335i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL - United States

iTrader: (0)

Alright guys, I checked the TCU harness and in fact one cable was broken. I removed the whole connector, cleaned everything, replaced the broken cable with a new one and all set. My radio is working now...

I need programming for the tcu though, won't let me use bluetooth and I still get the SOS light, but at least I have music again.

Now I only have the headlight issue, the lights are working but the dash shows an error... Someone said its the footwell module.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 10:51 PM   #11
mrgreenwood
Private
mrgreenwood's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

iTrader: (0)

how can you tell you're cable was broken?
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 01:02 AM   #12
OrlandoBimmer
Elite Force
OrlandoBimmer's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E93 08 335i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL - United States

iTrader: (0)

Cuz I took the connector apart to clean it (it was also a bit rusted from the previous flooded tcu) and as soon as I disassemble the connector 1 cable was absolutely rusted and broken..

I made a diagram myself for the connector and released every single cable, cleaned them and reconnected using the diagram.. And it worked perfect.
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 03:27 PM   #13
mrgreenwood
Private
mrgreenwood's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

iTrader: (0)

I'm glad to hear that.
I still can't get my to work so I'm going to the steelership next week
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 08:45 PM   #14
OrlandoBimmer
Elite Force
OrlandoBimmer's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E93 08 335i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL - United States

iTrader: (0)

What problem are you facing with it?
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 11:35 AM   #15
mrgreenwood
Private
mrgreenwood's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

iTrader: (0)

No sound at all idrive works perfect. No seatbell shine no audio and i got sos malfuntion
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 04:22 PM   #16
OrlandoBimmer
Elite Force
OrlandoBimmer's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E93 08 335i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL - United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgreenwood View Post
No sound at all idrive works perfect. No seatbell shine no audio and i got sos malfuntion
Thats definitely a bad TCU. Dealer will offer a new one for around 1k.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 04:58 PM   #17
mrgreenwood
Private
mrgreenwood's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

iTrader: (0)

U got one from ebay? And works just fine
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2013, 11:25 PM   #18
OrlandoBimmer
Elite Force
OrlandoBimmer's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E93 08 335i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando FL - United States

iTrader: (0)

I fixed the TCU connector and now I do have audio. But no bluetooth yet.
BUT
If I leave the key in the ON position, with the radio ON, and disconnect the TCU and connect it back on, I will have Bluetooth and SOS working perfectly for as long as the car is ON. If I turn the car off, lock the doors and wait 5 minutes, then I won't have bluetooth... It's driving me crazy now. any help?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST