E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Vin Is Faulty coapi2020 ifh0009



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-01-2012, 11:03 PM   #23
guwakjai010
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: PA

Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rorkor View Post
Which cable did you buy? I need to get one for my 2011.
i found one on Ebay.... on the picture its literally said 2008-2012.... its one of the more expensive cables.... they are about 100 bucks.... USUALLY (but not always) the more expensive ones are the one that can code 08 and up
guwakjai010 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2012, 06:46 PM   #24
rorkor
Second Lieutenant
 
rorkor's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 E90 N52 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: here

Posts: 278
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 E70 X5 35d  [5.00]
2011 E90 328i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by guwakjai010 View Post
i found one on Ebay.... on the picture its literally said 2008-2012.... its one of the more expensive cables.... they are about 100 bucks.... USUALLY (but not always) the more expensive ones are the one that can code 08 and up
Thanks, gonna shop this weekend for it. I have some electrical engineering experience so it all looks pretty straight forward.
rorkor is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 02:27 PM   #25
BmerMeUp
First Lieutenant
 
BmerMeUp's Avatar
 
Drives: Cinderella: 2008 E91 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ontario

Posts: 362
iTrader: (0)

Same-o, Same-o.
Thanks to Rich, I now have a working VM image () - I was trying to use MS-Virtual PC and that was giving me all sorts of crazy errors. VM is far more robust and the image seems to be working perfectly with the cable now.

Problem now points very strongly to the cable, as a result however - consistently getting "ifh-0009" errors for everything, still cannot talk to car. Cable however seems to respond to requests - RED when I first plug it into the PC, GREEN FLASHES on PC (INPA or NCS) requests, OFF in-between. So in NCS or INPA, when I trigger a read request, cable flashes green for 1-2 seconds then I get my dreaded error and the cable goes dark. Subsequent requests still wake the cable up to flash green, but error persists. This suggests to me the VM interface to the cable is working fine and the cable is responding to the VM request... but not handling the reply? I tried pin 7,8 connected and not connected also - no difference.

I dunno. Bummed out. Working up the courage to buy another (more expensive) cable as that seems to be working for others.
BmerMeUp is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2013, 12:16 AM   #26
guwakjai010
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: PA

Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BmerMeUp View Post
Same-o, Same-o.
Thanks to Rich, I now have a working VM image () - I was trying to use MS-Virtual PC and that was giving me all sorts of crazy errors. VM is far more robust and the image seems to be working perfectly with the cable now.

Problem now points very strongly to the cable, as a result however - consistently getting "ifh-0009" errors for everything, still cannot talk to car. Cable however seems to respond to requests - RED when I first plug it into the PC, GREEN FLASHES on PC (INPA or NCS) requests, OFF in-between. So in NCS or INPA, when I trigger a read request, cable flashes green for 1-2 seconds then I get my dreaded error and the cable goes dark. Subsequent requests still wake the cable up to flash green, but error persists. This suggests to me the VM interface to the cable is working fine and the cable is responding to the VM request... but not handling the reply? I tried pin 7,8 connected and not connected also - no difference.

I dunno. Bummed out. Working up the courage to buy another (more expensive) cable as that seems to be working for others.
thats exactly what happened to me... i bought a 40 dollar cable.... everything seemed to worked and software and VMware was working correctly, didnt work on my car but when i went to my friends 07, it worked, so that tells me my cable wasn't for 08+ which uses a different communication protocol.... so i bought a more expensive cable that was 98 dollars that said it was for 08+ and then it worked...
guwakjai010 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 12:58 PM   #27
BmerMeUp
First Lieutenant
 
BmerMeUp's Avatar
 
Drives: Cinderella: 2008 E91 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ontario

Posts: 362
iTrader: (0)

Update for this thread: I was shipped a replacement cable from the same company who gave me the original one, except I received a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT CABLE... which worked first try. Fyi.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=788664
BmerMeUp is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 01:45 AM   #28
Najt
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: e92 325D 2008
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Czech Republic

Posts: 219
iTrader: (0)

I have similiar problem. My prog.files:

* Ediabas 7.3.0, Inpa ea90x, NCSe 3.1.0, daten v.49 (daten and sgdat in ncse, ecu copied to ediabias/ecu
* ini files are configured properly
* Cable is from one-stop shop

I can read and code any ECU, but not TCUM. I always get error:
Error in CABD! Look at CABI.ERR and ERROR.LOG!
COAPI-2020: no answer from ECU
IFH-0009: NO RESPONSE FROM CONTROLUNIT

does it mean that the ECU is dead?
Najt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 02:55 AM   #29
pweber84
Banned
 
pweber84's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 330d e91
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany / PL, Posen

Posts: 347
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Skype™ to pweber84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Najt View Post
I have similiar problem. My prog.files:

* Ediabas 7.3.0, Inpa ea90x, NCSe 3.1.0, daten v.49 (daten and sgdat in ncse, ecu copied to ediabias/ecu
* ini files are configured properly
* Cable is from one-stop shop

I can read and code any ECU, but not TCUM. I always get error:
Error in CABD! Look at CABI.ERR and ERROR.LOG!
COAPI-2020: no answer from ECU
IFH-0009: NO RESPONSE FROM CONTROLUNIT

does it mean that the ECU is dead?
Are you sure that you have TCUM?
pweber84 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 04:21 AM   #30
Najt
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: e92 325D 2008
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Czech Republic

Posts: 219
iTrader: (0)

It has to be there. I have paired once my mobile with the car. But it could not read the phonebook. But I've tried to make test call and it was perfect.
Najt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST