E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > BMW needs to reinstall software, requires factory amp



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-12-2013, 01:34 PM   #1
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Exclamation BMW needs to reinstall software, requires factory amp

engine malfunction failure and BMW wants to reinstall the car's software in order to debug the issue. apparently they can't reinstall the software, because the factory amp does not exist - it's been replaced with a mobridge pre-amp, helix p-dsp, alpine amps et al.

they also claim to be unable to bypass the missing amp in order to complete the software install.

has anyone heard of this before?
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 01:45 PM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,224
iTrader: (0)

Its known that if the head unit is missing.

Its known that if the head unit is missing
that this is true. There computer/repair is to dumb to ignore the lack of the original configuration .
If the amp is a L7 I can kind of see how that might be possible, since there is more communication than just audio.
By the way what is the issue?
The coding board setup can bypass some of this stuff as its
more basic in the way it works, but the dealership won't use
that.
if you still have it maybe you could plug the L7 back in temporarily.
You probably wouldn't have to hook it back up to the speakers.
Possible solution have them program the radio to Hi Fi
remove the L7 from the Most loop then program, just a guess.

Last edited by ctuna; 01-12-2013 at 02:00 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 01:58 PM   #3
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Its known that if the head unit is missing.
That this is true, there computer is to dumb to ignore the lack of the original
configuration .
If the amp is a L7 I can kind of see how that might be possible, since there is more communication than just audio.
By the way what is the issue?
The coding board setup can bypass some of this stuff as its
more basic in the way it works.
if you still have it maybe you could plug the L7 back in temporarily.
the factory head unit remains intact, was not touched and is operational. the original system was "individual audio".

I'm not sure what the engine malfunction is, BMW was advised to reinstall the software to help debug the problem.

although I still have the factory amp, the connections for it do not seem to exist anymore (musicarnw system, they also did the physical installation). emailed ken about this yesterday as well. guessing it'll have to get reconnected one way or another, so the software update can be done. haven't seen this sort of thing mentioned anywhere previously.

Last edited by teege; 01-31-2013 at 01:24 AM.
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 02:07 PM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,224
iTrader: (0)

I don't think VP would cut wires

I don't think VP would cut wires he always does a reversible installation.
Also he will know what to do.
That preamp hasn't been out very long,at least in the analog configuraton . I would also talk to mobridge about this.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 02:12 PM   #5
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
I don't think VP would cut wires he always does a reversible installation.
Also he will know what to do.
That preamp hasn't been out very long . I would also talk to mobridge about this.
we shall see. I know nothing was cut.

Last edited by teege; 01-13-2013 at 08:17 PM.
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 05:10 PM   #6
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,101
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
There should not be any connector cut, otherwise the DA2 would not have been working at all. It requires the MOST connector as is. In the worst case it may be missing a MOST jacket which you can get at the dealer.

Unplug DA2 and connect OEM amp back. The dealer is correct.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 06:09 PM   #7
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
There should not be any connector cut, otherwise the DA2 would not have been working at all. It requires the MOST connector as is. In the worst case it may be missing a MOST jacket which you can get at the dealer.

Unplug DA2 and connect OEM amp back. The dealer is correct.
that was actually my first response to them, but I didn't have the factory amp with me at the time and they didn't have a spare one. when I got home and looked at the factory amp, the connection is entirely different whereas the da2 is just taking the optical in.

sounds like the "MOST jacket" takes the optical and converts it for the factory amp? do you know the part number? I don't have this cable/adapter, perhaps ken held onto it. what about power for the amp?
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 06:27 PM   #8
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
There should not be any connector cut, otherwise the DA2 would not have been working at all. It requires the MOST connector as is. In the worst case it may be missing a MOST jacket which you can get at the dealer.

Unplug DA2 and connect OEM amp back. The dealer is correct.
just to make sure we're talking about the same type of amp. here is a picture of the connections I am referring to vs the more typical optical cable running into the da2.
Attached Images
 
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 07:46 PM   #9
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,101
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by teege View Post
that was actually my first response to them, but I didn't have the factory amp with me at the time and they didn't have a spare one. when I got home and looked at the factory amp, the connection is entirely different whereas the da2 is just taking the optical in.

sounds like the "MOST jacket" takes the optical and converts it for the factory amp? do you know the part number? I don't have this cable/adapter, perhaps ken held onto it. what about power for the amp?
12V and ground are at the 20-pin harness. The MOST jacket looks to be missing.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone

Last edited by Technic; 01-12-2013 at 08:22 PM.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 12:43 AM   #10
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
12V and ground are at the 20-pin harness. The MOST jacket looks to be missing.
gotcha. not really sure what the MOST jacket looks like, can't find anything online with that search term (pointers?), but I also haven't seen the 20-pin connection in my car. I am guessing it's there, just behind or hidden from view. still waiting for ken to reply, hopefully it's less problematic then it seems.
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 10:32 AM   #11
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,101
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by teege View Post
gotcha. not really sure what the MOST jacket looks like, can't find anything online with that search term (pointers?), but I also haven't seen the 20-pin connection in my car. I am guessing it's there, just behind or hidden from view. still waiting for ken to reply, hopefully it's less problematic then it seems.
The 20-pin is the OEM speaker main connector harness -your aftermarket amps outputs are wired to it. You need to remove the left trunk trim completely to see the whole OEM wiring.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 02:38 PM   #12
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The 20-pin is the OEM speaker main connector harness -your aftermarket amps outputs are wired to it. You need to remove the left trunk trim completely to see the whole OEM wiring.
appreciate the info!
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 07:17 PM   #13
vp fiberglass
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: missing my e46 Touring
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

Hi Tim...Tom here

Quote:
Originally Posted by teege View Post
just to make sure we're talking about the same type of amp. here is a picture of the connections I am referring to vs the more typical optical cable running into the da2.
The "MOST jacket" that Technic is referring to is there. It's the housing plugged in to the MOST connector on the amp in the picture. It's kind of a mating adaptor, but the inner 2-pin housing is the same. You'll need to remove the 2-pin FO connector from the Mobridge "MOST Jacket" and insert it into that housing before it will plug in to the amp.

The 20 pin connector to provide power to the amp is still intact in the car. Here's a pic of your amp rack:



The L7 20 pin connector is in down in the cavity forward (towards the wheel well) of the DA2. Just unplug that from the Technic connector, plug it in to the L7 amp, plug the MOST connector in to the L7 amp and you should be good to go.
__________________
www.musicarnw.com
world-class audio and electronics integration
vp fiberglass is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 08:11 PM   #14
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by vp fiberglass View Post
The "MOST jacket" that Technic is referring to is there. It's the housing plugged in to the MOST connector on the amp in the picture. It's kind of a mating adaptor, but the inner 2-pin housing is the same. You'll need to remove the 2-pin FO connector from the Mobridge "MOST Jacket" and insert it into that housing before it will plug in to the amp.

The 20 pin connector to provide power to the amp is still intact in the car. Here's a pic of your amp rack:

[ removed link ]

The L7 20 pin connector is in down in the cavity forward (towards the wheel well) of the DA2. Just unplug that from the Technic connector, plug it in to the L7 amp, plug the MOST connector in to the L7 amp and you should be good to go.
thanks Tom!

ah yes, I see now that the MOST jacket is there and I can remove it from the L7 amp (didn't realize that is what was referred to as the jacket). also found a MOST network cable in the box of manuals you gave me and think I see how it comes together or at least it's making a bit more sense now. will see what I can do when I get back to the shop with the L7 amp.
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 09:02 PM   #15
joec500
Brigadier General
 
Drives: it has 4 wheels
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 3,004
iTrader: (10)

Yes, you will need to re-install the factory amp in order to update your software. It's the same reason why when many people install aftermarket decks, they install the stock unit in the trunk so the dealer can run diagnostics and update the software.
__________________
2007 E92 6MT SGM: MusicarNW Level 2, Procede Rev 2.5, FFTEC/Vishnu LPFP with Flexfuel Sensor and Flash, M3 Offset V701's, WaveTrac LSD, Michelin PSS, Downpipes, M3 Control Arms, TCKline D/A Suspension, LCI Tail lights, Lux AE's, ER Charge Pipe, DCI's, Mtech Front and Rear, M3 Sideskirts, HPF Stage 1 Clutch
joec500 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 04:44 PM   #16
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
had to remove the left trunk liner and pull the amp rack out, to gain access to the 20 pin power harness. wasn't that hard, but the tech did mention they apparently make a 20 pin y-splitter that could be used to avoid having to take the amp rack out. haven't seen it myself, but that could be worth while.
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2013, 01:26 AM   #17
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
By the way what is the issue?
turned out the turbo's were losing pressure and were replaced. good times.
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2013, 02:00 AM   #18
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,224
iTrader: (0)

Cool are you back to big power with big sound?

Cool are you back to big power with big sound?
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2013, 02:13 PM   #19
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,547
iTrader: (4)

If you change the VO (not necessarily in this particular case) to remove L7, can you then service at the dealer without issue?
taibanl is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2013, 02:29 PM   #20
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,101
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
If you change the VO (not necessarily in this particular case) to remove L7, can you then service at the dealer without issue?
The problem is actually a non-OEM device connected to the MOST ring.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2013, 03:35 PM   #21
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,224
iTrader: (0)

Yes but if you jumper the optical connection.

Yes but if you jumper the optical connectione most ring is intact ,but I suppose the BMW computer still looks at the VO to run a full diagnostic and repair solution. So if you jumpered the Most Bus and removed it from the VO would it work . If you programmed for Hi Fi and completed the Most Bus it should work anyway should it not?
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2013, 08:15 PM   #22
teege
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 335i/E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Cool are you back to big power with big sound?
indeed. everything back to normal again.
teege is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST