E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Head unit blown. Just fed my head unit with an amplified output.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-06-2013, 01:08 PM   #23
Frobius
Captain
United Kingdom
21

 
Frobius's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntingdon, UK


Posts: 976
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Aha! Right, we all thought you had a pro head unit without nav. Yeah, a CCC is going to cost a fair bit more. You can upgrade to a CIC from an LCI car, but you WILL need coding for this. As with the pro HU, as long as you buy a CCC with the same options as you've already got then no coding is required. However finding one with DAB might be tricky. To be honest, the seller might not even know. Again, that said, coding in DAB that you've already got should just be a case of adding the DAB VO to the CAUDI module.
__________________

57 Sapphire Black E91 330d M-Sport
Privacy Glass // Leather // Heated Seats // Bluetooth // Blacklines // BMWP Gloss Black Grille // Alpine HiFi // LCI Headlights
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 01:43 PM   #24
theg00se
Private
England
3

 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England


Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Sorry about the mix up.
Do you think i will be able to find someone to repair my unit. I live in the midlands.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 02:26 PM   #25
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
205

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,370
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frobius View Post
Aha! Right, we all thought you had a pro head unit without nav. Yeah, a CCC is going to cost a fair bit more. You can upgrade to a CIC from an LCI car, but you WILL need coding for this. As with the pro HU, as long as you buy a CCC with the same options as you've already got then no coding is required. However finding one with DAB might be tricky. To be honest, the seller might not even know. Again, that said, coding in DAB that you've already got should just be a case of adding the DAB VO to the CAUDI module.
+1

Sorry, we all got confused as you posted professional HU. We assumed that you have standard HU.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 02:27 PM   #26
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
205

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,370
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by theg00se View Post
Sorry about the mix up.
Do you think i will be able to find someone to repair my unit. I live in the midlands.
If you search on ebay and other website, few people repair these.

Are you sure that your headunit is blown and have you checked the balance / fader options?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 03:05 PM   #27
Rubiks
New Member
0

 
Rubiks's Avatar
 
Drives: 318d se
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sheffield


Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by theg00se View Post
I had just finished upgrading my base system by installing a cleansweep and 6 channel amp when I stupidly mixed up the head unit feed to the left rear that should have gone to the clean-sweep with the output left rear from my amp. I turned the system on and there was a short high-pitched noise then nothing.

I have just disconnected the head unit outputs to see if there is any sign of life. Iím not sure if this is the right way to measure the outputs but with a multi-meter set to AC there is approx. 40mV from the right channel front and rear and about 20mV from the front left and nothing from the left rear. I also connect a speaker to see if the audio could be heard. The right channel could but it was vey crackly and faint. The left channel could not be heard.

Have I wrecked my head-unit or something worse. Any help greatly appreciated or recommendations for a car hifi repairer.
Check this item no on eBay :160941307980
Removed from e91 lci. 2009 .
If interested let me know
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 03:07 PM   #28
theg00se
Private
England
3

 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England


Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Yes i've check the balance and fader settings. i wish it was this.

Bearing in mind my system should be providing a speaker level output. i'm getting about 200mV from the front right, 100mV from front left and virtually nothing from the right rear and nothing at all from the rear left.
Out of curiosity i connected it correctly to the amp and there is enough signal from the front channels to get sound if i turn the gain up on the amp and offset the balance to compensate for the difference between the left and right channels.

I'm guessing that i have blown the puny power amp in the head unit.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 03:15 PM   #29
Rubiks
New Member
0

 
Rubiks's Avatar
 
Drives: 318d se
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sheffield


Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

[quote=Rubiks;13261855]Check this item no on eBay :160941307980
Removed from e91 lci. 2009 .
If interested let me know
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/vie...w=160941307980
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 05:19 PM   #30
theg00se
Private
England
3

 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England


Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the offer but this a different type to mine. Mine is the double din unit.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 05:30 PM   #31
Rubiks
New Member
0

 
Rubiks's Avatar
 
Drives: 318d se
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sheffield


Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

Have you got sat nav unit ?cic ccc or just stereo Bluetooth ?carefull when looking on upgrades as is not as simple , is to much money involved. Try finding the replacement part no through realoem.com with ur vin
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 06:03 PM   #32
theg00se
Private
England
3

 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England


Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Yes mine is sat nav ccc unit. It's a big unit.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2013, 06:35 PM   #33
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
205

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,370
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by theg00se View Post
Yes mine is sat nav ccc unit. It's a big unit.
Ahhhh...I just remembered...find a nearest coder to you and get it reset.
There is an option in inpa to reset the HU and that wipes errors / noise in the system.

You never know that your CCC is just short and requires resetting.

If no luck, its simply a tracing and replacing sound IC.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2013, 05:54 AM   #34
gIzzE
Major General
United Kingdom
103

 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: Mercedes ML and 2.8i Z3
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.


Posts: 5,153
iTrader: (2)

That nav unit breaks down into 3 parts, I will look to see if I have the amp section spare tomorrow, I will let you know.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2013, 03:32 PM   #35
theg00se
Private
England
3

 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England


Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

makkan00: There are a number things i want coding into my car, this will bring the coding job forward.

gIzzE: If you have got a replacement that will be brilliant.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2013, 04:02 PM   #36
gIzzE
Major General
United Kingdom
103

 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: Mercedes ML and 2.8i Z3
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.


Posts: 5,153
iTrader: (2)

PM me tomorrow during office hours to remind me to look.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2013, 12:03 PM   #37
theg00se
Private
England
3

 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England


Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

gIzzE: i've just tried swapping the audio board with the one that you sent me. I've still got the problem. The other boards (power board, main board) are a trickier to change.

makkan00: The audio board is ok. So a reset might be whats needed. Have you ever fixed a problems similar to mine by perform the reset you described.

Both: Thanks for your help so far.

Its really interesting trying to fix this especially as i'm swapping boards inside the head unit.

1. Audio board
2. Power board
3. Main board
Attached Images
 

Last edited by theg00se; 01-13-2013 at 01:48 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2013, 04:41 PM   #38
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
205

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,370
iTrader: (48)

^^^
It would be good to tag the photo what no 1, 2 and 3 are.

Frobius is very helpful member and you may wish to contact him to see if he could reset your HU mate.

I had reset a HU as in that case one side was picking up the noise. Reset made it all good and noise free.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2013, 02:24 PM   #39
theg00se
Private
England
3

 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England


Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

makkan00

Just edited my post with circuit boards on adding their names.

A breaker has agree to let me try a replacement head before buying. However its a very expensive fix. If the replacement solves my problems i still would not know wether its because the head unit is damaged or i've messed up the coding. So i'd probably be best getting the coding done first or is my logic wrong?

When you make coding changes, are the changes stored in the cars memory or in the memory of the parts the coding is changing.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2013, 02:38 PM   #40
Frobius
Captain
United Kingdom
21

 
Frobius's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntingdon, UK


Posts: 976
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Sam, got to say, I've never looked at resetting a HU.. Is that something you do in inpa?
__________________

57 Sapphire Black E91 330d M-Sport
Privacy Glass // Leather // Heated Seats // Bluetooth // Blacklines // BMWP Gloss Black Grille // Alpine HiFi // LCI Headlights
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2013, 04:27 PM   #41
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
205

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,370
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by theg00se View Post
makkan00

Just edited my post with circuit boards on adding their names.

A breaker has agree to let me try a replacement head before buying. However its a very expensive fix. If the replacement solves my problems i still would not know wether its because the head unit is damaged or i've messed up the coding. So i'd probably be best getting the coding done first or is my logic wrong?

When you make coding changes, are the changes stored in the cars memory or in the memory of the parts the coding is changing.
I think your trouble shooting reasoning is spot on.
Coding are stored in the modules. In this specific case, it will be stored in your HU.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2013, 04:30 PM   #42
makkan00
Major General
United Kingdom
205

 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex


Posts: 7,370
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frobius View Post
Sam, got to say, I've never looked at resetting a HU.. Is that something you do in inpa?
Mate, indeed inpa does it.
Go to HU options and have a play with certain options.
Ultimately, you can reset the HU with NCS in expert mode (resetting to its default values).
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 02:45 PM   #43
theg00se
Private
England
3

 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England


Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

makkan00, Frobius,

Weather permitting i'm going to try a replacement head unit this weekend to see if that works.
Mindful that the coding is stored in the head unit will this stop it working in my car or just limit it functionality to what was fitted in the car it came from. i.e. my car has DAB if the donor car didn't then this feature will be missing.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 02:54 PM   #44
gIzzE
Major General
United Kingdom
103

 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: Mercedes ML and 2.8i Z3
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.


Posts: 5,153
iTrader: (2)

It will need to be coded the same as your speaker set up too.
So hifi or top hifi if you have an amp or the Harman.

Should work in the majority though.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST