E90Post
 


Alpine HID
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > All COBB Tuning AccessPORT Flash for N54 335i Discussion Here



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-12-2013, 08:54 PM   #6843
sofresh
Captain
 
sofresh's Avatar
 
Drives: slow
Join Date: May 2010
Location: U.S.A.

Posts: 778
iTrader: (8)

recently ordered the cobb ap just have 1 question, I read page 1 but didn't want to read another 100 more to find out the answer. Anyhow I will be running the stage 2+ map, will i get any codes for catless dps?

thanks in advance
sofresh is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 09:28 PM   #6844
Fully_Bolted
Banned
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA

Posts: 443
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sofresh
recently ordered the cobb ap just have 1 question, I read page 1 but didn't want to read another 100 more to find out the answer. Anyhow I will be running the stage 2+ map, will i get any codes for catless dps?

thanks in advance
Nope
Fully_Bolted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 01:57 PM   #6845
Jeffman
First Lieutenant
 
Jeffman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi E90
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere in America

Posts: 372
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominick View Post
Can anyone tell me what the boost should be reading while in park? Thanks
No boost idling. Zero.
Jeffman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 04:31 PM   #6846
dominick
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: S. Florida

Posts: 111
iTrader: (2)

so if im parked and im showing .2 or .3 on the cobb means I have a vacum leak correct?
dominick is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 07:13 PM   #6847
tarponman85
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Miami

Posts: 116
iTrader: (1)

Interested to see what answers everyone has for the previous post. My AP always registers .1 at idle.
tarponman85 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 09:40 PM   #6848
Jeffman
First Lieutenant
 
Jeffman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi E90
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere in America

Posts: 372
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominick View Post
so if im parked and im showing .2 or .3 on the cobb means I have a vacum leak correct?
Hmmm...mine says 0.0 psi. I'm nearly at sea level. Here's a WAG: Could your 0.3 be the result of an atmospheric correction for you? I think absolute pressure is 14.7 psi at sea level, so a few hundred feet - or thousand feet could cause the correction to be easily off by a few tenths. Unless you had a 0.0 psi earlier and did a modification to the vacuum system, I wouldn't necesarily jump to a vacuum leak being the cause of the 0.3 psi reading while idling.
Jeffman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 09:54 PM   #6849
dominick
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: S. Florida

Posts: 111
iTrader: (2)

I keep getting the 2abc code and p30fe and had someone mentioned that I shouldnt be reading anything at boost while in park which would be a sign of a vacuum leak. I'm just trying to see what others are reading cuz he has a jb4 so might be different. I never checked to see what boost was sitting at before issues came up. Thanks for all the help by the way.
dominick is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:08 PM   #6850
co_pa
Private First Class
 
Drives: .: 09 e90 335i jet black:.
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: detroit[ish]

Posts: 137
iTrader: (2)

just getting into tuning this n54 w/ my cobb. a lot to learn (came to the right thread) and will with bookmarks, stickies and time. going to order an intercooler soon. until then, want to load up the right map:

current: 93 octane (no other mods)
next month: 93 octane + DCIs

want to maximize performance without going overboard until i get the logging down and other parts installed. thanks.
co_pa is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:53 PM   #6851
Tag
Colonel
 
Tag's Avatar
 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: CHICAGO

Posts: 2,606
iTrader: (2)

Question AccessPORT, maps and octane question...

I posted this question in the n55 forum by accident.

Now that I've found the right thread I'll ask again hoping someone here knows the answer...

I'm trying get some information on Stage 1 aggressive maps for AccessPORT regarding octane. The stock ECU can detect the octane level and adjust. For instance, if I put in 89 octane it will automatically detune itself to avoid damage from pre-ignition. If I run the 93 octane aggressive map and end up filling with 91 octane gas because 93 was simply not available in the location I was in would the reprogrammed ECU be smart enough to detect the drop in octane and adjust?

If I find myself in that situation I would just put in a couple of gallons of 91 until I was able to get to a 93 octane pump and not have to really much. I don't like the idea of sitting at a gas station flashing a map before I can safely drive off and then doing the same again after I refill with 93. That would be such a PIA.
__________________
335is Coupe Space Gray, ZPP, 609, 2TC, 688, 494 and 6FL.
Matte Black M310 19's | Michelin PSS 235/35F, 265/30R | COBB AccessPORT
| Eibach Pro Street S | Painted reflectors | Glossy Black Kidney Grilles

Modding ain't easy
Tag is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:59 PM   #6852
Ænema
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

Posts: 961
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tag View Post
I posted this question in the n55 forum by accident.

Now that I've found the right thread I'll ask again hoping someone here knows the answer...

I'm trying get some information on Stage 1 aggressive maps for AccessPORT regarding octane. The stock ECU can detect the octane level and adjust. For instance, if I put in 89 octane it will automatically detune itself to avoid damage from pre-ignition. If I run the 93 octane aggressive map and end up filling with 91 octane gas because 93 was simply not available in the location I was in would the reprogrammed ECU be smart enough to detect the drop in octane and adjust?

If I find myself in that situation I would just put in a couple of gallons of 91 until I was able to get to a 93 octane pump and not have to really much. I don't like the idea of sitting at a gas station flashing a map before I can safely drive off and then doing the same again after I refill with 93. That would be such a PIA.
yeah, just drive conservatively and you'll be fine.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Ænema is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 08:57 AM   #6853
co_pa
Private First Class
 
Drives: .: 09 e90 335i jet black:.
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: detroit[ish]

Posts: 137
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by co_pa View Post
just getting into tuning this n54 w/ my cobb. a lot to learn (came to the right thread) and will with bookmarks, stickies and time. going to order an intercooler soon. until then, want to load up the right map:

current: 93 octane (no other mods)
next month: 93 octane + DCIs

want to maximize performance without going overboard until i get the logging down and other parts installed. thanks.
i should have been more clear in my post. any input on what maps i should run for each of my set-ups? assuming:
stage1 aggressive for just the 93
stage1+aggressive adding the dci's

TIA for the confirm!
co_pa is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 09:14 AM   #6854
JStang
N54 ADDICT
 
JStang's Avatar
 
Drives: FBO E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

Posts: 2,628
iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by co_pa View Post
i should have been more clear in my post. any input on what maps i should run for each of my set-ups? assuming:
stage1 aggressive for just the 93
stage1+aggressive adding the dci's

TIA for the confirm!
Stage 1+ requires an aftermarket FMIC. You need to stick with stage 1 aggressive if you have no supporting mods or DCI only.
__________________

PTF Tuned Cobb Stage 2+ | H&R/Koni Sport | BBS CH-R
JStang is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 09:19 AM   #6855
co_pa
Private First Class
 
Drives: .: 09 e90 335i jet black:.
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: detroit[ish]

Posts: 137
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JStang View Post
Stage 1+ requires an aftermarket FMIC. You need to stick with stage 1 aggressive if you have no supporting mods or DCI only.
perfect. thanks. will continue to read up and looking to be 1+ ASAP.
co_pa is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 09:52 AM   #6856
MidwestGolfBum
Knower of all Things Useless
 
MidwestGolfBum's Avatar
 
Drives: Space Grey E92s
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: No Coast

Posts: 252
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by co_pa View Post
perfect. thanks. will continue to read up and looking to be 1+ ASAP.
If you ever have a question about what map you should be running with your current parts, the maps section of the cobb site has all of the parts that are either required/suggested for each stage as well.
MidwestGolfBum is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 11:39 AM   #6857
peasouped
Lieutenant
 
peasouped's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 135i, 94 tt supra, 08 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North of Boston

Posts: 489
iTrader: (3)

Quick question...This may have been asked I just dont want to go through 313 pages if I can get a quick answer. Im about to buy a used cobb for my 09 135i, but heres my question. The cobb im planning to purchased was used on an 08 335xi. Can that cobb be used on my car (Yes it's unmarried). Id imagine I can plug and play right away or would I have to go online to get the maps for a 135i. Both previous car and my car are steptronic. Thanks very much peeps
peasouped is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 11:45 AM   #6858
DallasBoosted
Captain
 
DallasBoosted's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

Posts: 844
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by peasouped View Post
Quick question...This may have been asked I just dont want to go through 313 pages if I can get a quick answer. Im about to buy a used cobb for my 09 135i, but heres my question. The cobb im planning to purchased was used on an 08 335xi. Can that cobb be used on my car (Yes it's unmarried). Id imagine I can plug and play right away or would I have to go online to get the maps for a 135i. Both previous car and my car are steptronic. Thanks very much peeps
Depends which maps are on the AP and which ECU revision you have and which the other guy had. If you both had the same ECU revision and/or all the default maps are still on the AP, you'll be good to go. Hard to tell without knowing.

Just plug it in and see what happens.
DallasBoosted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 11:52 AM   #6859
peasouped
Lieutenant
 
peasouped's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 135i, 94 tt supra, 08 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North of Boston

Posts: 489
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasBoosted View Post
Depends which maps are on the AP and which ECU revision you have and which the other guy had. If you both had the same ECU revision and/or all the default maps are still on the AP, you'll be good to go. Hard to tell without knowing.

Just plug it in and see what happens.
I know the Cobb is less than a year old with all the normals maps on it still. When I plug in will it give me my ECU revision info if needed? I popped on the cobb site and I found the maps but It was confusing to look at lol. I had a cobb on my Legacy gt but that was plug and play. So now I feel like a noob again. Thanks for the info
peasouped is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 11:53 AM   #6860
DallasBoosted
Captain
 
DallasBoosted's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas

Posts: 844
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by peasouped View Post
I know the Cobb is less than a year old with all the normals maps on it still. When I plug in will it give me my ECU revision info if needed? I popped on the cobb site and I found the maps but It was confusing to look at lol. I had a cobb on my Legacy gt but that was plug and play. So now I feel like a noob again. Thanks for the info
Yes it will tell you which maps are appropriate for your ECU.
DallasBoosted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 12:14 PM   #6861
peasouped
Lieutenant
 
peasouped's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 135i, 94 tt supra, 08 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North of Boston

Posts: 489
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasBoosted View Post
Yes it will tell you which maps are appropriate for your ECU.
You the man!
peasouped is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2013, 12:48 PM   #6862
Tag
Colonel
 
Tag's Avatar
 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: CHICAGO

Posts: 2,606
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tag View Post
I posted this question in the n55 forum by accident.

Now that I've found the right thread I'll ask again hoping someone here knows the answer...

I'm trying get some information on Stage 1 aggressive maps for AccessPORT regarding octane. The stock ECU can detect the octane level and adjust. For instance, if I put in 89 octane it will automatically detune itself to avoid damage from pre-ignition. If I run the 93 octane aggressive map and end up filling with 91 octane gas because 93 was simply not available in the location I was in would the reprogrammed ECU be smart enough to detect the drop in octane and adjust?

If I find myself in that situation I would just put in a couple of gallons of 91 until I was able to get to a 93 octane pump and not have to really much. I don't like the idea of sitting at a gas station flashing a map before I can safely drive off and then doing the same again after I refill with 93. That would be such a PIA.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ænema View Post
yeah, just drive conservatively and you'll be fine.
I guess I can drive conservatively but it still sucks because you'll need to reflash to make sure you don't run into issues. I asked Cobb directly and this was what they said.

"Thank you for your inquiry. The DME would pull timing if it detected detonation, so in a sense it would "de-tune" itself. This is not an ideal case though as the detonation would have occurred before the timing corrections. The octane we recommend is the minimum that should be used due to the additional power we make. If you run into a case where the minimum octane fuel is not readily available, it would be best to flash the lower octane map and refrain from driving the vehicle aggressive."
__________________
335is Coupe Space Gray, ZPP, 609, 2TC, 688, 494 and 6FL.
Matte Black M310 19's | Michelin PSS 235/35F, 265/30R | COBB AccessPORT
| Eibach Pro Street S | Painted reflectors | Glossy Black Kidney Grilles

Modding ain't easy
Tag is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2013, 12:54 PM   #6863
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,662
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tag View Post
I guess I can drive conservatively but it still sucks because you'll need to reflash to make sure you don't run into issues. I asked Cobb directly and this was what they said.

"Thank you for your inquiry. The DME would pull timing if it detected detonation, so in a sense it would "de-tune" itself. This is not an ideal case though as the detonation would have occurred before the timing corrections. The octane we recommend is the minimum that should be used due to the additional power we make. If you run into a case where the minimum octane fuel is not readily available, it would be best to flash the lower octane map and refrain from driving the vehicle aggressive."
I actually did this for a while. I know it's not good, etc etc, fair enough. But I experienced no knocking, and the car behaved properly, so in my case, it was not a concern at all (I ran Aggressive+FMIC 93 on a car with no FMIC and 91 oct, hehe).
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2013, 02:29 PM   #6864
ajsalida
Major
 
ajsalida's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 M3, 02 R1150GSA, 09 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SW USA

Posts: 1,427
iTrader: (2)

From an old supercharger project I worked on, I learned that it takes as much as 4 times the amount of timing to be pulled that caused it in the first place. So that say if the timing were such that at one point there is no detonation, but at 1 deg more there is, the ECU pulls up to 4 deg to stop it. For a lot of reasons mainly detonation cylinder is a lot hotter.

Do not know the algorithm BMW uses but I assure you based on personal experience it is very conservative, pulling a lot of timing out. I think it is a big mistake to think these cars detect octane, they just detect knock/detonation and dial back timing hard whenever they do, and for a long time. You really don't want to rely on this to save your engine running an aggressive tune on lower than recommended octane gas. The problems happen esp. on modded cars where the amount of timing that can be pulled is not enough to stop the detonation on higher boost levels, or at least not soon enough.
ajsalida is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135i cobb, 335i cobb, 535i cobb, accessport n54, bmw cobb, bmw cobb tuning, cobb 135i, cobb 335i, cobb 535i, cobb ap, cobb bmw, cobb n54, cobb tuning bmw, cobb tuning n54, cobb tuning n55, flash n54, flash n55, n54 accessport, n54 cobb, n54 cobb tuning, n54 flash, n54 flash tune, n55 cobb, n55 flash, n55 flash tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST