E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Do we really need to use BMS RS232/USB cable?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-13-2013, 07:56 AM   #1
Madill21
Private
 
Drives: '08 335i - BMS DCI, JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Ga

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

Do we really need to use BMS RS232/USB cable?

BMS claims we have to use their RS232/USB cable for data logging or loading new firmware into your JB4.

My question...does anyone here use a cable they bought somewhere else for cheaper? And does it work without any problems.
They say you can hurt the chip in the JB4 but to me that makes doesn't make a lot of sense. Can't hurt it, would either just work or not work.
Idk :/
__________________
J.D.

2008 335i - JB4 / BMS DCI / Premium Package / Sport Package / 6AT
Madill21 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 08:07 AM   #2
Zebra99
Colonel
 
Zebra99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is E93
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario

Posts: 2,278
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
I always thought this myself and honestly it looks like a standard connection cable so I don't see why not.

Check your local computer store, how them a picture and go from there. Someone has something for $10 or less - guaranteed.
Zebra99 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 08:12 AM   #3
Madill21
Private
 
Drives: '08 335i - BMS DCI, JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Ga

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zebra99
I always thought this myself and honestly it looks like a standard connection cable so I don't see why not.

Check your local computer store, how them a picture and go from there. Someone has something for $10 or less - guaranteed.
Yeah there are a bunch out there for $10-$20 and I wouldn't have to pay $12 shipping (like I had to for a $5 power wire :/ ) and I get it instantly as can start logging data today!!! Rather then later this week.
__________________
J.D.

2008 335i - JB4 / BMS DCI / Premium Package / Sport Package / 6AT
Madill21 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 10:39 AM   #4
e90TiAg335i
Captain
 
e90TiAg335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 e90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: jacksonville, FL

Posts: 975
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2010 e90 335i  [0.00]
I looked at building one at one time. It it's cheaper just to buy it from them by the time it's all said and done. It's not just a simple cable. Has to have a ttl driver or something like that. Sorry, it's been a while.
__________________

JB4, DP, VMR V710, Sonic Tuning S1 coilovers, Hybrid Ovations, Soundsplinter 10" and Zapco DC Ref amps
e90TiAg335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 11:10 AM   #5
Madill21
Private
 
Drives: '08 335i - BMS DCI, JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Ga

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

I'm seeing some cables with FTDI chip. Is that what your thinking of with the "ttl"...

Their price is good but with the $12 shipping it becomes almost double what you could get it for in a computer store or amazon or something.
__________________
J.D.

2008 335i - JB4 / BMS DCI / Premium Package / Sport Package / 6AT
Madill21 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 11:28 AM   #6
themyst
Major General
 
themyst's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,602
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
On the latest G5 board, the CPS/SLD wiring is also included in the USB cable. I'm not saying they'd do anything for you, but maybe you could e-mail them and ask for a break on the shipping?
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
themyst is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 11:41 AM   #7
Gugs
Cynical
 
Gugs's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 JetBlack
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Long island

Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)

If you take apart the usb cable youll see that its a custom usb cable with only a few wires to specific pins on the serial side.
Pretty sure they make or have these made just for bms.
Gugs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 12:06 PM   #8
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

Posts: 2,247
iTrader: (0)

Its a custom made cable. If the overall cost cable + shipping is onerous to you just think of it as you are paying for your first software upgrade & getting all the rest for free as long as you own the JB4.
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star - 2009 Ford Expedition EL 4X4 - 2003 Xterra 4X4 - 1998 Ranger 4X4 - FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 12:10 PM   #9
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 14,706
iTrader: (87)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madill21 View Post
BMS claims we have to use their RS232/USB cable for data logging or loading new firmware into your JB4.

My question...does anyone here use a cable they bought somewhere else for cheaper? And does it work without any problems.
They say you can hurt the chip in the JB4 but to me that makes doesn't make a lot of sense. Can't hurt it, would either just work or not work.
Idk :/
It requires a 5v TTL levelling cable with a custom pin out configuration. If you plug a standard 12v USB cable in you can sometimes fry the board. If you buy the cable at the same time with the JB4 new it's only $30.

Mike
__________________
LOWEST PRICE GURANTEE ON ALL PRODUCTS - www.n54tuning.com - Email; Mike@n54tuning.com
NEW PERFORMANCE LINE N54 DOWNPIPES & M3/M4 & F30 ER DOWNPIPES NOW IN STOCK - ER N54 CHARPE PIPE SPECIALS - NEW JB4 G5 ISO for N54 and F30 N55 ON SALE
Mike@N54Tuning.com is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 01:16 PM   #10
ultimateracing335
Second Lieutenant
 
ultimateracing335's Avatar
 
Drives: blk 335i sedan with mods
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: toronto canada

Posts: 219
iTrader: (0)

A drink at a good bar is $12.
ultimateracing335 is offline   Greece
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 01:49 PM   #11
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 17,618
iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimateracing335 View Post
A drink at a good bar is $12.
Yikes!
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 03:00 PM   #12
Madill21
Private
 
Drives: '08 335i - BMS DCI, JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Ga

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

Okay...so YES we should all definitely be buying the cable from BMS! Thanks for all the input guys.
And $12 for a standard whiskey at a bar is def common here in the Atlanta area!
__________________
J.D.

2008 335i - JB4 / BMS DCI / Premium Package / Sport Package / 6AT
Madill21 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 05:27 PM   #13
drm916
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: atlanta

Posts: 226
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madill21 View Post
Okay...so YES we should all definitely be buying the cable from BMS! Thanks for all the input guys.
And $12 for a standard whiskey at a bar is def common here in the Atlanta area!
Yes... 12-14 bucks is standard price for a mixed drink here in ATL.
drm916 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 10:39 PM   #14
Madill21
Private
 
Drives: '08 335i - BMS DCI, JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Ga

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drm916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madill21 View Post
Okay...so YES we should all definitely be buying the cable from BMS! Thanks for all the input guys.
And $12 for a standard whiskey at a bar is def common here in the Atlanta area!
Yes... 12-14 bucks is standard price for a mixed drink here in ATL.
Where you located in ATL? I'm in the Dallas area.
__________________
J.D.

2008 335i - JB4 / BMS DCI / Premium Package / Sport Package / 6AT
Madill21 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 11:41 PM   #15
boostaholic786
Lieutenant
 
boostaholic786's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 JB4 G5 ISO RB's FBO+40%E85
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: irving tx

Posts: 558
iTrader: (0)

Im actually having an issue with my USB cable. It kept saying failed comm13. So I ordered a new one from BMS and connected it and tightened it down tight so it was "connected" properly. I tried to connect and it said failed comm13 AGAIN!! So I unscrewed it and plugged it in and tried to connect and again failedcomm13!!! I checked the port on my computer to make sure it's comm13 and it was... So I started playing with it and connecting it and lifting the back up slightly and sure enough it connected!! So I uploaded the latest G5 firmware and changed my open loop settings and saved it and clicked disconnect. So I ran it back through the glove box and screwed it in and sure enough I tried to connect and it says FAILED COMM13!!! I emailed terry but didn't get a solid response really... Now there is a new firmware and I want to update it and I have to take the cowl off and ECU cover and " play" with the cable and HOPEFULLY it will work... Any suggestions on what I should do because I know it works since I got it to connect but I use it alot doing logs and adjusting things and I'm out of ideas for a good fix...please help if you have some advice thanks guys
__________________
A/W E92 335i M-sport with JB4 G5 ISO/ E40 WEDGE PERFORMANCE BACKEND FLASH, Alpina TCU flash for AT/Switch-tronic +AR Downpipes, Stett gen 1 intake, Wagner-Tuning FMIC+RB Turbo setup/ RB PCV Valve+ Akro exhaust+60% E85/93 mix,+ HRE P40S wheels, KW coilovers, M3 sways,+BMW performance CF Mirrors, BMW Performance CF deck lid spoiler,+ CF interior trim, p3 vent boost gauge,+ LUX angel eyes (11.73@119mph on street tires) NO METH!
boostaholic786 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 05:52 AM   #16
imageautodetail
Captain
 
imageautodetail's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 335 silverback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: lou EVIL kentucky

Posts: 800
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2008 335 e90  [0.00]
2007 e90 335  [2.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by boostaholic786 View Post
Im actually having an issue with my USB cable. It kept saying failed comm13. So I ordered a new one from BMS and connected it and tightened it down tight so it was "connected" properly. I tried to connect and it said failed comm13 AGAIN!! So I unscrewed it and plugged it in and tried to connect and again failedcomm13!!! I checked the port on my computer to make sure it's comm13 and it was... So I started playing with it and connecting it and lifting the back up slightly and sure enough it connected!! So I uploaded the latest G5 firmware and changed my open loop settings and saved it and clicked disconnect. So I ran it back through the glove box and screwed it in and sure enough I tried to connect and it says FAILED COMM13!!! I emailed terry but didn't get a solid response really... Now there is a new firmware and I want to update it and I have to take the cowl off and ECU cover and " play" with the cable and HOPEFULLY it will work... Any suggestions on what I should do because I know it works since I got it to connect but I use it alot doing logs and adjusting things and I'm out of ideas for a good fix...please help if you have some advice thanks guys
sounds like a laptop problem not the cable, go in and adjust your ports make sure your on the right one
__________________
FBO...METH...BIG TWINS
imageautodetail is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 06:43 AM   #17
spool twice
Rainbow Racer
 
spool twice's Avatar
 
Drives: S65B40
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL

Posts: 1,277
iTrader: (7)

I get that a lot lately, mine is COMM8 port, try another port, it usually solves it.
__________________
'15 IS350 F-sport Ultra White/Rioja Red
'09 E90 M3 7-DCT Interlagos Blue/Novillo Silver
[MS Pullies|K&N drop-in|Test Pipes |Evolve Stage II tune|Evolve Servotronic Map|Evolve M3 GTS-DCT file]
Now gone
spool twice is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 07:08 AM   #18
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

Posts: 2,247
iTrader: (0)

Open device manager on your laptop & see what port its using like the JB4 instructions say. It changes on occasion mine has used both 1 & 3.
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star - 2009 Ford Expedition EL 4X4 - 2003 Xterra 4X4 - 1998 Ranger 4X4 - FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:55 AM   #19
Randomaccess335
Captain
 
Randomaccess335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07' 335I
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: boynton beach, Fl

Posts: 681
iTrader: (9)

My bms USB cable sucks from day one.....USB end is lose fitting causing it to disconnect with the slightest movement. The USB from bms is a custom setup otherwise you could buy one off eBay for a couple of dollars.
I bought a USB extension 15ft long off eBay female to male...... This way I can set the USB in a place it will not move and disconnect and put my laptop on my work bench for updates. I also bought the bms USB extension for when I do logs, it fits very tight..... I don't get as many disconnect.
R
__________________

JB4 G5 ISO , BMS DCI's, Stock Guted DP's, DO Meth kit Trunk Mount, ETS 5" Intercooler, M6 Rims, ER Charge Pipe, Fordged DV's
Cybe 3.8" chrome Tips, Lux Angel Eyes
**********12.07 @ 116***1.99 60'**********
Randomaccess335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 11:05 AM   #20
boostaholic786
Lieutenant
 
boostaholic786's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 JB4 G5 ISO RB's FBO+40%E85
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: irving tx

Posts: 558
iTrader: (0)

Iam completely aware of how to go to device manager and look at what port the cable is set up to and then go to settings and make sure its on the port the computer displays. I have done many many logs and Terry sends me alpha firmware all the time so im always updating new firmware so I'm pretty sure I know how to use it....How do I change the ports around on the computer? As soon as I open device manager and go to ports and double click it says COMM13 for the cable thats plugged in... How can I change that on my laptop? Its weird because if feels like a board related issue in having the cable connected a certain way... well atleast on mine. I never had this issue before and now all of a sudden its doing this
__________________
A/W E92 335i M-sport with JB4 G5 ISO/ E40 WEDGE PERFORMANCE BACKEND FLASH, Alpina TCU flash for AT/Switch-tronic +AR Downpipes, Stett gen 1 intake, Wagner-Tuning FMIC+RB Turbo setup/ RB PCV Valve+ Akro exhaust+60% E85/93 mix,+ HRE P40S wheels, KW coilovers, M3 sways,+BMW performance CF Mirrors, BMW Performance CF deck lid spoiler,+ CF interior trim, p3 vent boost gauge,+ LUX angel eyes (11.73@119mph on street tires) NO METH!
boostaholic786 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 12:16 PM   #21
BEAR-AvHistory
2014 435M-Sport/MPPK
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 435M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NC - USA

Posts: 2,247
iTrader: (0)

http://www.reslers.de/IBUS/port.html
__________________
Kevin

2014 435M-Sport MPPK - 2013 135is Cab 6MT - 2009 V-Star - 2009 Ford Expedition EL 4X4 - 2003 Xterra 4X4 - 1998 Ranger 4X4 - FFR Cobra MK-IV work in progress
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 03:55 PM   #22
Sparky68
Brigadier General
 
Sparky68's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cambs

Posts: 3,019
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
On the same subject, i have the BMS cable, what if i wanted to use a usb extender cable plugged into it, would that work?
__________________
Sparky68 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST