E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Top speed limiter removal



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-08-2011, 07:56 PM   #1
pnosker
ti fan
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ

Posts: 242
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [5.00]
Top speed limiter removal

Has anyone definitively figured out how to remove the non-sport package top speed limiter?

Some VO codes to try:
Remove S118A "TOP SPEED REDUCTION"
Add S840A "HIGH SPEED SYNCHRONIZATION"

Just wondering if anybody's tried this. If not, I'll try it...
pnosker is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2011, 08:59 PM   #2
._.
Colonel
 
._.'s Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Miami

Posts: 2,358
iTrader: (15)

Got somewhere to test if it works?
._. is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2011, 05:54 PM   #3
pnosker
ti fan
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ

Posts: 242
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [5.00]
Yea I can head to Pocono Raceway's Ring and test but I was wondering if anyone has tried yet.
pnosker is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-27-2011, 09:08 PM   #4
E90PAT
SOFLO CODING
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoFla

Posts: 3,230
iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to E90PAT
how did it go
__________________

Coding services in Broward/Miami/Gainesville and surrounding areas! Ask me!
E90PAT is offline   Slovenia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2011, 05:45 AM   #5
monkey_wrench
Caught the Bimmer-Bug
 
monkey_wrench's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 330i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida

Posts: 660
iTrader: (10)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Tag for outcome
monkey_wrench is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2011, 07:58 AM   #6
LRJohnson110
New Member
 
LRJohnson110's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 AlpWhite 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Posts: 28
iTrader: (1)

I was wondering if i can remove top speed limit ? I have 07 335xi with the sport package. It tops out at like 137 - 141. at the speed i know there is more pedal left

Thoughts ?????

LJ
LRJohnson110 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2011, 12:33 PM   #7
pnosker
ti fan
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ

Posts: 242
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [5.00]
Still working on it. Not sure what the actual VO/FA flags are. Anybody have any details? Can someone with a sport package run a VO dump?
pnosker is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 09:56 PM   #8
Fortyb
WHO DAT!
 
Fortyb's Avatar
 
Drives: "07 328I Coupe,"12 Acura Mdx
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Huntsville,AL/WHO DAT

Posts: 927
iTrader: (3)

bump
__________________
2007 328CI l 19" AG M359 | 235/35/19f | 275/30/19r | VRS Spoiler | 8500 Gp | Aero lip | Front reflectors delete | Cyba Intake scoops | BMS PBX | LTBMW M3sides | CF roof spoiler |Split Leather Armrest | Mod4cars remote | LCI Tail lights | M-tech Rear | Valentine V1 Hardwired.
Fortyb is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 10:59 PM   #9
Madill21
Private
 
Drives: '08 335i - BMS DCI, JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Ga

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

I know it's possible. Friend of mine with a JB4 and other mods (mostly body tho) who recently parted out his car took it for one last spin to see how fast it could go. He wrapped needle at 160 with RPMs increasing and he said he had the speed limiter coded out. I'm looking to do this as well
__________________
J.D.

2008 335i - JB4 / BMS DCI / Premium Package / Sport Package / 6AT
Madill21 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2013, 11:36 PM   #10
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
 
pinky_and_me's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 273
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madill21
I know it's possible. Friend of mine with a JB4 and other mods (mostly body tho) who recently parted out his car took it for one last spin to see how fast it could go. He wrapped needle at 160 with RPMs increasing and he said he had the speed limiter coded out. I'm looking to do this as well
Are you sure it's not the JB4? The Procede has the ability to bypass the speed delimiter without any coding.
pinky_and_me is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 09:58 AM   #11
Madill21
Private
 
Drives: '08 335i - BMS DCI, JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Ga

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinky_and_me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madill21
I know it's possible. Friend of mine with a JB4 and other mods (mostly body tho) who recently parted out his car took it for one last spin to see how fast it could go. He wrapped needle at 160 with RPMs increasing and he said he had the speed limiter coded out. I'm looking to do this as well
Are you sure it's not the JB4? The Procede has the ability to bypass the speed delimiter without any coding.
Def not the JB4, actually he was running JB3 at the time now that I think about it. I now have his harness and put a JB4 board on it.

My cable is on the way and the speed limiter defeat is one of the things I'm interested in.
__________________
J.D.

2008 335i - JB4 / BMS DCI / Premium Package / Sport Package / 6AT
Madill21 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 03:29 PM   #12
cyrano
Banned
 
Drives: E61 530XD chipped
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

I dont thing only coding will help. We have power resteictions here in EU due to co2 emission and to gwt rid of it you need to code and then update dde/dme with unblocked soft
cyrano is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 08:27 PM   #13
rich123321
Captain
 
rich123321's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325i E90
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 795
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 BMW E90  [4.17]
It's not possible via coding. You can add the sport package to a non sport car for the 135 limit to be raised. Top speed is hard coded into the dme and can only be bypassed through physical hijacking
rich123321 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 09:02 PM   #14
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

If you use the same tools as tuners use, you can increase the speed limit. Basically it is hardcoded into the dme flash file. The software used to extract the information as a field to increase/decrease the speed limiter. AA has the capabilities of doing this as well.

Simple NCS and Inpa won't be able to do it though.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 09:12 PM   #15
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,267
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
My Procede tune allows me to go beyond the speed limiter but I havent gone that fast...Fastest was 140...Scared

Simple coding will def not do it
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-13-2013, 10:42 PM   #16
Madill21
Private
 
Drives: '08 335i - BMS DCI, JB4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Ga

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123321
It's not possible via coding. You can add the sport package to a non sport car for the 135 limit to be raised. Top speed is hard coded into the dme and can only be bypassed through physical hijacking
You can add the sport package via coding? Or do you mean going to the dealer and actually getting the sport package on the car? Lol
__________________
J.D.

2008 335i - JB4 / BMS DCI / Premium Package / Sport Package / 6AT
Madill21 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 05:41 AM   #17
rismo
Captain
 
Drives: BMW E92 335
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Europe

Posts: 840
iTrader: (0)

It's a bit in the DME firmware. Only firmware manipulation (Flash) or CAN bus emulation (procede) can do this.
__________________
BMW 335 E92 08 - Full options - RIP
BMW 335 E92 09 - Full options - DKG - Procede Rev 3 - Vishnu Meth and Chargepipe - Forge Diverter Valves - Vishnu Flex Fuel Kit- AR Catless DP - Afe Intake - Helix IC - Ar Oil Cooler - PPK Water Cooler - M3 Suspension - JRZ RS1 Shocks - Eibach Pro Springs - Drexler LSD - BMW IS Exhaust - EBC Yellow Brake Pads - Stainless Steel Brake Lines - M101 Wheels - Michelin PSS - M-Tech Body - M-Strutbar
rismo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 05:07 PM   #18
rich123321
Captain
 
rich123321's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325i E90
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 795
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 BMW E90  [4.17]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madill21
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123321
It's not possible via coding. You can add the sport package to a non sport car for the 135 limit to be raised. Top speed is hard coded into the dme and can only be bypassed through physical hijacking
You can add the sport package via coding? Or do you mean going to the dealer and actually getting the sport package on the car? Lol
Add the sports package VO to the CAS/frm so the car thinks it has sports package leading to increased top speed
rich123321 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:34 PM   #19
taranonline
Lieutenant
 
taranonline's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 320D 2010
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: India

Posts: 502
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madill21
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123321
It's not possible via coding. You can add the sport package to a non sport car for the 135 limit to be raised. Top speed is hard coded into the dme and can only be bypassed through physical hijacking
You can add the sport package via coding? Or do you mean going to the dealer and actually getting the sport package on the car? Lol
Add the sports package VO to the CAS/frm so the car thinks it has sports package leading to increased top speed
Update on this? My car max out on 222kmph.
__________________
2010 320D AW M-Sport - KW V2 - 19" M359
taranonline is online now   India
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 11:53 PM   #20
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,625
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123321 View Post
Add the sports package VO to the CAS/frm so the car thinks it has sports package leading to increased top speed
Have you actually tried and verified that idea? It seems pretty clear from the rest of the thread that that alone will be insufficient.
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST