E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Can you obtain individual actual tire pressures from IDrive?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-14-2013, 10:01 PM   #1
bman5150
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cowtown

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Can you obtain individual actual tire pressures from IDrive?

Curious because my previous cars had this...can't seem to find individual readouts just the system status that tire pressures are "OK".

Just got my first bmw 335i. Learning all the idrive features!
__________________
2011 BMW 335i XDrive Msport (auto)
bman5150 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:12 PM   #2
Tom K.
Major General
 
Tom K.'s Avatar
 
Drives: '07 328iT, '13 Boxster
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

Posts: 5,377
iTrader: (0)

I have no idea why BMW has not seen fit to provide a psi readout for each tire.

Tom
Tom K. is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:15 PM   #3
bman5150
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cowtown

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

So I gather it wasn't that I just couldn't find it? That kinda stinks. You are right, I'm surprised. The whole "tpsm" resetting thing too just seems over engineered. I'll take a simple tire pressure readout and tps monitors that trip due to absolute readouts v. Pressure variance relative to the zeroed out values.

Oh well...still loving my new-to-me car!
__________________
2011 BMW 335i XDrive Msport (auto)
bman5150 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:16 PM   #4
BA335iS
Turbonator
 
BA335iS's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335iS
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca

Posts: 253
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 BMW 335iS  [4.00]
2007 Acura RDX  [0.00]
Been meaning to figure out as well. Surprisingly, my Acura provides each tire reading.
__________________
BA335iS is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 11:08 PM   #5
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,681
iTrader: (0)

I think on the newer/newest cars where idrive is installed, you can code in pressure readouts for all four tires. But the functionality isn't there for non-idrive and older cars. Search something like 'code idrive tire pressure' to see if your MY can be coded, maybe it's only the '12s, maybe not.
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 04:12 AM   #6
CombatNinja
Banned
 
CombatNinja's Avatar
 
Drives: e91 328i, e90 328i, e90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United States

Posts: 1,587
iTrader: (0)

Had a rental Dodge Journey last week. SXT trim with the Pentastar 3.6L V6, 283 bhp, 7 seats, satellite radio, keyless access, etc. I was blown away by the level of equipment you get for $25,000 on one of those. Don't get me wrong, fit and finish was horrible, it was ugly as sin and it had this weird weird shake at idle that is apparently endemic to all 3.6L cars BUT it had a really cool driver info display on a really sharp, high-res, MULTICOLORED screen between the gauges that showed actual PSI in each tire, oil temp, coolant temp, transmission temp, hours on the engine, etc. Kind of ridiculous that my $53,000 335i won't tell me shit and does so via a crappy pixelated orange screen.
CombatNinja is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 04:35 AM   #7
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,681
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CombatNinja View Post
Had a rental Dodge Journey last week. SXT trim with the Pentastar 3.6L V6, 283 bhp, 7 seats, satellite radio, keyless access, etc. I was blown away by the level of equipment you get for $25,000 on one of those. Don't get me wrong, fit and finish was horrible, it was ugly as sin and it had this weird weird shake at idle that is apparently endemic to all 3.6L cars BUT it had a really cool driver info display on a really sharp, high-res, MULTICOLORED screen between the gauges that showed actual PSI in each tire, oil temp, coolant temp, transmission temp, hours on the engine, etc. Kind of ridiculous that my $53,000 335i won't tell me shit and does so via a crappy pixelated orange screen.
Especially considering all the info is known to the car. Not like it's a matter of adding monitoring hardware for those things. Hell, my car's one of the most instrumented machines I know of. But yeah, none of the info is available to the driver. It's a real bummer.
alexwhittemore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST